We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Selenunda
Nearby Hotels
Delphi Hotel(Skopelos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adrina Beach(Panormos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Afrodite Hotel(Panormos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emy Hotel(Punta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Stellina(Skiathos Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
42
9
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
9
2
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here to break away from Skopelos town,,and to get near to the Mama Mia church( a must visit for my wife).
It is not easy access if you do not have a car. We arrived by bus walked down the harbour, found an open door marked Selenuda Hotel,and. Red arrow pointing up a set of stairs. As we puzzled an elderly greek lady , came to us asked if we wanted the hotel, went to her telephone,,and 2 minutes later Babis the hotel owner appeared with car. He put our case in , plus use and took us about 1/2 mile up,a step twisty turney road, then down a 1in 4 step drive to the hotel.
We checked in and Babis showed us our room ,,and the "quick way" back down. This was down steps, across a roof garden, down more steps, across another roof, down more steps and hey presto you are back harbour side.
View over Loutraki harbour was wonderful. With the small kitchen , table and chairs on the balcony , we decided we would cook in and sit on the balcony, with food and wine and watch the sky and the sea change colour ! Really great view and relaxing.
Also so glad we did this as when walking back up with bags of food and wine, we counted 163 steps from harbour side to room! Not sure how good that would be after a large meal and a few drinks.
A taxi is another option of course!
Babis organised a taxi to take us to the mama Mia famous church . We Left at 8.20 on a Sunday sunny morning and had the entire site to ourselves. No one else appeared as we walked up . Took numerous photos as we went up. Walked around and came back down without seeing another person. Wonderful.
All in all a great place

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mikeshuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This is a charming two star hotel near the port of Loutraki on Skopelos, an island that is part of the Northern Sporades island group in Greece. Sister islands are Alonnisos and Skiathos.

This hotel is difficult to rate. We rate it a 5 for the view, 4 for the size of the room, 2 for the bathroom, kitchen, lack of countertop space and lack of suitcase stands, and 2 for the navigability of the driveway and parking.

Hotel Selenunda is a family run business. Babis, the principal operator, and his brother, Spiros, when available, operate this hotel. The owners our friendly and helpful.

We stayed at this hotel for almost a month between May 18 and June 17, 2016. And it's all about the VIEW! But there’s much to like about it ...

Here are the Pro’s and Con’s as we see it:

Pro’s

• The View: This place offers a panoramic 180° view of the harbor of Loutraki, the Aegean Sea, and nearby islands. It features unobstructed views of the port. One can easily watch the ferries and catamaran’s enter and depart the port all day long. This is a busy port, as Skopelos is accessible only by boat, except for those paying for helicopter service! It's all about the VIEW living at this place!
• A large veranda with comfortable patio chairs
• Ample room to hang clothesline outside on veranda
• Good air flow throughout the room: it’s easy and safe to open up veranda doors for airflow. And the room comes with a fan to increase airflow
• Large open room
• Some counter space in a small kitchenette
• Daily room cleaning
• Clean towels daily
• Sheets changed 2x per week
• Good hot water generally — with some limitations. The source is a solar heated gravity fed tank on the roof.
• Good water pressure
• Good Wi-Fi Internet service (but we were only ones in hotel most of the time so we don’t know what the performance would have been under load).
• Stairs down (about 200 steps) to town of Loutraki where tavernas, shops, and some beach areas are
• Limited onsite parking
• Quiet -- secluded from town
• No stairs to rooms on main floor—useful when lugging heavy suitcases
• Sufficient closet space with some hangers
• Air-conditioning
• Baseline kitchenware for guests


Cons:

• Driveway can be a bit treacherous and challenging for a driver not used to the narrow, shoulder-less roads on the island
• Limited parking by hotel entrance — extra space in a grassy area up a hill not far from the hotel entrance
• No shopping conveniences nearby: you must walk/drive
• Beds: singles, featuring ultra hard mattresses.

➢ Note: We used bungy cords to lash beds together with a blanket crammed in between two mattresses to make a single full bed. The owners provide a single bottom sheet for making one bed. That’s the good news. The bad news? Separate twin top sheets and blankets are on top. This is very awkward for couples used to sleeping together under the same set up sheets and blankets.
• Bathroom
➢ Small and not updated
➢ Toilet seat: uncomfortable
• No shower curtain: everything in the bathroom: toilet, seat, toilet paper, sink — everything — gets wet and has to be mopped up after showering. This is extremely unprofessional.
• No room around sink for toiletries
• The floor not sloped correctly to drain water from shower
• There is a mop in the bathroom, but it is not requires replacement — it's not effective
• Insufficient counter or desktop space. The rooms have lots of space but only small 2-person table inside. There’s plenty of room for a small couch or chair to make room more comfortable
• Limited privacy if someone occupies an adjacent room. Soundproofing is limited. And there’s little privacy between unit panels on the veranda
• Old style TV
• No setup for hanging clothes to dry—i.e. rack or clothespins
• No place to hang longer items to dry— i.e. shirts, skirts, etc.
• No suitcase stands for travelers

Travelers note: This place advertises on the Internet that it accepts credit cards. We paid for the first two weeks with a card. Afterward, the owner informed us he had sent away his machine and was awaiting a new machine. We ended up paying cash for our remaining days. We find this "unavailability" of a credit card point of sale terminals to be a fairly common practice with Greek businesses. We mention this because if paying by credit card matters to you, check with the business in advance and get an affirmative statement about the availability of their point of sale terminal before obtaining services.

Room Tip: This is a 19-room hotel. All rooms are water facing.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoverTreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Stayed here on a whim for 1 night when visiting Glossa - we liked it so much that we booked in! absolutely stunning views and a really lovely owner. The room was large with a small kitchen area. The beds were hard as we found with other hotel beds in Skopelos! Balcony was a great size with comfortable chairs and a table.

The bathroom was the only thing that let the room down - the shower was tiny with no curtain and was handheld, so the toilet and floor ended up soaking wet by the time you'd finished and needed mopping (that explained why there was a mop and bucket in there!!).

160 steps will take you down to sea level where you will find restaurants and the village centre. We didn't attempt to walk via the road, assuming the steps would be safer. Well worth a stay and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JMHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

The hotel is quiet, clean,safe, beautiful view from the balcony with nice stuff. We got all necessary info and also some nice chatts with the stuff. If you are loking for a quiet place to relax we higly rekommend Selenunda.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heléne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015

We arrived late on the Flying Cat into Loutraki and took a taxi to the hotel. The owners were waiting for us when we arrived, which was really nice.

Even though we had reserved a family room, they brought in a cot when they saw that my kids were teens, which was really thoughtful.

The family room was spacious with a bedroom and a double size bed in another room. There was also a small kitchenette. The rooms were clean and well-kept. Pride of ownership can be seen in this hotel.

Because we had arrived around 10 p.m., it was dark. Our first view of the turquoise waters of Skopelos were from our wonderful balcony in the morning!

Our rental car was delivered to the hotel and we had breakfast in restaurant just below the hotel. I think we could have walked to it. (Next time!)

Had I known how lovely this hotel was, I would have planned to stay longer. Next time...

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skopelosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews