We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Esplanade Hotel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Devonport Motel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Spencer on Byron Hotel(Takapuna)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$86
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$158
US$150
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anzac Court Motel(Takapuna)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beresford B&B(Bayswater)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveller rating
322
195
80
38
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
195
80
38
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsauckland citynorth shoreferry servicewashing machineferry rideharbour bridgecontinental breakfast was includedseparate bedroomshort drivequiet locationcooked breakfastfull kitchennew zealandharbour view roomthe ground floorliving areaspacious room
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 655 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a business trip. We were pleasantly surprised at the apartments which were a good size and well equiped. Firstly, it pays to have a car to get to this place unless you are wanting to take a ferry ride from the city. Parking is okay but could get quite tight if coming in late. The rooms are adequate although our room had a stain on the carpet and marks on the walls but overall clean and tidy. The bonus was having a washing machine but I found it hard to work despite the instructions. Also same for the heat pump but there were two wall hung heaters which worked just as well. One down side we found was that there was no TV in the bedroom. Breakfast was very average but free and the free ferry ride to town was good although a bit of a hassle to organise the voucher at reception and at the terminal.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view it is spectacular!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wardclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear wardclark,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and understand what our apartments have to offer rather than traditional hotel rooms. We are a 5 star hotel and do not represent ourselves to be any different.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

An early checkin was arranged with no problems. On arrival, reception was helpful and the foyer was well presented. My room was a little tired. But the size of my room, and the view across the harbour made up for this.
i had a room on an upper floor at the end of the building and it was quiet. It had a small balcony which was nice to open a door for fresh air, but all the balcony's looked inwards to each other so not so private.
The positives was the size of the room, with a separate bedroom, huge lounge and kitchen and it was quiet.
The negatives were stains on the carpet, no coffee maker for the coffee supplied, and limited parking.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank juliem1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Juliem1962,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay. We were delighted to note that, you have enjoyed your stay with us and room facilities that we have available to our guests.

We were also pleased to know that, you took an advantage of our extra ordinary view from your room. The hotel definitely has a great vantage point in which to relax & enjoy the harbour views in your free time.

Thank you once again for constructive feedback. I will discuss your concern with our Housekeeping Manager about the standard of the room, so we can do the best in future.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We have now stayed there twice. Excellent Service, everyone has gone out of their way to help us with any of our requests. Each room has a separate bedroom and lounge. Well cleaned. Great staff. Simple Continental Breakfast which is included. Cereals, fruits, meats, toast, pastries and muffins. Juice and tea and coffee. You can get an assortment of cooked breakfast options for a very reasonable price. There is no charge for evening meal room service. The views are fantastic.
It is an older property but still in good condition, some things might need to start be being upgraded but that's OK it. If you let them know if something is broken or needs replacing then they can have it fixed for you and the next customer. If they don't know they can't fix it. We have found it to be very quiet and reasonably priced. We don't need to stay anywhere else when we are in the Northshore.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Sharon H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay and we are delighted we were able to create such a positive experience for you this time abound. It’s a genuine priority for us that we provide comfortable and enjoyable stay at all times, and we are pleased that we had another opportunity to create better memories for you.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We booked a night in a 'two bedroom suite with harbour views' as an escape from our home renos. We would have been better off remaining on our building site.

The living room sofa seat was broken and had to be swapped out for a marginally more serviceable one to allow us to sit and watch TV. Stains on the carpets were evident both in the hallway of our floor and in our rooms. A water leak through the ceiling had caused a large paint bubble. The loud drone of the air ventilators directly above us made for a noisy and sleepless night and the aging mattress on our bed didn’t help.

The next morning we were looking forward to the breakfast on offer as part of the package. On entering the breakfast room we were disappointed to find the bare minimum which looked so unappealing that we checked out and went to a lovely restaurant in Devonport where we had amazing pancakes which saved the day for us.

It appeared to us like this establishment was in a state of neglect and badly in need of refurbishing. For the price of the package we expected a higher standard of accommodation, eg. we could have stayed at the Sofitel for not much more. Staff appeared to be doing the absolute minimum necessary and conveyed an air of disconnect with the customer.

Room Tip: Overpiced. This establishment has potential due to location and outlook but I would avoid until service and facilities improve.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoaringGreenTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear SoaringGreenTurtle,

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay at VR Takapuna. We are so sorry to hear about your recent unsatisfactory stay at VR Takapuna Hotel. What you encountered was far below our standards and should have been rectified with a phone call to our reception. Our Reception staff would be happy to change your room as per your requirements. It is very disappointing to read that, the breakfast was not top notch.

At VR Takapuna, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the harbour and harbour bridge. We had everything we needed for our stay.
The only problem we had was that the bathroom was through the main bedroom and as we were from three different families it was most inconvenient. I did mention this to the staff on the desk who said nothing could be done.
Secondly,we were disappointed with breakfast, only instant coffee. We offered to pay extra for real coffee but it was not available. Also, the only choice of bread was white and we would have liked some croissants or pastries.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Win S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Win S,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at VR Takapuna.

We are glad that; you took an advantage of lovely room with a fantastic view of Harbour.
We appreciate your comment, and disappointed to read that our breakfast did not meet your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with the department head, so we can do the best in future.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback and I do hope we are able to welcome you back in the future to rectify your experience.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews