We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
alvinhanmin

The visit was excellent! One of, if not the most authentic and fun farmstay experience for the family.

Review of Kiulu Farmstay
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Aug 2016
The experience was superb, we went in a mixed group with both families and couples. There was literally something for everyone,from playing in the river with the kids or quad biking. Truly an unforgettable trip, will definitely go back. The staff were very friendly and accomodating
Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
23.5 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
23.7 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
25.2 km from Kiulu Farmstay
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
19.0 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
23.7 km from Kiulu Farmstay
  • Agoda.com
23.9 km from Kiulu Farmstay
They don't put cushion for the rattan chair.
    30.8 km from Kiulu Farmstay
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • Trip.com
    • Agoda.com
    30.9 km from Kiulu Farmstay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      View more hotels in Tuaran
      Reviews (32)
      Filter reviews
      32 results
      Traveller rating
      20
      10
      1
      0
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      20
      10
      1
      0
      1
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      17 - 22 of 32 reviews
      Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

      Recently, my 13 year old daughter and I traveled to Sabah Borneo. My entire 2 week itinerary was organized by Borneo Eco tours. Needless to say, it was loaded with one adventure after another ranging from the west to east coast. However, my most memorable part of the trip was our overnight stay at Kiulu valley farmstay. The valley is surrounded by mountains with lush jungle filled with edible vegetation and fruit trees. The river in the valley was flowing rapidly with clear cool water and can be seen for miles. Rice paddies and Buffaloes in their mud bath was amusing. The quad bike experience would be a sin to miss. The morning mist was enchanting. The view all around whether from below in the valley or above in the mountain was heavenly. The Fig Tree is a 2 room lodge built by the local community and volunteer organization. It's a beautiful lodge providing all the basic necessities. Our meals were provided by a friendly local lady, the food was simple and flavorful. Our guide was top notch, his name is Saidin and he has lived there his entire life with his family. In our too short a stay I came away with knowledge I could not have learn from a book.... Thank you Saidin for your expertise and tireless hospitality. Thank you Sheila for providing the introduction to this immaculate place. Kiulu valley really is one of the best places on earth, no doubt I will return for a longer stay. Oh did I forget to mention that there is no wifi, Internet, TV or cellular service.....excellent👍

      Date of stay: August 2016
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      2  Thank Pinggu88
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 16 July 2016

      the nearest getaway within kk city from hectic daily life. there's camping site or "sulap" to stay in . the river is also within reach. the river flow is slow so its safe to do swimming or just a dip into the cold and clear waters. fancy some rougher activity? you can try river tubing. there will be someone to watch over you and you will be wearing safety gears. this will be my first place to recommend if you need instant disconnect with the outside world.

      Date of stay: June 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank IvyG195
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      TimothyT_BET, Manager at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

      Thanks Ivy for visiting us. We're so glad to have you.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 30 June 2016

      Yupe this is the place to stay if you are searching for a peaceful place to meditate and listen to the sound of nature. Food was simple but so delicious. The local community did a great job making this place beautiful. Wish to stay here longer.

      Date of stay: May 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank NicolD110
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

      Beautiful isn't it? Despite the limited phone reception, Kiulu has thei own charms to distract you from the hustle and bustle of city life. Thank you for the review, Nicol!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 29 June 2016

      It's a great opportunities for me to have a experience such as unique Kiulu Farmstay that make me feel free enjoying the nature live, sound of the river, the culture and also the food. Feel like I'm in a 60's era.

      Date of stay: May 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank RioeY
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

      Glad you had an amazing time, Rioe!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 28 June 2016

      It's a really nice place where you can have your "detox" from your hectic city life. Great experience of living like a "kampong" person, you get to learn about the local native's culture and culinary and traditions. Those who want to explore nature, it is a must to come here as there are jungle trekking, waterfall trekking, hiking and more exciting activities awaits.

      Date of stay: June 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank SiahN1
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

      Couldnt agree more Siah! Kiulu has its charm to distract you form the hustle and bustle of the city. Thank you for the review!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews