We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed a good clean...”
Review of VR Takapuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VR Takapuna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This would of been a nice hotel a few years ago I suspect.. It still could be if they kept the place clean and maintained. Our room had a cracked and loose toilet seat, mould in most of the shower and the carpets, wall and windows looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a looong time. For the money it was not worth it. It was the worst place we stayed on our NZ trip...

Room Tip: Avoid the breakfast (even if it is free..) and restaurant - not real flash..., lots of good food opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Frank846,

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with department heads and follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property. As I am unable to tell from TripAdvisor which room number you stayed in, I would be grateful if you could email me your booking details on ato.dutymanager@vrhotels.co.nz

On behalf of the team and myself, we are looking forward to welcome you in future travel to rectify your experience.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a business trip. We were pleasantly surprised at the apartments which were a good size and well equiped. Firstly, it pays to have a car to get to this place unless you are wanting to take a ferry ride from the city. Parking is okay but could get quite tight if coming in late. The rooms are adequate although our room had a stain on the carpet and marks on the walls but overall clean and tidy. The bonus was having a washing machine but I found it hard to work despite the instructions. Also same for the heat pump but there were two wall hung heaters which worked just as well. One down side we found was that there was no TV in the bedroom. Breakfast was very average but free and the free ferry ride to town was good although a bit of a hassle to organise the voucher at reception and at the terminal.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view it is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wardclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear wardclark,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and understand what our apartments have to offer rather than traditional hotel rooms. We are a 5 star hotel and do not represent ourselves to be any different.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

An early checkin was arranged with no problems. On arrival, reception was helpful and the foyer was well presented. My room was a little tired. But the size of my room, and the view across the harbour made up for this.
i had a room on an upper floor at the end of the building and it was quiet. It had a small balcony which was nice to open a door for fresh air, but all the balcony's looked inwards to each other so not so private.
The positives was the size of the room, with a separate bedroom, huge lounge and kitchen and it was quiet.
The negatives were stains on the carpet, no coffee maker for the coffee supplied, and limited parking.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank juliem1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Juliem1962,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay. We were delighted to note that, you have enjoyed your stay with us and room facilities that we have available to our guests.

We were also pleased to know that, you took an advantage of our extra ordinary view from your room. The hotel definitely has a great vantage point in which to relax & enjoy the harbour views in your free time.

Thank you once again for constructive feedback. I will discuss your concern with our Housekeeping Manager about the standard of the room, so we can do the best in future.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We have now stayed there twice. Excellent Service, everyone has gone out of their way to help us with any of our requests. Each room has a separate bedroom and lounge. Well cleaned. Great staff. Simple Continental Breakfast which is included. Cereals, fruits, meats, toast, pastries and muffins. Juice and tea and coffee. You can get an assortment of cooked breakfast options for a very reasonable price. There is no charge for evening meal room service. The views are fantastic.
It is an older property but still in good condition, some things might need to start be being upgraded but that's OK it. If you let them know if something is broken or needs replacing then they can have it fixed for you and the next customer. If they don't know they can't fix it. We have found it to be very quiet and reasonably priced. We don't need to stay anywhere else when we are in the Northshore.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Sharon H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay and we are delighted we were able to create such a positive experience for you this time abound. It’s a genuine priority for us that we provide comfortable and enjoyable stay at all times, and we are pleased that we had another opportunity to create better memories for you.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We booked a night in a 'two bedroom suite with harbour views' as an escape from our home renos. We would have been better off remaining on our building site.

The living room sofa seat was broken and had to be swapped out for a marginally more serviceable one to allow us to sit and watch TV. Stains on the carpets were evident both in the hallway of our floor and in our rooms. A water leak through the ceiling had caused a large paint bubble. The loud drone of the air ventilators directly above us made for a noisy and sleepless night and the aging mattress on our bed didn’t help.

The next morning we were looking forward to the breakfast on offer as part of the package. On entering the breakfast room we were disappointed to find the bare minimum which looked so unappealing that we checked out and went to a lovely restaurant in Devonport where we had amazing pancakes which saved the day for us.

It appeared to us like this establishment was in a state of neglect and badly in need of refurbishing. For the price of the package we expected a higher standard of accommodation, eg. we could have stayed at the Sofitel for not much more. Staff appeared to be doing the absolute minimum necessary and conveyed an air of disconnect with the customer.

Room Tip: Overpiced. This establishment has potential due to location and outlook but I would avoid until serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoaringGreenTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear SoaringGreenTurtle,

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay at VR Takapuna. We are so sorry to hear about your recent unsatisfactory stay at VR Takapuna Hotel. What you encountered was far below our standards and should have been rectified with a phone call to our reception. Our Reception staff would be happy to change your room as per your requirements. It is very disappointing to read that, the breakfast was not top notch.

At VR Takapuna, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayswater
2.8 km away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
3.1 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
242 reviews
3.5 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,390 reviews
3.7 km away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
125 reviews
3.3 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Takapuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Takapuna

Address: 1 Beresford Street, Bayswater, Auckland 0622, New Zealand (Formerly Auckland Takapuna Oaks)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Bayswater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Price Range: RM514 - RM1,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Takapuna 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5 Star luxury by the sea in the newest Takapuna Hotel accommodation site. Situated oceanside between Takapuna and Bayswater, this new, fully serviced, boutique apartment hotel will exceed all your expectations. Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers fully self-contained 1 and 2-bedroom luxury apartments, just 10 minutes by complimentary ferry from Auckland City Center / VIADUCT HARBOUR. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property as well as continental breakfast per person. Lounge access with stunning views across Auckland Harbour is its true unique factor. All guests have complimentary gym usage and a Shuttle Service - to and from the Bayswater Ferry Terminal. Our property is truly something special in Auckland.Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers unique, spacious conference facilities. Offering flexibility and a range of accommodation and catering options to make your next event stand out from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Takapuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel Bayswater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing