We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Katrien B

A lovely getaway

Review of Kiulu Farmstay
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Dec 2017via mobile
We stayed 2D/1N at the farmstay and were greeted by cute Aryl and her lovely family! We enjoyed the place and being without phone reception and just following the pace of the villagers...
Also as a Belgian the really cool riverwater was actually and finally refreshing!
We could’ve stayed easily a couple of days longer at that relaxing location!
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this review
Responded 29 Dec 2017
Dear Katrien, it was a plasure having you guys. Phone reception is very limited at Kiulu, but it's just a way to focus on the green beauty that it has to offer. Thank you for planning your tour with us. Feel to free to drop your email if you want to come back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
23.5 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
23.7 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
25.2 km from Kiulu Farmstay
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
19.0 km from Kiulu Farmstay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
23.7 km from Kiulu Farmstay
  • Agoda.com
23.9 km from Kiulu Farmstay
They don't put cushion for the rattan chair.
    30.8 km from Kiulu Farmstay
    • Priceline
    • Trip.com
    • Agoda.com
    30.9 km from Kiulu Farmstay
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      View more hotels in Tuaran
      Reviews (32)
      Filter reviews
      32 results
      Traveller rating
      20
      10
      1
      0
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      20
      10
      1
      0
      1
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      4 - 9 of 32 reviews
      Reviewed 7 September 2017

      i have to admit that when i first found out there would be no mobile reception and TV i was worried on how to keep a 2 and 6 year old entertained! but i decided that i needed to breakaway from that connectivity and reconnect without these technology devices.

      upon reaching the area, we crossed a suspension / hanging bridge. the kids found that amusing. then when they descended from the bridge, they ran around like wild chickens.

      when we approached the fig tree i was actually impressed how compact yet complete it was. we decided to do half and half for food - cook and also enjoy the local dishes which could be ordered.

      we went to the river for a dip, fed the fish in the pond, played with the local musical instruments, did a slight trek in vain to find a buffalo (don't make promises you can't keep to kids - so i learnt). we found the village buffaloes bathing in mud and owh gosh the kids were ecstatic.

      at night, we had an early dinner. Helenna (who prepared our food) and Aryl (our guide) stayed on to play and chat with us and the kids. by 9pm, we called it a night.

      the area is so calming and it really did give me a sense of peace.

      would i return?
      yes.

      how would i vacay there again?
      with friends!

      Imagine having a private space all to yourself and friends, BBQing and just enjoying the night.

      Now there are only 2 rooms, but you can camps comfortable in the shaded area.

      I would also have done Quad Biking but didn't have enough time for that.

      breakaway and get away.
      here at the kiulu farmstay

      Date of stay: September 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      1  Thank Cassie F
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

      So glad you and the kids had a wonderful time, Cassie! Taking a break from the bustling city and stepping back into the nature is worth the experience. We're so happy that the kids enjoyed watching buffaloes and playing with the suspended bridge, and we hope the food and everything else was great. Thank you for the recommendations! If you're planning to come back, we'll be ready to assist you on another adventure.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 August 2017

      If you want to get away from it all then this is the place for you. I loved my stay at Kiulu and my host Saidin did everything possible to make me feel welcome. The food was delicious and authentic and I really enjoyed the village tour. Thank you Saidin for playing the gongs as I walked across the bridge into the farm stay :) Make sure you include this little hidden piece of paradise on your travels in Sabah.

      Date of stay: March 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Megs_Again
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

      Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us! We'll make sure Saidin knows you had a wonderful time staying in Kiulu. Thank you for choosing us!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 19 July 2017

      Wow, wow and wow.. This off beaten destination is worth the travel for one who wants to experience a back to basis kind of holiday. I took the 2D1N package from Borneo Eco Tours and it was worth every dollar. Simple lodge, lovely guide, friendly locals, interesting activities, folktale stories, and many more. As soon as you arrive to this destination, its time to keep your modern day mobile devices away.. not out of choice but there isn't any signal.. All the meals were cooked by the locals and it was delicious.. My favorite outdoor activity was the river tubing and ATV ride.. simply awesome.. It was certainly a memorable experience..

      Date of stay: March 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      1  Thank Ramesh M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

      So happy to know you had a great time Ramesh! Thank you for choosing us, and we hope you'll come back soon.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

      We booked a two day, one night stay here through Borneo eco tours. On arriving we were greeted by enthused and pleasant staff. Wet were given an excellent lunch prepared by one of the local woman from the village. In the afternoon our tour guide Saiden, took us on a 3 hour jungle trek which we thoroughly enjoyed. He explained the life and culture of the villagers and the edible and poisonous plants around the jungle. He also showed us the rice process, rubber tapping and many other local cultural scribes which we also participated in.
      All the food was prepared and served to us by the local village and wad truly scrumptious especially the"hot banana" and Saidens home brewed rice wine...
      This is a place to forget about modern living, relax and enjoy the natural beauty.

      Date of stay: April 2017
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Jayne C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

      The hot banana or in Malay, "Pisang Goreng" is truly delicious, right? We're so glad you enjoyed the food, and the mini adventure you had with Saidin. Thank you for taking the time to review us, Jayne! And thank you for choosing us.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 February 2017

      The best place to get out off the grid and enjoy peace and quiet at its best. The local people are amazing human beings, very friendly and caring. Best place to imerse in ancient cultures and enjoy natural surroundings. Farmstay it's a beautiful natural building infrastucture with great facilities. Highly recomended!

      Date of stay: December 2016
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank FilipaRamosG
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nuraidah M, MarCom at Kiulu Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

      We're so glad you had a lovely time in Kiulu Farmstay! It sure is a great place for experiencing nature at its finest. Thank you for the recommendation and thank you for choosing us, Filipa!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews