We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for my 50th birthday celebration!”
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall
Kitchen
The drawing room
Kingfisher Bedroom
Otter bedroom
Sitting room
One of the bathrooms
The den
Boot store
Pergola on the Lake
Swimming pool
Games barn
Games barn - interior
South side of main house
Keepers cottage
Cottage - Gamekeepers bedroom
Cottage - Orchard bedroom
Cottage - Thatchers bedroom
The lake, for  fishing or boating
Beautiful autumn colours emerging
Looking over the lawn at the rear of the house
The majestic scotts pines.
Open space near the orchard
Towards the front lawn
Log pile beside the lake walk, good for habitat, we hope.
The beautiful Blackdown Hills, great for walking and moutain biking.
The Blackdown Hills are wonderful for walking, riding & mountain biking.
Kitchen in the cottage, perfect for a morning coffee before breakfast in the main house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Culmhead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carolyn D
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for my 50th birthday celebration!”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Widcombe Grange was the perfect mix of grandness whilst comfortable at the same time for the size of our party, 20 adults and 11 children, the kitchen was perfect for entertaining, it had all the equipment for catering for big parties, and the bbq. The bedroom layout and the number of bathrooms were perfect as it didn't feel that we were on top of each other. The kids loved it too with so many different garden areas for an egg hunt, the big swing and the heated pool. We were also lucky enough to have sunshine in April which meant we hardly left the house. Thank you so much for a great hand over and all your organisation.
Hopefully we will find another occasion to use the Big House Company again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience. Kids happy the grown ups happy!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, it sounds like you enjoyed the house to the full. The pool, the lake and boat and the 22 acres make it a children's paradise, which really does mean that you barely have to leave the grounds. For the adults, there is all that, plus the coach house for games, the great kitchen and dining space for entertaining and plenty of room for chilling. We are so glad you had a great time. Best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tazmin R
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“The seriously large grounds give an amazing range of opportunities for fun.”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The house is impressive and spacious with a large dining table for large groups to share a meal. The two lounges meant we could spread ourselves around. The children loved the games hall, the swing in the tree and the boat on the lake. We were a group of 20 adults and 16 children and there was so much to keep us occupied at Widcombe Grange that we didn't leave the premises all weekend. We highly recommend staying here, it was fabulous!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality
Liked least: Lack of locks on some oilet doors
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2015
We often hear guests commenting "there's so much to do, we didn't leave the grounds", which seems an ideal way to make your break more relaxing! From May to September there's the outdoor heated pool to add to the entertainment and for those who want some more excitement we can organise archery, clay & pistol shooting on site, or even a murder mystery for the evening.
Thank you so much for your comments and I am so glad you had a great time. Best wishes Peter & crew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasafras7...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“40th Birthday Bash with a big bunch of mates”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I organised a suprise birthday weekend for my partner and a big bunch of our friends. Peter always provided information promptly when asked but I never felt that I was being "sold to". The booking form was really over the top asking for the name age and address of every guest. This was a huge pain to ask for this info from everyone and I couldn't understand why it was required.

We had full use of the main house and the cottage so once we'd been shown round the huge house and grounds were all ours for the weekend.The house is really lovely and feels like it's got a sense of history without feeling like you're staying in a museum. Two large lounge rooms were just right for relaxing in after dinner and to sit and watch the rugby all together on Saturday afternoon (without kids) was a real treat. Great sociable kitchen and gorgeous dining room.
The master bedroom had a huge double ended bath which was wonderful. It would have been nice to have a small bottle of smellies in the goodie bag for this.
We walked across fields and through some woods to get to the Blagdon Inn for Saturday lunch (45 mins). We have friends who live pretty locally and had a knowledge of the pub (it suprisingly wasn't one which had been recommended by Big House). They were able to accomodate 24 people with fantastic food and with only a few hours warning! We brought our own O/S map and didn't notice any around the house. It would have been useful. The big tub of spare wellies was really useful though!
We loved little touches like loads of biscuits on our arrival. Things I would add - ice trays, maps for local, Quantocks and some beaches.
There were a lot of bathrooms with baths probably these could have been changed into shower rooms to some extent. It would however change the feel of the house.
All in all we had a fantastic weekend and couldn't recommend it highly enough. We're even thinking of getting married here!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Widcombe Grange does work so well for a big group of people and I’m very pleased you had a good time. The separate sitting rooms, the large dining room that can seat everyone in comfort and the kitchen that’s laid out and equipped for the task! There are plenty of spaces for activities and quiet times to suit everyone’s needs.

I’m sorry that you found the booking form a nuisance, it is unfortunately a legal requirement which is probably made more long winded because of the amount of people staying at the property. Thank you very much for your suggestions, we will make sure that the maps are put in a more obvious place in future and trying to track down the ice cube trays.

Your recommendation of the Blagdon Inn is much appreciated. It changes ownership quite often, being most recently an Indian restaurant!

With best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rich_mead...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Class Unspoilt Accommodation”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Widcombe Grange provided the perfect venue for a 60th Birthday gathering for friends, family and guests numbering 24 in total. Our age range was 20- 60 years.The Big House Company (Peter and his staff) were very attentive and professional in meeting all of our requirements. We were greeted on arrival and carefully briefed on the facilities. The house was spotlessly clean and well maintained. The contents and furnishings were very good and retained the character of the house. The Keeper's Cottage was also well looked after and self contained; with 5 bedrooms, it was ideal for the younger ones whilst the elder ones slotted nicely into the 7 bedrooms of the main house. The Coach House games room was a real hit with all: spacious and ideal for dancing, competitive table tennis, snooker, table football and letting your hair down! The grounds were well looked after and great for a stroll. The in-house caterers were very professional, helpful and quality food was provided and enjoyed by all.We walked to the pub in Churchinford (for Sunday Lunch) on well signed public footpaths using the Ordnance Survey maps provided from the house. All in all it was an excellent and memorable weekend which certainly exceeded all of our expectations. Well Done Peter!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pleasure expressed by all who attended.
Liked least: No gripes at all but would say Families with younger children should be vigilant regarding the lake,ponds and boat in the grounds
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2015
Thank you for this lovely review. We think Widcombe Grange is a great property for house parties of all ages and I am really delighted that it exceeded your expectations and that your group had such fun. Our whole team from maintenance crew to office angels are very dedicated to what we do and I will be sure to pass your comments on to them. With best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisKenb...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The ideal S.W. getaway location for large groups.”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

It is not easy finding a place that ticks all the boxes for a weekend away with an extended family, ages 6 to 89. Yet Widcombe Grange does this and more. The owner, Peter is friendly and helpful and the house itself perfectly appointed. There is plenty of space inside with two sitting- rooms and a large games room. For cooks there is a well-equipped kitchen and a huge dining-room. The grounds are attractive and extensive. The location itself is peaceful and yet convenient for motorway and train and an ideal base for exploring the area. We feel fortunate to have found it and will be returning in 2015 for our third visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a dining table large enough to seat 24.
Liked least: Wi-fi pretty much limited to one spot in one room. Could do with one more bathroom in the Keepers Cottage.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
I'm so pleased that you had another good time at Widcombe Grange and we really appreciate you returning to stay here. We think the house is great for large groups, giving plenty of spaces for fun and games but also enough places for quieter times too.
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you next year. With best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing