We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really nice, very comfortable and peaceful.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yr Olaf

Yr Olaf balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yr Olaf balcony
September sunset Yr Olaf Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Yr Olaf balcony
September sunset Yr Olaf
Lounge
lounge
kitchen
Bedroom 1
bedroom 2
Shower-room
Yr Olaf Front elevation
February sunset Rola beach
Lobster catching at low tide Rola
Llwyngwril village
Cader Idris is snow
Barmouth harbour with Cader Idris backdrop
Mawddach Estuary at dawn
Mountain top
Estuary abstract
Old mine workings at Friog
Barmouth looking to Fairbourne and LLwyngwril
Train passing along estuary
Standing stones above Llwyngwril
Cader Idris panorama near Llwyngwril
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llwyngwril, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Djm170
1 review
“Really nice, very comfortable and peaceful.”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Quiet, warm nicely furnished and lit. Enclosed garden for dog, beach was amazing, just as it said on the packet! Thanks

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safi9201
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location, Great House, Wonderful Time!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from Yr Olaf, we got just what we needed, relaxation in a lovely cosy cottage. The cottage is contemporary style with the living area upstairs, this enables you to enjoy the sea views from the decking area. It was cold but nice enough to sit outside in the evenings and take in the peace and tranquillity that this lovely spot gives you. Lots of land around the cottages to relax in. The house was warm, clean and cosy, it was well stocked with utensils. Just seen the previous review, not sure they stayed at the same cottage!! We will definitely try to book again in the summer as lots of comments in visitor book mentioning dolphin and seals being spotted in the sea from the gardens.
Walk to beach is steep at points, not for all but we managed it ok with our dog, we walked to the village which took about 25mins. We went off on various walks each day, Tywyn is a 10 minute drive with shops, and a local co op to stock up on food.
In summary, a fabulous location, a great house, and a wonderful time spent at Yr Olaf.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House & Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pete f
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful and tranquil ...”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Yr Olaf was as described, so no argument there. Secluded, private and almost completely shut off from the outside world. No shops/restaurants in walking distance (the description makes that clear) and some beautiful sea views from the private patio. Downsides – no internet access, which induced withdrawal symptoms for the author, no mobile service and an interesting entrance/exit route from the main road. If you like seclusion - book this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Driveway to main road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila747
Wokingham
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 7 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from Yr Olaf and were delighted with the cottage. The views are stunning and the cottage itself is well appointed and very comfortable. My partner fished off the private beach and on the last night the sunset was amazing. Unfortunately I had a flu bug whilst we were there but it was like home from home because the cottage was lovely and warm and cosy, the beds were comfy and a great shower. We had a problem with the cooker but we bought a slow cooker which the owner reimbursed us for so we were able to have some great meals. Because I was unwell we did not go out of an evening but each day we went out and enjoyed the beautiful scenery in the area. Would recommend the rail journey from Tywyn to Portmadoc which follows the coast all the way. We would go back because a week is not long enough to see the whole area and would stay at the cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the view
Liked least: The pathway to the beach was difficult
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing