We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Megs_Again
Mackay, Australia

So beautiful!!!!

Review of Kiulu Farmstay
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Aug 2017
If you want to get away from it all then this is the place for you. I loved my stay at Kiulu and my host Saidin did everything possible to make me feel welcome. The food was delicious and authentic and I really enjoyed the village tour. Thank you Saidin for playing the gongs as I walked across the bridge into the farm stay :) Make sure you include this little hidden piece of paradise on your travels in Sabah.
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this review
Responded 24 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us! We'll make sure Saidin knows you had a wonderful time staying in Kiulu. Thank you for choosing us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 80
RM 63
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    RM 65
  • Trip.com
    RM 80
  • Vio.com
    RM 67
23.5 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 1,260
  • Priceline
    RM 1,260
  • Agoda.com
    RM 1,098
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,260
26.3 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 61
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
23.7 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 104
  • Trip.com
    RM 93
  • Agoda.com
    RM 69
  • Priceline
25.2 km from Kiulu Farmstay
RM 93
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 62
  • Agoda.com
    RM 60
19.0 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 60
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
23.7 km from Kiulu Farmstay
RM 68
  • Agoda.com
    RM 44
23.9 km from Kiulu Farmstay
RM 291
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Trip.com
    RM 358
  • Agoda.com
    RM 234
  • Vio.com
    RM 240
30.9 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 56
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
18.7 km from Kiulu Farmstay
RM 77
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
18.1 km from Kiulu Farmstay
View more hotels in Tuaran
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
20
10
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
10
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Wow, wow and wow.. This off beaten destination is worth the travel for one who wants to experience a back to basis kind of holiday. I took the 2D1N package from Borneo Eco Tours and it was worth every dollar. Simple lodge, lovely guide, friendly locals, interesting activities, folktale stories, and many more. As soon as you arrive to this destination, its time to keep your modern day mobile devices away.. not out of choice but there isn't any signal.. All the meals were cooked by the locals and it was delicious.. My favorite outdoor activity was the river tubing and ATV ride.. simply awesome.. It was certainly a memorable experience..

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ramesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

So happy to know you had a great time Ramesh! Thank you for choosing us, and we hope you'll come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

We booked a two day, one night stay here through Borneo eco tours. On arriving we were greeted by enthused and pleasant staff. Wet were given an excellent lunch prepared by one of the local woman from the village. In the afternoon our tour guide Saiden, took us on a 3 hour jungle trek which we thoroughly enjoyed. He explained the life and culture of the villagers and the edible and poisonous plants around the jungle. He also showed us the rice process, rubber tapping and many other local cultural scribes which we also participated in.
All the food was prepared and served to us by the local village and wad truly scrumptious especially the"hot banana" and Saidens home brewed rice wine...
This is a place to forget about modern living, relax and enjoy the natural beauty.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

The hot banana or in Malay, "Pisang Goreng" is truly delicious, right? We're so glad you enjoyed the food, and the mini adventure you had with Saidin. Thank you for taking the time to review us, Jayne! And thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

The best place to get out off the grid and enjoy peace and quiet at its best. The local people are amazing human beings, very friendly and caring. Best place to imerse in ancient cultures and enjoy natural surroundings. Farmstay it's a beautiful natural building infrastucture with great facilities. Highly recomended!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FilipaRamosG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

We're so glad you had a lovely time in Kiulu Farmstay! It sure is a great place for experiencing nature at its finest. Thank you for the recommendation and thank you for choosing us, Filipa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We only got to stay for one night but was such a welcoming , unexpected experience. Our guide was from the local community and after welcoming us to our bamboo house for the night, took great pleasure in showing us the local treasures, walking round the farm, picking fruits, swimming in the river. Saidon, our guide was so happy to share all his experiences & stories with us . We then had the most exceptional dinner prepared by Esther , a lady who also lived in the village and we got to sample the fresh veg & fruit that we had picked that afternoon from around the farm
A truly amazing experience, really feeling close to the local community

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank michelley726
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

An experience indeed! We're so glad you loved your stay in Kiulu Farmstay, Michelle! Having a short trip into the nature is always a good choice, and we hope this won't be your last. Thank you for taking the time reviewing us, and thank you for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed with a group of friends in this quaint farmstay for one night - I wish it had been for longer! Saidan and Esther took great care of us and Saidan's enthusiasm for the local villages, history, story-telling and nature made for a great afternoon and evening of local immersion. Farmstay was simple but very comfortable and sweet with running hot water. Dips in the local river, hospitality of the local villagers and some great local cooked food made the stay a highlight of a two week Borneo trip. The added benefit of it being an eco sustainable project for the local village added to the attraction.

Do - let Saidan take over your activities, bring long trousers and mosquito repellant and relax into an alternate way of living. Don't - worry about not being connected to the outside world or expect wifi or phone reception.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 305samb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

So thankful for taking the time and reviewing us, Sam! It's a good to know you loved your stay in Kiulu, although it was only for a night. If you're planning on coming back, you know how to find us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews