We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit ”
Review of Hotel Eden Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eden Roc
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Pool and restaurants are amazing by the lake - they also have a kids club :) our 2 year old loved playing there - they offer boat rides round the lake ; skipper was great on the riva !! Fabulous surroundings

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Triciaborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eden Roc
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled upon this hotel and area without much knowledge and are so grateful we did.

The exterior of the building isn't much to write home about, but the backyard on the lake is absolutely stunning. We loved the many areas to lounge poolside, beach side or lakeside and the views of the amazing yachts to/from all day. I appreciated the touches of yellow (umbrellas, towels, etc)- really made it playful and felt like we were on a true vacation. While taken a back by the prices (19€ for a margarita!), its true that you get what you pay for. Everything was delicious and top notch quality. Check out the marina for a beautiful lunch by the lake in the cozy lawn furniture!

My only complaint was that the hostess who checked us into the hotel failed to mention breakfast was included in our stay. She pointed out all the restaurants but did not mention this was complimentary. After smelling the amazing scents from the breakfast room and seeing the exorbitant prices of eating on site we ended up opting to grab coffee at the hotel bar and save our money for lunch at their marina for a second day in a row instead.

When checking out my husband saw that breakfast was a line item on our bill which the receptionist confirmed was included with the room rate. I was really disappointed as we would have LOVED to try the breakfast and showed restraint due to them not advocating this inclusion. For the price of everything at the Eden Roc- drinks at the bar, drinks poolside, lunch at the hotel, the complimentary breakfast would have been a nice touch to enjoy.

I mentioned this to the manager of the hotel who looked at me confused and said, you should have seen this in your online booking confirmation - so what do you want me to do?

I felt he could have at least offered some way to make it better. Instead I had to suggest that he give us our money back for the cappuccino we paid for mistakenly, which he did. They weren't too eager to apologize or make it better but maybe it was a cultural difference that breakfast is expected in Europe. Now we know to ask for next time! :)

Regardless I would recommend this hotel and return to try the breakfast!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Eden_Roc, General Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Once again we would like to thank you for having stayed at the Hotel Eden Roc.
We are very sorry about the confusion regarding the breakfast and apologize for the inconveniences caused.
In Switzerland, in the holiday resorts, breakfast usually is included in the room rate. That is the reason why our receptionist did not mention it specifically to you upon arrival and when showing you around the hotel. On the registration form that you signed it was also mentioned, that breakfast is included in the room rate. But with all the excitement upon arrival, you probably did not pay attention.
We very much hope that you will come back tot he Hotel Eden Roc to try our delicious breakfast, and once again apologize for the apparent misunderstanding.
Kind regards
HOTEL EDEN ROC

Andreas Gartmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

You might disagree with the building architecture
You might disagree with the room size and style
You might disagree with its outrageous price
BUT
the best location of ANY hotel on Lago Maggiore
Excellent service of all the staff during our stay.
After an outstanding breakfast (with a view) go for a swim in either of there pools or in the lake. Have lunch at the small restaurant hanging over the late. Take a complimentary electric-bike and ride through town. If you do not want to stay at on of the 3 Gault & Millau Restaurants the concierge will manage to get you the best tables in any restaurants around the area. And finally finish the day with a cocktail prepared by Switzerland's best barman. What else are you looking for ?
Not for nothing they got rated best Swiss Hotel, the concierge and the barman also got best Swiss ratings in there area. Pretty sure I do not know about all distinctions

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Goeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We spent one night in the "best hotel of Switzerland" according to Sonntagszeitung: A shocker and disappointment!

- The hotel looks like an old appartment building from the backside
- When arriving at main lobby, we were sent to another building with a reception that looks totaly outdated and dark
- The room we got is old style, super tiny bathroom and not even a coffee machine
- We were first sent to a part of the lakeside where all the sunbeds had bird dropings...and no towels
- After this very annyoing start I asked for the managing director and got some apologies and a tour of the hotel...not very helpful
- The service at the pool was super slow
- The restrooms in the mainpool area are unisex and had no more toilet paper and napkins!!!!!
- Subjective: The art, colors, furniture, carpets etc. are so outdated and do not match

Overall, we do not understand how this hotel has such high rankings. There are so many nicer 5 stars hotel in Switzerland.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TheFrequentGig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

We refer to your recent stay at the hotel Eden Roc and regret that the whole visit has been a disaster and that you did not like the style of the hotel and the rooms in the Eden Roc Marina. A famous Ticino interior designer decorated lately these rooms that are usually very much appreciated by our clients. But as we all know - decoration and style is always depend on the personal taste of a person.

We apologize for the slow service at the pool, the dirty sunbeds and for the fact that the toilet paper and napkins had not been refilled. That is not our usual standard and we understand your disappointment.

It is a pity that you did not enjoy the time at the Hotel Eden Roc and once again we apologize for all the inconvenience caused.

Kind regards

HOTEL EDEN ROC

Andreas Gartmann
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

This was the fabulous hotel we chose when our first choice turned out not to be as expected. This is right on the water in Ascona and is absolutely fabulous. The room was clean and quiet. The included breakfast was amazing, including all sorts of delicious items plus champagne, coffee, fresh juices. There are three pools outside, and each is lovelier than the other. The hotel staff is wonderful, very friendly and accommodating. We loved everything about this place, but especially our luncheon at La Casetta, right on the water in an old historic building (you sit outside, surrounded by water and gorgeous scenery.) This building is where the secret treaty to end WW2 in Italy was signed. A plaque on the wall documents this. I would go back in a heart beat, and hope to do that someday.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 116marylouc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascona hotels
1.5 km away
Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA
1.3 km away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
342 reviews
0.7 km away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#2 of 32 in Ascona
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#12 of 32 in Ascona
107 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Ascovilla
Hotel Ascovilla
#7 of 32 in Ascona
133 reviews
0.3 km away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden Roc

Address: via Albarelle 16, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ascona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
#3 Family Hotel in Ascona
#3 Spa Hotel in Ascona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ascona
#5 Business Hotel in Ascona
Price Range: RM1,732 - RM5,335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Eden Roc 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Roc Ascona is a true small gem with unique Mediterranean charm. The five-star resort stands out for its spaciousness and unrivalled lakeside view. In addition to its 37 suites and 58 rooms the hotel offers a 2000sqm spa. The inspiration for the design of the luxurious wellbeing area, with water world, sauna and seven new treatment rooms plus hairdressing salon was provided by the natural beauties of Ticino - more precisely, seven local flower species and the many colours of the lake, ranging from silver gray to sky blue. The Eden Roc Marina contains 16 rooms, a casual restaurant and an unrivalled range of water sport activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Eden Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Roc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing