We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic little spot! Perfect for couples or for an unreal little trip with all your friends but still family friendly”
Review of Lake Ohau Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Ohau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Ohau Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Stayed here last night in the hope of hitting the slopes today. Unfortunately the slopes were closed due to too much snow. If it wasn't for this place we would have been super disappointed. Great food, wicked atmosphere, nice friendly staff. Cool bar with good beer. Rooms were cozy. No tvs, no phone reception (although you can pay for wifi) which was ace! Everyone talking, chatting to strangers and having a great time instead of being glued to their phones.
Right next to the access road for the pistes.
Amazing lake views
Petrol station on site for top ups

Room Tip: Amazing views of the lake and mountains. Closest spot to the access road to the pistes
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scott_maughan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Hi Scott, I'm so sorry you didn't make it up onto the snow as we are having a really fantastic season this year. You'll just have to come back! Glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of the Lodge. Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Lake Ohau Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

The rooms are quite small and pretty average to look at. Our heater didn't work and apparently there were heated floors but this must of skipped our room because all we had was this weird leak in the corner of the room which I could only imagine was coming from underneath the floor. The dining area was nice but a little bit dark. The bar area was alright to drink in but the music needs improving. Throw in a bit of variety, rather than repeating the same 20 songs. Especially when there is a jukebox sitting unplugged in the corner. Lake ohau is a Great Lake to look at if you have the right room which I didn't do that was disappointing. Great if all your doing is skiing but other than that just camp instead of you can

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank DamoTravels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseNeilson, Manager at Lake Ohau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

I can only assume that you were on a bus tour so maybe it wasn't the place for you and you missed out on being allocated a north facing view room and you unfortunately didn’t find the switch for the heater that your friends found. The Maitland wing where I think you stayed by your description is a bit plain but the beds are comfortable, there are electric blankets, plenty of heating and we don’t have any “weird” leaks from under the floor. Thank you for your review. I hope that people don’t take your advice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We stop and overnight here on our way Chch - Q'town if we're heading that way on holiday. Probably about half a dozen visits or so over the last 10 years.

Comfy, warm, clean rooms, some with a view if you want to pay for that. Super-friendly staff and an on-site bar for the evenings. It has a familiar/comfy/worn feel but is uber-clean (lots of good old-fashioned vinegar and baking soda from the smell of it rather than harsh chemical cleaning products which is a bonus too).
Delicious breakfasts and stunning views.
It's been exactly what we need every time. Thank you.

PS You might want to consider changing the range of shampoo/soaps you provide in the rooms as whilst they laudably support Forest and Bird, they are made from palm oil. Production of this ingredient is deforesting an equally valuable part of our planet earth and contributing to the eradication of species such as orangutan.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for all your lovely comments, we appreciate it and thank you for keeping on coming to stay with us.

The Forest & Bird products use palm oil that is sustainably produced. Please see www.rspo.org - there is a lot of interesting information to be worked through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

We stayed at this lodge as part of our Alps to Ocean cycle ride. Despite our bunkrooms being very tight for four adults the actual lodge was lovely. The views over the lake superb. Great facilities to relax and eat and drink as you liked in the actual lodge. The price of the accommodation included a three course meal at night and full cooked breakfast .The meal was lovely with the choice of venison or chicken for mains. The staff were helpful and friendly. The platter for two we had mid afternoon was lovely great selections of locally produced food,

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hi there. I agree that the bunk rooms are very tight for four adults but at $95 each which includes your 3 course dinner and a cooked breakfast it's excellent value. That's great that you thought the Lodge was lovely and really, sometimes it's only a bed you need and you can enjoy all the Lodge facilities and spend your time in the restaurant in front of the fire with a glass of wine and our cyclists platter. Priorities!!!
Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night only which was our last night in NZ as a part of group. The location is stunning with great views . The sky is lovely at night with very little light pollution you could see the Milky Way clearly
The manager and staff are exceptionally friendly , welcoming and efficient. The rooms are comfortable facing the lake. The food is very good and they take your order for cooked breakfast which was fresh and surprisingly ready quickly . The staff had smiles on their face and the manager came to say goodbye , wonderful lady.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank HelioN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseNeilson, Owner at Lake Ohau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Gosh! Well that's me so thank you! It's nice to say goodbye to the groups who stay as it's hard to get around everyone. Aren't we fortunate to be able to see that sky? It makes me think that I must take time to wrap up in a blanket ... or two and stay out on the next beautiful night. We've had a gorgeous group of young people working here this summer, most have just left for the end of season but some are staying on for winter which is lovely for us. Thank you for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ohau
23.2 km away
Mackenzie Country Inn
22.9 km away
High Country Holiday Lodge
23.3 km away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 km away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
323 reviews
24.7 km away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
23.0 km away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Ohau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Ohau Lodge

Address: 2295 Lake Ohau Road | P O Box 51, 7944, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Lake Ohau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Lake Ohau
Price Range: RM308 - RM616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Ohau Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 72 unit Lodge with warm, centrally heated, comfortable accommodation on the shore of Lake Ohau with views of Glen Mary Glacier, Aoraki Mt Cook and the Ben Ohau Range. Facilities include restaurant, bar, games room, spa pools and drying room. Staying at the Lake Ohau Lodge will complete a unique and truly memorable South Island skiing experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Ohau Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing