We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Ohau Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Lakes Motel(Twizel)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ahuriri Motel Omarama(Omarama)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$97
Peppers
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lake Tekapo Village Motel(Lake Tekapo)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Godley Hotel(Lake Tekapo)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
184
101
25
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
101
25
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontiki tourmt cookcycle triplocal salmonski fieldstable tennissand fliescooked breakfastnew zealandother guestsbed breakfastcommon areasrooms are comfortableocean trailfantastic locationlounge areahigh country
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

The rooms are quite small and pretty average to look at. Our heater didn't work and apparently there were heated floors but this must of skipped our room because all we had was this weird leak in the corner of the room which I could only imagine was coming from underneath the floor. The dining area was nice but a little bit dark. The bar area was alright to drink in but the music needs improving. Throw in a bit of variety, rather than repeating the same 20 songs. Especially when there is a jukebox sitting unplugged in the corner. Lake ohau is a Great Lake to look at if you have the right room which I didn't do that was disappointing. Great if all your doing is skiing but other than that just camp instead of you can

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank DamoTravels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseNeilson, Manager at Lake Ohau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

I can only assume that you were on a bus tour so maybe it wasn't the place for you and you missed out on being allocated a north facing view room and you unfortunately didn’t find the switch for the heater that your friends found. The Maitland wing where I think you stayed by your description is a bit plain but the beds are comfortable, there are electric blankets, plenty of heating and we don’t have any “weird” leaks from under the floor. Thank you for your review. I hope that people don’t take your advice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We stop and overnight here on our way Chch - Q'town if we're heading that way on holiday. Probably about half a dozen visits or so over the last 10 years.

Comfy, warm, clean rooms, some with a view if you want to pay for that. Super-friendly staff and an on-site bar for the evenings. It has a familiar/comfy/worn feel but is uber-clean (lots of good old-fashioned vinegar and baking soda from the smell of it rather than harsh chemical cleaning products which is a bonus too).
Delicious breakfasts and stunning views.
It's been exactly what we need every time. Thank you.

PS You might want to consider changing the range of shampoo/soaps you provide in the rooms as whilst they laudably support Forest and Bird, they are made from palm oil. Production of this ingredient is deforesting an equally valuable part of our planet earth and contributing to the eradication of species such as orangutan.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for all your lovely comments, we appreciate it and thank you for keeping on coming to stay with us.

The Forest & Bird products use palm oil that is sustainably produced. Please see www.rspo.org - there is a lot of interesting information to be worked through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

We stayed at this lodge as part of our Alps to Ocean cycle ride. Despite our bunkrooms being very tight for four adults the actual lodge was lovely. The views over the lake superb. Great facilities to relax and eat and drink as you liked in the actual lodge. The price of the accommodation included a three course meal at night and full cooked breakfast .The meal was lovely with the choice of venison or chicken for mains. The staff were helpful and friendly. The platter for two we had mid afternoon was lovely great selections of locally produced food,

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hi there. I agree that the bunk rooms are very tight for four adults but at $95 each which includes your 3 course dinner and a cooked breakfast it's excellent value. That's great that you thought the Lodge was lovely and really, sometimes it's only a bed you need and you can enjoy all the Lodge facilities and spend your time in the restaurant in front of the fire with a glass of wine and our cyclists platter. Priorities!!!
Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night only which was our last night in NZ as a part of group. The location is stunning with great views . The sky is lovely at night with very little light pollution you could see the Milky Way clearly
The manager and staff are exceptionally friendly , welcoming and efficient. The rooms are comfortable facing the lake. The food is very good and they take your order for cooked breakfast which was fresh and surprisingly ready quickly . The staff had smiles on their face and the manager came to say goodbye , wonderful lady.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank HelioN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Gosh! Well that's me so thank you! It's nice to say goodbye to the groups who stay as it's hard to get around everyone. Aren't we fortunate to be able to see that sky? It makes me think that I must take time to wrap up in a blanket ... or two and stay out on the next beautiful night. We've had a gorgeous group of young people working here this summer, most have just left for the end of season but some are staying on for winter which is lovely for us. Thank you for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

We decided to add a night to our long weekend and rang on the day we arrived....grateful to find they had a room. We had never been before. It was amazing value for money.

We arrived on dusk and got great service from the moment we checked in. Dinner was at 7 and there was a tour group at one end of the restaurant - they were on a different menu and the whole room had a great hum. The wine list was good and we enjoyed a couple of bottles over the evening! For dinner we had leek and potato soup followed by a choice of venison or chicken (both we delicious) and brownie for dessert. The portions were generous! I should note that on booking we were asked if we had any dietary requirements and we were asked again at check in and then at the start of dinner. The food was prepared in house and was great.

After dinner, the tour group retired to the bar, we moved to the lounge and played cards (from the bar) and watched the news. The temptation of the two spas was too tempting for our daughter and we decided to join her after a while - so great! Even more impressive was the fact the spas were emptied and cleaned as we were eating breakfast.

Before we went to bed in the evening, we were advised to dine after 0830 to miss the tour group - this suited us fine! Breakfast was good to - I was most impressed to see home-poached rhubarb...yum!

Check out was seamless and I am already looking forward to going back. This is exactly the sort of place that needs local support - we are lucky to have it close!

A small footnote, we were in the downstairs of the temple wing (these rooms have a queen and a very comfy single). The room was. Wet clean and cosy. The bathroom had a smell that was odd and not pleasant but it was spotless and I can only imagine how much it would cost to try and investigate. For the price it was fine, not something that would alter my review but I feel I should just note it (we were in room 67).

Do go - it is such a cool experience.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank AntarcticChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Thank you so much for your really lovely review. You have responded to some of the issues raised by the previous reviewer which is greatly appreciated and lovely to have some balance in perspective. I'm so sorry about the smell that you had in the bathroom in Room 67. I have been to check it and there is nothing there now I am pleased to report. It may have been an oversight by our housekeepers but was definitely of a temporary nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews