We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well organized place, clean and lovely”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Piggery

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
South Cheriton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ILikeQual...
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well organized place, clean and lovely”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What a nice small house in a great setting. Located in the former piggery is this beautiful house. Good set of instructions can be found, fresh flowers awaiting the guests and it all gives you the impression the owners take good care of the place. Even magazines, books and maps are available. Very quiet place, ideal for people that are looking for a quality location without disturbances and a fine location to serve as a home base exploring the countryside; Chapeau!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, quiet, complete.
Liked least: Location difficult to find with navigation systems
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Thank you and we hope you will come back and stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia...
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage, well equipped, planning our next trip already!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Upon arrival the owner greeted us, very friendly and welcoming.
The cottage is nice and clean, spacious enough for the four of us to stay comfortably.
We were impressed with how well equipped the place is; things like cling film, toilet rolls, towels, salt and pepper, cleaning products are all provided.
If I had to find a fault, the television is very small, but with such beautiful surroundings we didn't use it much anyway.
The double bed was very hard and gave myself and my partner back ache each morning, but this is probably due to us not being used to such a firm mattress, maybe a soft mattress topper is an option?
On the whole, this was a beautiful place to stay, with no real grumbles to be had.

The surrounding areas were picturesque, lots to do, but most things to do come at a price.
Definitely a place for relaxation; be prepared to ditch the technology for your stay as poor network coverage, but that's part of the beauty of staying in this location.

My family and I have left feeling happy and relaxed, couldn't have asked for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy living area with original beams
Liked least: uncomfortable bed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Thank you for some very constructive comments. You will be pleased to hear that we are planning to replace the mattress, and look forward to welcoming you back again. Many thanks, Helena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tezm0nd
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightfully Surprised”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My friends and myself rented this property together to attend a wedding at Gants Mill in Bruton, upon arrival (postcode alone brought us straight to the front door) we were a little early and so headed for lunch at a pub an easy walk from the property.
Once we made our way inside the Piggery we found it to be well appointed including plenty of wine glasses and a full compliment of paraphernalia in the kitchen, the shower was powerful and the property has a very comfortable feel.
If I find cause to stay in the Wincanton area again I will definitely check the availability of this property!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great range of kitchen equipment!
Liked least: only one shower, not a big deal but 4 adults after a wedding need all the help they can get!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Dear Tez,

Thank you so much for a lovely review, and we very much hope that you will come back and stay again!
Best wishes,

Helena
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEW24
Portsmouth united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely converted piggery, set in the middle of beautiful countryside but walking distance to a pub. The cottage was lovely and had everything we needed.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolad67...
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights in October, accommodation is well furnished to a very high standard and very comfortable. Very helpful owner. Is in a quite location, walking distance to local pub that serves food. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality comfortable accommodation
Liked least: No wifi, though was refreshing to be away from the internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing