We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
michaelhc_chin
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Kiulu - breakaway to Natural Prestine river eco-system

Review of Kiulu Farmstay
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Sept 2016
Breath-taking Valleys, unpolluted pristine River eco-system with friendly villages. Please support Villagers' Home-stay. Expect basic amenities with very welcoming host family. Best to visit during fruiting seasons!!
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this review
Responded 24 Nov 2017
Thank you for the support! We hope you had a wonderful time during your stay in Kiulu.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 104
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 71
  • Trip.com
25.2 km from Kiulu Farmstay
RM 75
RM 66
  • Agoda.com
    RM 75
23.9 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    RM 60
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
23.5 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
23.7 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 90
  • Agoda.com
    RM 60
19.0 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    RM 54
  • eDreams
23.7 km from Kiulu Farmstay
They don't put cushion for the rattan chair.
    30.8 km from Kiulu Farmstay
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Trip.com
    • Vio.com
    • Booking.com
    30.9 km from Kiulu Farmstay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      View more hotels in Tuaran
      Reviews (32)
      Filter reviews
      32 results
      Traveller rating
      20
      10
      1
      0
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      20
      10
      1
      0
      1
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      12 - 17 of 32 reviews
      Reviewed 8 September 2016

      Stayed for a night at this cute farmstay with a group of colleagues last April. No telephone or internet connection to my mobile phone but all is good ! as I got to enjoy the nature around me. Thou there are options to stay in the comfortable 2 bedroom hut, I opted for a more adventurous experience by sleeping in a camp outside. If you are keen to get going with stuffs, there are lots of activities around the village to do such as jungle trekking, quad biking and my all time favourite is of course the tubing & eating the delicious spread of "kampung" food prepared by the local villagers. Either way you could also just chill and relax around the farmstay while listening to the local stories. There are all very friendly and welcoming. In fact, I even learnt to play the Gong (Traditional Music Instrument) from them! Such a good memories for sure.

      Date of stay: April 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      1  Thank thetalkinggirl
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

      Couldn't agree more! Glad to know you and your colleagues had so much fun at Kiulu Farmstay. If you guys are up for another adventure, check out our website to look at our optional tours in Kiulu. Thanks for having us!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 29 August 2016

      Although it's in the interior, you still have some comforts of modern life - fan, water heater, and clean toilets. It's a great place to escape the hustle and bustle of modern life or a weekend escapade.

      Date of stay: July 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank terence7
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

      Point well taken, Terence. Kiulu Farmstay is really one of the great places for a mini escapade from the city. Thank you for taking the time reviewing us, and thank you for choosing us!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

      It was an amazing day out at Kiulu Farmstay! Great facilities, very well maintained. Love the river! Crystal clear water and super cooling! We enjoyed ourselves very much! My daughter especially loves the river water!

      Date of stay: August 2016
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank MingMing11
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

      Glad to know you and your daughter enjoyed your stay in Kiulu Farmstay! Thank you for having us!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 25 August 2016

      Kiulu farmstay is very well designed and perfect for family or group outings. I particularly love the communal hut with long tables and benches and adequate aeration from the ceiling fans and semi-opened concept of the hut. Right across the communal hut is a welcoming river beckoning for us to jump in. The water is freezing cold but so inviting on a hot day.

      I particularly like the concept of a self-contained lodging hut with cooking facilities, two bedrooms and a toilet/shower area. The communal / dining area inside the lodging hut is spacious with lots of room to rest and sit.

      I would highly recommend Kiulu Farmstay for families and small groups who want a little bit of a rugged retreat but with the comforts of a proper bed, hot shower and basic cooking facilities. Bring adequate food supply for eating and cooking if you're staying over as there are no shops nearby.

      They also take a RM10 community fee that goes into a community fund to help the local villagers. What a great effort!

      Date of stay: August 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Cleanliness
      1  Thank debschan7
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

      Hi Deborah, thank you for the compliments! Kiulu Farmstay is a community-based ecotourism development where we aim to give guests a whole new experience in the nature and at the same time, give back to the community. We're glad you felt what we aim to give to people. Thank you for staying with us!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 24 August 2016

      The experience was superb, we went in a mixed group with both families and couples. There was literally something for everyone,from playing in the river with the kids or quad biking. Truly an unforgettable trip, will definitely go back. The staff were very friendly and accomodating

      Date of stay: July 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank alvinhanmin
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews