We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
terence7
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

Clean, Cozy, Comfortable

Review of Kiulu Farmstay
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Aug 2016
Although it's in the interior, you still have some comforts of modern life - fan, water heater, and clean toilets. It's a great place to escape the hustle and bustle of modern life or a weekend escapade.
Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this review
Responded 24 Nov 2017
Point well taken, Terence. Kiulu Farmstay is really one of the great places for a mini escapade from the city. Thank you for taking the time reviewing us, and thank you for choosing us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
23.5 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
23.7 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
25.2 km from Kiulu Farmstay
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
19.0 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
23.7 km from Kiulu Farmstay
  • Agoda.com
23.9 km from Kiulu Farmstay
They don't put cushion for the rattan chair.
    30.8 km from Kiulu Farmstay
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • Trip.com
    • Agoda.com
    30.9 km from Kiulu Farmstay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      View more hotels in Tuaran
      Reviews (32)
      Filter reviews
      32 results
      Traveller rating
      20
      10
      1
      0
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      20
      10
      1
      0
      1
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      14 - 19 of 32 reviews
      Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

      It was an amazing day out at Kiulu Farmstay! Great facilities, very well maintained. Love the river! Crystal clear water and super cooling! We enjoyed ourselves very much! My daughter especially loves the river water!

      Date of stay: August 2016
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank MingMing11
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

      Glad to know you and your daughter enjoyed your stay in Kiulu Farmstay! Thank you for having us!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 25 August 2016

      Kiulu farmstay is very well designed and perfect for family or group outings. I particularly love the communal hut with long tables and benches and adequate aeration from the ceiling fans and semi-opened concept of the hut. Right across the communal hut is a welcoming river beckoning for us to jump in. The water is freezing cold but so inviting on a hot day.

      I particularly like the concept of a self-contained lodging hut with cooking facilities, two bedrooms and a toilet/shower area. The communal / dining area inside the lodging hut is spacious with lots of room to rest and sit.

      I would highly recommend Kiulu Farmstay for families and small groups who want a little bit of a rugged retreat but with the comforts of a proper bed, hot shower and basic cooking facilities. Bring adequate food supply for eating and cooking if you're staying over as there are no shops nearby.

      They also take a RM10 community fee that goes into a community fund to help the local villagers. What a great effort!

      Date of stay: August 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Cleanliness
      1  Thank debschan7
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

      Hi Deborah, thank you for the compliments! Kiulu Farmstay is a community-based ecotourism development where we aim to give guests a whole new experience in the nature and at the same time, give back to the community. We're glad you felt what we aim to give to people. Thank you for staying with us!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 24 August 2016

      The experience was superb, we went in a mixed group with both families and couples. There was literally something for everyone,from playing in the river with the kids or quad biking. Truly an unforgettable trip, will definitely go back. The staff were very friendly and accomodating

      Date of stay: July 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank alvinhanmin
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

      Recently, my 13 year old daughter and I traveled to Sabah Borneo. My entire 2 week itinerary was organized by Borneo Eco tours. Needless to say, it was loaded with one adventure after another ranging from the west to east coast. However, my most memorable part of the trip was our overnight stay at Kiulu valley farmstay. The valley is surrounded by mountains with lush jungle filled with edible vegetation and fruit trees. The river in the valley was flowing rapidly with clear cool water and can be seen for miles. Rice paddies and Buffaloes in their mud bath was amusing. The quad bike experience would be a sin to miss. The morning mist was enchanting. The view all around whether from below in the valley or above in the mountain was heavenly. The Fig Tree is a 2 room lodge built by the local community and volunteer organization. It's a beautiful lodge providing all the basic necessities. Our meals were provided by a friendly local lady, the food was simple and flavorful. Our guide was top notch, his name is Saidin and he has lived there his entire life with his family. In our too short a stay I came away with knowledge I could not have learn from a book.... Thank you Saidin for your expertise and tireless hospitality. Thank you Sheila for providing the introduction to this immaculate place. Kiulu valley really is one of the best places on earth, no doubt I will return for a longer stay. Oh did I forget to mention that there is no wifi, Internet, TV or cellular service.....excellent👍

      Date of stay: August 2016
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      2  Thank Pinggu88
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 16 July 2016

      the nearest getaway within kk city from hectic daily life. there's camping site or "sulap" to stay in . the river is also within reach. the river flow is slow so its safe to do swimming or just a dip into the cold and clear waters. fancy some rougher activity? you can try river tubing. there will be someone to watch over you and you will be wearing safety gears. this will be my first place to recommend if you need instant disconnect with the outside world.

      Date of stay: June 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank IvyG195
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      TimothyT_BET, Manager at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

      Thanks Ivy for visiting us. We're so glad to have you.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews