We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book or be prepared to wait... ”
Review of Slattery's

Slattery's
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Slattery's The mouth watering business John Slattery and his family have created is the only one of its kind in the country and attracts visitors from far and wide. Dubbed "That Wicked shop in Whitefield" Slattery creates bespoke wedding and celebration cakes, handmade Belgian chocolates, gateaux, desserts and chocolate gifts and hampers. The three storey Victorian building that is home to Slattery Patissier and Chocolatier features a ground floor wedding cake showroom and large retail shop. You can also watch the chocolatiers at work, making a wide range of different styles of chocolates. We are specialists in creating chocolate wedding cakes and also offer traditional styles and more contemporary designs. Your own ideas and features can be incorporated to ensure that we create a cake that perfectly suits your special day. Masons Dining Room Situated on the first floor of the building, the Masons Dining Room is our elegant air-conditioned 140 seat dining room. Serving breakfast, lunches, afternoon teas, snacks and cakes this is the perfect place to relax and unwind. House specialities include Lancashire Afternoon Tea, homemade Welsh Rarebit and delicious hot chocolates made with real liquid Belgian chocolate. Are you a chocoholic? Then why not take the famous "Slattery Chocolate Challenge"? A large piece of hot chocolate fudge cake, two chocolate pots filled with liquid chocolate, a portion ice-cream and a portion of fresh cream and a generous helping of chocolate sauce. This is all served with a glass of hot chocolate. If you manage to eat all this (without the help of your friends!) You will receive a chocolate medal and a 100g box of handmade chocolates! School of Excellence - International food skills The Slattery School of Excellence is a purpose built teaching facility situated on the second floor of our building, offering both practical and demonstration courses to suit people of all abilities and skill levels. Many different areas of chocolate work and sugar craft are covered by the courses, some of the titles include: Essential skills for working with chocolate. Chocolate Artisan Course. Chocolate Wedding and Celebration Cakes. Advanced Chocolate Wedding Cakes. Easy to make Chocolate. Chocolate Desserts and Individual Cakes. Chocolate Workshop Half Day Course. Sugar Paste Modelling. Human Figure Modelling Advanced Human Figures. On-line Store Can't make it to us for a visit? We also have an on-line shop filled with a range of our goods; including hampers, chocolates and gift vouchers. All shipped to you by courier.
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

as Slattery’s is very popular. First visit despite being 15 mins away from my home. Tiny car park but we were very lucky that a large party of ladies left when we arrived.
Hadn’t been able to book online the same day so took a chance but they said they could fit the 3 of us in within 45-60 mins. So with a pager in hand we took the time to look around the shop downstairs which is amazing. Seating area upstairs while waiting as well
Called at around 60 minutes and seated. Great menu we were spoilt for choice but we had bread and dips to start. Followed by specialty sandwiches and potato wedges. Great service. Food was really good.
Couldn’t fit a cake in but did buy some downstairs (cheaper) to take home and they were delicious
Would definitely recommend

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank ManchesterLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at Slattery's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Slattery, I am glad to read you enjoyed your first visit to us, and found the food and service in the dining room great. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2018

OMG - Took my Grandson...he was so overcome at the sight of so much chocolate that he almost cried.
Had to park w-a-y away and the place ain't cheap but the amount I spent was my own fault, as was the sickly feeling that I had for the next 24 hours...promised him we'll go again - and I mean it !

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Poucant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at Slattery's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Slattery, I am glad to hear you and your grandson enjoyed your visit to us. We hope you bring him back to see us again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely food & drink, I love the chocolate fondue and the white hot chocolate. We also left with a box of the seasonal mince pies and they were brilliant!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank LauraAnnBury_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at Slattery's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Slattery, it is lovely to read you enjoyed your visit to us. We hope to welcome you back for another visit soon.
Kind Regards,
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Received a gift of a Lancashire high tea at Slatterys. Heard rave reviews from family and friends. Staff were excellent. Food was OK if not expensive for what it was. (saying that the high teas were a comparable price to others) the major issue is parking... it's a nightmare. Puts me off going again as it wasn't "that special" Apparently it's the councils fault. But the car park is only big enough for by far. Only room for approx 20 cars. Cars queuing to get on double parked cars. Not good..... over all experience not worth the hype or hassle.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at Slattery's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you taking the time to write a review for Slattery, I am sorry to hear our parking issue dampened your visit to us. We are fully aware the car park is not big enough and we have tried over the years to rectify this. We have had numerous planning applications, bids for land etc. all declined. We are again in talks for further space to increase the car parking, and I can assure you we are trying our best to resolve the matter.
We do hope you visit us again in the future, and you see an improvement in the issue.
Kind Regards,
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Went with a friend for afternoon tea!!! What a fantastic place,the shop downstairs is full of cakes,desserts,,sweets and much more,a treasure trove of lovely goodies!! The restaurant is upstairs and has a lovely atmosphere. The staff are attentive and polite. The afternoon tea was delicious and chocolatey. Just one downside,the car park is small and I had to wait for a space!!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at Slattery's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Slattery, it is lovely to read you found your visit to us fantastic and had a lovely atmosphere. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slattery's also viewed

 
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Slattery's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing