We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$291
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$358
US$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$338/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$262
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ascona(Ascona)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Mirador(Ascona)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
US$213
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 30/07
US$727
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$573
US$515
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
487
82
13
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
82
13
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla casettalake maggioremarina barfive starstunning locationmanaging directormolton brown toiletriespartial lake viewoutstanding breakfastprivate marinaoutdoor activitiesitalian warmthfree waterlarge selectionstar experiencefish dishesgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled upon this hotel and area without much knowledge and are so grateful we did.

The exterior of the building isn't much to write home about, but the backyard on the lake is absolutely stunning. We loved the many areas to lounge poolside, beach side or lakeside and the views of the amazing yachts to/from all day. I appreciated the touches of yellow (umbrellas, towels, etc)- really made it playful and felt like we were on a true vacation. While taken a back by the prices (19€ for a margarita!), its true that you get what you pay for. Everything was delicious and top notch quality. Check out the marina for a beautiful lunch by the lake in the cozy lawn furniture!

My only complaint was that the hostess who checked us into the hotel failed to mention breakfast was included in our stay. She pointed out all the restaurants but did not mention this was complimentary. After smelling the amazing scents from the breakfast room and seeing the exorbitant prices of eating on site we ended up opting to grab coffee at the hotel bar and save our money for lunch at their marina for a second day in a row instead.

When checking out my husband saw that breakfast was a line item on our bill which the receptionist confirmed was included with the room rate. I was really disappointed as we would have LOVED to try the breakfast and showed restraint due to them not advocating this inclusion. For the price of everything at the Eden Roc- drinks at the bar, drinks poolside, lunch at the hotel, the complimentary breakfast would have been a nice touch to enjoy.

I mentioned this to the manager of the hotel who looked at me confused and said, you should have seen this in your online booking confirmation - so what do you want me to do?

I felt he could have at least offered some way to make it better. Instead I had to suggest that he give us our money back for the cappuccino we paid for mistakenly, which he did. They weren't too eager to apologize or make it better but maybe it was a cultural difference that breakfast is expected in Europe. Now we know to ask for next time! :)

Regardless I would recommend this hotel and return to try the breakfast!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Eden_Roc, General Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Once again we would like to thank you for having stayed at the Hotel Eden Roc.
We are very sorry about the confusion regarding the breakfast and apologize for the inconveniences caused.
In Switzerland, in the holiday resorts, breakfast usually is included in the room rate. That is the reason why our receptionist did not mention it specifically to you upon arrival and when showing you around the hotel. On the registration form that you signed it was also mentioned, that breakfast is included in the room rate. But with all the excitement upon arrival, you probably did not pay attention.
We very much hope that you will come back tot he Hotel Eden Roc to try our delicious breakfast, and once again apologize for the apparent misunderstanding.
Kind regards
HOTEL EDEN ROC

Andreas Gartmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

You might disagree with the building architecture
You might disagree with the room size and style
You might disagree with its outrageous price
BUT
the best location of ANY hotel on Lago Maggiore
Excellent service of all the staff during our stay.
After an outstanding breakfast (with a view) go for a swim in either of there pools or in the lake. Have lunch at the small restaurant hanging over the late. Take a complimentary electric-bike and ride through town. If you do not want to stay at on of the 3 Gault & Millau Restaurants the concierge will manage to get you the best tables in any restaurants around the area. And finally finish the day with a cocktail prepared by Switzerland's best barman. What else are you looking for ?
Not for nothing they got rated best Swiss Hotel, the concierge and the barman also got best Swiss ratings in there area. Pretty sure I do not know about all distinctions

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Goeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We spent one night in the "best hotel of Switzerland" according to Sonntagszeitung: A shocker and disappointment!

- The hotel looks like an old appartment building from the backside
- When arriving at main lobby, we were sent to another building with a reception that looks totaly outdated and dark
- The room we got is old style, super tiny bathroom and not even a coffee machine
- We were first sent to a part of the lakeside where all the sunbeds had bird dropings...and no towels
- After this very annyoing start I asked for the managing director and got some apologies and a tour of the hotel...not very helpful
- The service at the pool was super slow
- The restrooms in the mainpool area are unisex and had no more toilet paper and napkins!!!!!
- Subjective: The art, colors, furniture, carpets etc. are so outdated and do not match

Overall, we do not understand how this hotel has such high rankings. There are so many nicer 5 stars hotel in Switzerland.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TheFrequentGig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

We refer to your recent stay at the hotel Eden Roc and regret that the whole visit has been a disaster and that you did not like the style of the hotel and the rooms in the Eden Roc Marina. A famous Ticino interior designer decorated lately these rooms that are usually very much appreciated by our clients. But as we all know - decoration and style is always depend on the personal taste of a person.

We apologize for the slow service at the pool, the dirty sunbeds and for the fact that the toilet paper and napkins had not been refilled. That is not our usual standard and we understand your disappointment.

It is a pity that you did not enjoy the time at the Hotel Eden Roc and once again we apologize for all the inconvenience caused.

Kind regards

HOTEL EDEN ROC

Andreas Gartmann
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

This was the fabulous hotel we chose when our first choice turned out not to be as expected. This is right on the water in Ascona and is absolutely fabulous. The room was clean and quiet. The included breakfast was amazing, including all sorts of delicious items plus champagne, coffee, fresh juices. There are three pools outside, and each is lovelier than the other. The hotel staff is wonderful, very friendly and accommodating. We loved everything about this place, but especially our luncheon at La Casetta, right on the water in an old historic building (you sit outside, surrounded by water and gorgeous scenery.) This building is where the secret treaty to end WW2 in Italy was signed. A plaque on the wall documents this. I would go back in a heart beat, and hope to do that someday.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 116marylouc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This is perhaps one of the most beautiful locations on Lake Maggiore. The hotel literally borders the lake with the most stunning views onto the mountains,

I've never stayed in the hotel but have dined there often. Sunday Brunch is quite exceptional, an incredible buffet choice of starters, pasta, mains, desert and cheese, as well as some breakfast items. It is a brunch after all! Service is very friendly and efficient with an outstanding wine list.

It's not a "cheap" lunch but this is a 5* hotel and is priced accordingly. Having said that considering the overall standard the price is reasonable compared to other top hotels and restaurants.

I take lunch there and then wander onto the deck next to the lake where I take my place on a sofa enjoying a Rum, Tea and a good cigar. the setting is just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuganoPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews