We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty fish and chips!”

Traditional English Fish & Chips
Ranked #14 of 59 Restaurants in Whitefield
Price range: US$1 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Description: Traditional English Fish & Chip shop Eat in or Takeaway Available Open Monday-Wednesday 11:30am - 18:30pm Open Thursday & Friday 11.30am - 19.30pm Open Saturday 11:30am-18.30pm Sunday CLOSED Telephone orders welcome Please Call 0161 425 1773 10-15 MINUTES FROM THE CITY CENTRE SAT NAV LOCATION _ M45 6AL DIRECTIONS BY PUBLIC TRANSPORT TRAM: Bury Tram - Get off at Besses O'Th Barn down the steps take a right passed the Mercedes garage up to the major set of traffic lights bare right and it's on the Precinct on the right hand side Traditional English Fish & Chips BUS: 135 Bury get off on Bury New Road opposite the Beehive Pub
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Been a few times now and the lady that serves is lovely!

The fish and chips are always yummy and well cooked! Very nice mushy peas!

Yummy!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank MarieMullany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

This is a new looking chippy but old style.
The food is very well cooked so it's fresh they have the best gravy around they also sell rag puddings
They cook there chips in beef dripping the fish in vegetable oil the chips taste so good

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank htoninbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

I have been here twice in the last 2 weeks .
The first time I just bought a portion of chips to try them out , as I had not been here before . Well as I walked up the road eating away I was hugely impressed with the quality and quantity.
So a week later I returned and had steak pie and chips , stunning is how I will describe it. Good quality good quantity.
They do a huge selection of home made pies of which I have not tried as of yet .
I will. E using this place on regular from now on .

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Revertex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

The choice of food in Whitefield increases by the week, but sometimes there's nothing better than good old chippy dinner, and it doesn't get any better than this. Fish is served in a box, so its not stuck to paper when you get home, chips are perfect, they do english AND chinese curry sauce, they even do rag puddings! Would thoroughly recommend

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Paul mcr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

The chips were alright but tasted funny, I think they might be cooked in animal fat if I knew this beforehand I wouldn't have eaten from here I finished my chips feeling like I'd be swilling beef fat in my mouth, not a nice thing.

If you're going to serve me non-vegetarian chips then please tell me first and give my the opportunity to walk away

Date of visit: March 2017
2  Thank VeganReviewer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Traditional English Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Traditional English Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing