We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beresford B&B(Bayswater)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Esplanade Hotel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Devonport Motel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Spencer on Byron Hotel(Takapuna)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
Book now, pay at stay
US$177
US$155
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anzac Court Motel(Takapuna)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$97
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (651)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveller rating
321
194
78
38
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
194
78
38
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry ticketsauckland citynorth shoreferry servicewashing machineharbour bridgecontinental breakfast was includedseparate bedroomshort drivequiet locationcooked breakfastnew zealandfull kitchenthe ground floorliving areayogurtspacious room
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 651 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Property pretty aged but mostly clean (if a little overpriced for what you get). Lounge uncomfortable and single bed barely usable. Main bed comfortable though. Dinner was pretty good, but location was on a different floor to the kitchen, so Dining Manager had to walk to the kitchen 2 levels down and walk back with the food. The location was excellent for our purposes. I'm sure that when the property was built, it would have been great. Now it's just average.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iancT4518RP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear iancT4518RP,


Thank you for again staying with us at Auckland Takapuna Oaks hotel and for taking the time to give us feedback on your latest stay.

We were delighted to read that you like beautiful location & enjoyed our delicious food at our restaurant with outstanding view.

We have shared your feedback that you have provided about the Room facilities. While our pricing is in line with a majority of hotels, we will absolutely address the offering and apologies that it was not up to your, or our, standard on this occasion. We do have different room categories with different price level. I have passed your comment to the relevant department heads to ensure these areas are considered further and resolved to ensure the satisfaction of our guests when they stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again in near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The positioning of this hotel is amazing with fantastic views across the harbour to Auckland CBD. To appreciate this hotel make sure you get a room with a view and have an evening meal in their restaurant. Rooms with a view are quite expensive. Our room was large and fully equipped. It was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful. It appears the hotel needs to hire a grounds person as the grounds let the hotel's appearance down. Great walks down and around the Bayswater marina. Happy to go again but probably will end up going somewhere more in central Takapuna the next time we escape to Auckland for a night away.

Room Tip: Go for views
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear Lance N,

Thank you for choosing to stay with VR Takapuna & review us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to hear you had enjoyable stay with us and our team made you feel comfortable during your stay. This makes very happy to hear that; you took an advantage of lovely room with a fantastic view & you have had a wonderful time here. Your feedback will be shared with the team and department head.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This would of been a nice hotel a few years ago I suspect.. It still could be if they kept the place clean and maintained. Our room had a cracked and loose toilet seat, mould in most of the shower and the carpets, wall and windows looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a looong time. For the money it was not worth it. It was the worst place we stayed on our NZ trip...

Room Tip: Avoid the breakfast (even if it is free..) and restaurant - not real flash..., lots of good food options close by.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Frank846,

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with department heads and follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property. As I am unable to tell from TripAdvisor which room number you stayed in, I would be grateful if you could email me your booking details on ato.dutymanager@vrhotels.co.nz

On behalf of the team and myself, we are looking forward to welcome you in future travel to rectify your experience.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a business trip. We were pleasantly surprised at the apartments which were a good size and well equiped. Firstly, it pays to have a car to get to this place unless you are wanting to take a ferry ride from the city. Parking is okay but could get quite tight if coming in late. The rooms are adequate although our room had a stain on the carpet and marks on the walls but overall clean and tidy. The bonus was having a washing machine but I found it hard to work despite the instructions. Also same for the heat pump but there were two wall hung heaters which worked just as well. One down side we found was that there was no TV in the bedroom. Breakfast was very average but free and the free ferry ride to town was good although a bit of a hassle to organise the voucher at reception and at the terminal.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view it is spectacular!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wardclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear wardclark,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and understand what our apartments have to offer rather than traditional hotel rooms. We are a 5 star hotel and do not represent ourselves to be any different.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

An early checkin was arranged with no problems. On arrival, reception was helpful and the foyer was well presented. My room was a little tired. But the size of my room, and the view across the harbour made up for this.
i had a room on an upper floor at the end of the building and it was quiet. It had a small balcony which was nice to open a door for fresh air, but all the balcony's looked inwards to each other so not so private.
The positives was the size of the room, with a separate bedroom, huge lounge and kitchen and it was quiet.
The negatives were stains on the carpet, no coffee maker for the coffee supplied, and limited parking.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank juliem1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Juliem1962,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay. We were delighted to note that, you have enjoyed your stay with us and room facilities that we have available to our guests.

We were also pleased to know that, you took an advantage of our extra ordinary view from your room. The hotel definitely has a great vantage point in which to relax & enjoy the harbour views in your free time.

Thank you once again for constructive feedback. I will discuss your concern with our Housekeeping Manager about the standard of the room, so we can do the best in future.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews