We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Suitable for Wheelchairs”
Review of VR Takapuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VR Takapuna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel advertises as being wheelchair accessible. It even states that it has thge ultimate requirement of a roll in shower.

As a precaution, before arriving, we even phoned to confirm that the room would be suitable and that we would be arriving late.

So, we arrived as planned after 1am but no sign of any staff. We rang the doorbell several times but no response...We then spotted a number on the desk which we rang. After a total of 20 mins a staff member appeared who let us in.

The room did have a roll in shower but a glass screen had been installed which made it inaccessible coupled with no shower chair disqualified the room completely.

The next day we were moved to another room which had a shower chair which was too low and another glass screen making access to the shower impossible.

Also, the disabled parking spot outside was paved with rough pavers making it very difficult to navigate.

In summary, this venue is simply not wheelchair compliant...avoid.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Alan M,

Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to read that, we did not meet your expectations in relates to the room category and size. Generally, our wheelchair service apartments are more specious (as per other online reviews) compared to other 5-star properties in Auckland.

Please accept our sincere apology again for the inconvenience you faced during your stay. As I am unable to tell from TripAdvisor which room number you stayed in, I would be grateful if you could email me your booking details on ato.dutymanager@vrhotels.co.nz

We would love the opportunity to find out more details about your experience, we take feedback very seriously and if something is not quite right we aim to address it immediately.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Property pretty aged but mostly clean (if a little overpriced for what you get). Lounge uncomfortable and single bed barely usable. Main bed comfortable though. Dinner was pretty good, but location was on a different floor to the kitchen, so Dining Manager had to walk to the kitchen 2 levels down and walk back with the food. The location was excellent for our purposes. I'm sure that when the property was built, it would have been great. Now it's just average.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iancT4518RP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear iancT4518RP,


Thank you for again staying with us at Auckland Takapuna Oaks hotel and for taking the time to give us feedback on your latest stay.

We were delighted to read that you like beautiful location & enjoyed our delicious food at our restaurant with outstanding view.

We have shared your feedback that you have provided about the Room facilities. While our pricing is in line with a majority of hotels, we will absolutely address the offering and apologies that it was not up to your, or our, standard on this occasion. We do have different room categories with different price level. I have passed your comment to the relevant department heads to ensure these areas are considered further and resolved to ensure the satisfaction of our guests when they stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again in near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The positioning of this hotel is amazing with fantastic views across the harbour to Auckland CBD. To appreciate this hotel make sure you get a room with a view and have an evening meal in their restaurant. Rooms with a view are quite expensive. Our room was large and fully equipped. It was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful. It appears the hotel needs to hire a grounds person as the grounds let the hotel's appearance down. Great walks down and around the Bayswater marina. Happy to go again but probably will end up going somewhere more in central Takapuna the next time we escape to Auckland for a night away.

Room Tip: Go for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Lance N,

Thank you for choosing to stay with VR Takapuna & review us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to hear you had enjoyable stay with us and our team made you feel comfortable during your stay. This makes very happy to hear that; you took an advantage of lovely room with a fantastic view & you have had a wonderful time here. Your feedback will be shared with the team and department head.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This would of been a nice hotel a few years ago I suspect.. It still could be if they kept the place clean and maintained. Our room had a cracked and loose toilet seat, mould in most of the shower and the carpets, wall and windows looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a looong time. For the money it was not worth it. It was the worst place we stayed on our NZ trip...

Room Tip: Avoid the breakfast (even if it is free..) and restaurant - not real flash..., lots of good food opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Frank846,

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with department heads and follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property. As I am unable to tell from TripAdvisor which room number you stayed in, I would be grateful if you could email me your booking details on ato.dutymanager@vrhotels.co.nz

On behalf of the team and myself, we are looking forward to welcome you in future travel to rectify your experience.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a business trip. We were pleasantly surprised at the apartments which were a good size and well equiped. Firstly, it pays to have a car to get to this place unless you are wanting to take a ferry ride from the city. Parking is okay but could get quite tight if coming in late. The rooms are adequate although our room had a stain on the carpet and marks on the walls but overall clean and tidy. The bonus was having a washing machine but I found it hard to work despite the instructions. Also same for the heat pump but there were two wall hung heaters which worked just as well. One down side we found was that there was no TV in the bedroom. Breakfast was very average but free and the free ferry ride to town was good although a bit of a hassle to organise the voucher at reception and at the terminal.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view it is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wardclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear wardclark,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and understand what our apartments have to offer rather than traditional hotel rooms. We are a 5 star hotel and do not represent ourselves to be any different.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayswater
2.8 km away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
3.1 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
242 reviews
3.5 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,396 reviews
3.7 km away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
125 reviews
3.3 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Takapuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Takapuna

Address: 1 Beresford Street, Bayswater, Auckland 0622, New Zealand (Formerly Auckland Takapuna Oaks)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Bayswater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Price Range: RM511 - RM1,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Takapuna 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5 Star luxury by the sea in the newest Takapuna Hotel accommodation site. Situated oceanside between Takapuna and Bayswater, this new, fully serviced, boutique apartment hotel will exceed all your expectations. Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers fully self-contained 1 and 2-bedroom luxury apartments, just 10 minutes by complimentary ferry from Auckland City Center / VIADUCT HARBOUR. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property as well as continental breakfast per person. Lounge access with stunning views across Auckland Harbour is its true unique factor. All guests have complimentary gym usage and a Shuttle Service - to and from the Bayswater Ferry Terminal. Our property is truly something special in Auckland.Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers unique, spacious conference facilities. Offering flexibility and a range of accommodation and catering options to make your next event stand out from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Takapuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel Bayswater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing