We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An absolute treat

We also did the four day Outback Contrasts Safari. Such a fantastic experience that one of our... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
GraemeB70
,
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Excellent. Highly Recommended.

We took the four day, three night, Outback Contrasts Tour. We could not recommend this tour more... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
John and Lynett... B
,
Athelstone, Australia
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
50
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
50
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt lake baird bay swimming with sea lions day trip amazing experience rosie emus outback geology wildlife accommodation telescope scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2020

We spent three nights at the camp and had a wonderful time, it was certainly an experience which we will remember and value. The accommodation was comfortable and clean, well equipped. The food was amazing and the hosts welcoming and great company. We saw a wide range of wildlife including seeing some animals at close quarters within the camp. Our guide, Dave, was excellent, very knowledgeable and with a great sense of humour. If you get a chance to do this tour, you should!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Q5577MCchristineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2019 via mobile

Everything about our 4 day trip to the Gawler Ranges was fantastic. Weather conditions great albeit a bit hot at 49c. We were picked up by Rosie from Wudinna Hotel to visit a rock giving fantastic 360 view and then to the camp where we were warmly welcomed by Geoff,the owner. The tents were very well equipped having been designed by Rosie and built by Geoff from,in the main,reclaimed materials. Geoff, Rosie and Dave are absolutely passionate about the wildlife,the geology and take every opportunity to share their knowledge with you. We saw on the trip Red and Western Grey kangaroos, Rock wallaby and numerous birds and reptiles including wedge tailed eagles. On our final day we went to Baird Bay to swim with the sea lions and dolphins. A not to be missed experience.Geoff's cooking and salads are really great.Nothing is too much trouble for Geoff and his staff which made our trip quite unique and fabulous.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank RichardCloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 November 2019

A fabulous trip in the outback! The elevated tents were decorated with wildlife screen prints done by guide Rosie Woodford. The food was unbelievable. The scenery was like a different planet, so sparse with gorgeous rocky outcroppings. The animals were the highlight, kangaroos, galah cockatoos, ring necked parrots, emus all came to camp at sunset. Stars were practically on the ground with us and were able to see rings of Saturn through the telescope. Treks to salt lake, ochre pits, organ pipe formations, swimming with sea lions. And the hosts, Dave, Rosie and Geoff were fabulous. Highly recommend

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Donnalee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2019

Kangaluna Camp Safari is a fabulous adventure for those who want to see the outback in all its raw beauty. Geoff, Rosie and David gave us an experience my husband and I will never forget. The accommodations were intriguing as well as comfortable and the food was gourmet. If you want to see kangaroos, koalas and emus up close and personal, this is the way to do it.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank mariereeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

Gawler Ranges are in remote South Australia. The landscape is a dramatic mix of ancient hills, granite rocks, red earth roads, sand dunes, mid size eucalyptus and shimmering bushes. You drive there through vast plains of wheat crops and rural service towns which add to the experience. The salt bed of Lake Gairdner is a highlight. Kangaroos and emus abound. The Safari company offers charming tents with en-suites in a supremely quiet spot. Geoff the owner is a generous host with deep local knowledge. The activities do involve a fair amount of driving but hikes are also an option. The great food and ambience epitomise Australian outback hospitality. A must see for those seeking a special outback adventure.

Date of experience: December 2018
3  Thank SYZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews