We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Southwestern Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Southwestern Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2007

Hubby & I wanted to visit Boyce Thompson Arboretum in Superior, AZ, and decided this was a good bet. It was. Only 15 miles west of it. The other Best Western in Apache Junction takes about twice as far to drive to it. This place has Southwestern architecture and decor, is clean and kept up nicely, including nice foliage and flowers. Free breakfast included hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, all the usual stuff like cereals, breads and juices, and one waffle-making machine (premixed batter provided). We finally learned the red "on" light meant "ready to go," not "cooking," but still, I imagine that if the good-sized breakfast room were really crowded, you'd have to wait awhile to make a waffle with only ONE machine. The most attractive view is over the clean-looking pool, outdoor whirlpool and courtyard area, where we could see a bit of the Superstition Mountains from our 2nd floor tiny balcony. However, even in September we still felt like we were in a closed-in hot box with half of one side open...not much air, day or night. (And we're used to AZ heat, living in Tucson!) I'd recommend a 1st floor patio room instead. The parking lot has a row of shaded carports. Rooms come with cable TV, small refrigerator, coffee maker & supplies, and internet access.

Not a lot of stores or restaurants in the immediate area: The Inn has the "Rodeo Lounge" with "happy hour" from 3 to 6 pm, also serving pizza, appetizers, and "blue plate specials." Thursday through Saturday the lounge has free entertainment. We ate in the decent, very reasonably-priced, casual Red Sage Restaurant, - the walking distance of 2 parking lots away, serving breakfast through dinner, with food "to go." (Their menu was in our room.) Across the little side street is a Chinese restaurant, and a Walgreen's, where we picked up inexpensive snack foods. There's also a coffee cafe, and more stores going into that new small commercial strip. This Inn is very close to the Renaissance Festival site. It we were going to that Festival, and staying overnight, we'd definitely stay at this place again.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank CactusLizCowboyKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    62
    19
    17
    17
See reviews for
64
60
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2007

We stayed here for four nights and it was a nice hotel. The hotel staff was nice and very helpful. They printed our boarding passes for our flight the day before we left. The room was clean and comfortable. Bedding, furniture and carpeting was all in good condition. We did not get to use the pool because we were so busy sightseeing but the pool area looked clean and inviting. Only thing I think they could improve upon would be their breakfast. They offered Cereal, toast, bagels and waffles with milk, juice and coffee, but I would have like to have seen some type of danish or sweet rolls. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — Bed was in a seperate room
  • Disliked — view of parking lot
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rsohn65820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2007

We stay here every year in Feb when attending the Arizona Renaissance Festival just up the road. We are always treated very well, the rooms are nice, clean, good value. Nice pool & spa. Decent free breakfast.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank OH2CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2007

The Good:
Visible sign makes this hotel easy to find from the highway.
The room was clean, well maintained and had a great view of the Superstition Mountains from the balcony.
Continental breakfast included.
Outdoor pool.
No charge in-room internet access with easy connectivity and cable in the room. There were no user agreements, forms to fill out or cables to fetch from the front desk. Just plug-in and go – easy.
Cocktail lounge on-site open till around 11:30pm on the weekend.
Friendly desk staff.
Small refrigerator in the room and coffee maker.
Quiet rooms.

The Neutral:
The cocktail lounge on site offers a variety of alcoholic drinks and beer. The bartender had difficulty with an Absolute and tonic, so I wouldn’t recommend ordering anything too exotic. They also have fried munchies, if the fryer is working, and they have pizza. The front desk told me they made the best pizza in town…well, I’m from NY and tend to disagree with that statement. The pizza was on-par with Red Baron.

There is a restaurant right across the street but it closes at 9 pm.

The Bad:
The directions supplied by the hotel to eating establishments open later than 9pm are confusing and difficult to follow.
The air-conditioner is very noisy.
The beds have old-fashioned springs.
The pillows are like marshmallows.
Toiletries are very limited – no conditioner or hand lotion.
The closet is very small with only 6 hangers.

Summary:
This Best Western is better than I expected from a Best Western chain. Clean, basic accommodation is what we found here. No real complaints and no major compliment either.

  • Liked — clean with a great balcony view
  • Disliked — not too much is close by
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PrivyChamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Canyon
21.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Superstition Springs Inn
21.6 km away
Best Western Legacy Inn & Suites
31.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
22.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mesa Superstition Springs
21.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites
Address: 8333 E Sunrise Sky Dr, Gold Canyon, AZ 85118-2992
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Gold Canyon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
Price range (per night): RM409 - RM634
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Apache Junction
Apache Junction Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing