We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave the World Behind”
Review of TonKong GuestHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TonKong GuestHouse
Ranked #29 of 46 Chiang Khan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2013

From the Tonkhong Guesthouse one gets a ringside view of the Mekong as it flows lazily downstream. In the distance are the green hills and dense foliage of the Lao PDR. Unlike in Thailand, the forests, or what’s left of them there appear so unkempt and haphazard.

The balcony on the first floor is an ideal spot to read a book, doze in the afternoon heat or just let your thoughts drift with the boats that go past. As the evening comes, the promenade along the river, or the terrace of the guesthouse, are ideal for watching the sun go down in the distance. Come nightfall the silence is something to be experienced.

The guesthouse is very clean and the owners are incredibly friendly, and a storehouse of local information.

Don’t miss the early morning breakfast with the mist over the water still to lift, or the procession of monks going by as they collect alms from the faithful.

The rooms are adequate but comfortable. The beds could be rearranged to optimize space.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the Mekong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WowLao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

There are Kindly steps and clean room. I stayed river view room 6nights with my friend. Location is a little far main street but temple is near.You want to see "takbat ". It's easy. Especially Viewing River sunset at the top floor is very beautiful. I missed this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALICECHRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Tonkong Guesthouse stays the only real backpackhaunt in Chiang Khan. It stays the best place to meet fellow travellers. Next to that the food is most excellent (never trust a skinny cook they say ...)

Room Tip: Weekday discounts might be available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaBuyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this very clean guesthouse. When we came everybody was a bit sleepy because it was siesta-time. Grandmother was at the entrance and showed me a nice room on the second floor with airco, fan and a big bathroom with hot water. When I lookedd out of the window I saw the Mekong. There was also a TV ( not so interesting for us)
The room has not much furniture, but still looks nice because of the decoration on the wall and the spotless bed and curtains. There are two quilts on the double bed, which you need because airco is very cold. The bed is not soft for those who prefer that.We sleep everywhere.
The room was 800 bht incl breakfast.
We asked for local breakfast instead what was on the menu and that was no problem.
And then the tasty food we had!
A lot of vegetarian local dishes with tofu. If you dont like spicy you have to point it clearly because what they call not so spicy is very hot for Western people. I like it though.
In the weekend it is very crowded in Chiang Khan, so also more noisy on the steets. When you come without booking better not in the weekend. If you like the good rooms, there are also cheaper ones sharing bathrooms.
Dinner etc is served on a cool terrace on the riverside. And next to our room was a big public terrace with seats and a sunbed and even a fan!
Wifi in the room was reasonable fast, comparing to other lodgings.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
13  Thank TorretjedeCorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Baronhamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Khan hotels
18.3 km away
Capsule Hostel Chiangkhan
Capsule Hostel Chiangkhan
#10 of 54 in Chiang Khan
6 reviews
0.0 km away
JJ at Chiangkhan
JJ at Chiangkhan
#3 of 54 in Chiang Khan
1 reviews
18.1 km away
Husband & Wife Guesthouse
Husband & Wife Guesthouse
#2 of 46 in Chiang Khan
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
House Navy
House Navy
#19 of 46 in Chiang Khan
3 reviews
0.0 km away
The Royal Chiangkhan Boutique Hotel
18.1 km away
Poonsawasdi Hotel
Poonsawasdi Hotel
#4 of 46 in Chiang Khan
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TonKong GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TonKong GuestHouse

Address: 61/1 Soi 3-4, Chaykong Road, Chiang Khan 42110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Loei Province > Chiang Khan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Khan
Price Range: RM66 - RM174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TonKong GuestHouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your TonKong GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing