We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Rental”
other traveller has booked this property
Pool and main deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and main deck.
Aerial View of Ucuilagi Ucuilagi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Pool and main deck.
Aerial View of Ucuilagi
Ucuilagi
Modern, fully operational kitchen
Family room
Outdoor shower
Bedroom
View of bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bure bathroom
Entrance to rear garden.
Early morning fishing
A great catch for breakfast
Happy guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Matei, Taveuni Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AussieInS...
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Wonderful Rental”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for a week in early August with a group of 8 with ages ranging from 9 to 70. It was a wonderful stay and we only wish we could have been there longer.
The house is beautiful with a view to die for, and the hosts were wonderfully accommodating. The beach is accessible via a steep climb down the path, but all of us were able to do the trip quite easily (often multiple times a day). The use of kayaks and snorkeling gear makes this a must for those interested, but the pool on the deck means that it is not critical on those days you would rather laze around.
Isoah is extremely knowledgeable about places to go on the island and quite happy to drive you or organize taxi services as needed. So much to do - recommend diving trips, hiking the coast trail, the natural waterslides. Just don't forget some relaxing time as well.
Wish I could go back tomorrow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherlock1...
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Retreat”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had never been to Fiji and didn't know what to expect. I booked this because of the positive reviews on the internet and am thankful to all those who gave detailed reviews that helped me make the plunge. The booking details were negotiated with Steve who was super responsive and helpful all the way, even though it did involve old fashioned bank wires, everything went without a hitch. When we arrived Isoa was there for us from the moment we stepped off the plane to the very end when he took us to the airport with all our luggage and memories.
Isoa's family participated in helping us with our trips and adventures, walking trails and especially a notable boat trip to snorkel the rainbow reef.
We had a birthday celebration with a Lovo and the food was really special. The Fijians we encountered were all friendly and helpful, although it was the rainy season, we managed to have alot of fun and the rain never went on for more than 24 hours.
The supermarkets do not have a lot of choice and of course the western type food was very expensive so you have to compensate and eat alot of avocadoes, mangos, pineapple, passionfruit and bananas, what a sacrifice!!!
All our family had a lovely vacation and we would go back and forth to the beach as many as 4 times aday.
I'd go back in a shot, if only it wasn't a 22 hour trip from home!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views of the ocean and marine life.
Liked least: Difficult to get to the island of Taveuni.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate K
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical and memorable family holiday”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have recently returned from an incredible holiday at the beautiful Ucuilagi. A special family holiday with eight adults and one toddler, the entire family found the experience breathtaking - the house, the spectacular gardens and the island. We adored the managers Isoa and Pini who were very friendly and helpful. Each morning we would have fresh fruit from the property - pawpaw and limes, passionfruit and bananas. Isoa also brought us some coconuts to drink and eat.

This was a rare Fiji experience - we visited the waterfalls, had an afternoon of massages in the bure at the edge of the property, had a very memorable Lovo with Isoa's village dancers - all the beautiful children and singing - as well as a meal at Tovu Tovu on Friday night (one of the local restaurants). Such delicious and authentic Fijian food - a rarity in resorts usually.

We loved being able to see different parts of the lusciously green "garden" island and going in to town and seeing the villages. Just incredible.

The house is really well set up for a group - a perfect balance of keeping people together yet with enough spaces to get away and relax. The recently upgraded bathrooms are lovely, particularly the outside shower.

We enjoyed the balance of having the pool and being able to walk down the track to swim at the beaches nearby. We also enjoyed the balance of being able to eat out at local restaurants and being able to cook BBQ's at the house. The pizza shack at the bottom of the driveway is especially good for jugs of beer as the sun starts to go down.

The pool is cleverly fenced if you need to keep children away, which put our mind at rest with our toddler.

Ucuilagi is a beautiful, authentic house with stunning gardens and spectacular views. It is a peaceful sanctuary that we will always hold dear to us as a very memorable and special family holiday. We hope to one day visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excitedtr...
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with amazing views”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Taveuni is one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to and the house looks out at a view you don't want to leave!
The house has everything you could need with big rooms, great kitchen full of utensils etc, laundry, wifi, BBQ etc and is cleaned each day.
Steve was fantastic at answering all my questions before we arrived and Isoa and Peni were welcoming hosting. Isoa was very patient and willing to drive us everywhere we needed to go and him and Peni organised a very tasty lovo and fantastic local music for our last night.
The house is on a hill so the only option to get to the beach or one local restaurant (tramonto which is great but call to say you are coming!) is down the driveway or a path which is steep but absolutely fine as long as you look where you're going. The previous review about this is a bit silly given that you can just walk down the drive instead!
Highly recommend a stay here - make sure you include plenty of time to have a beer and enjoy the view.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAlisonH
Stafford, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still breathing the air, seeing the view, feeling the peace found at Ucuilagi”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was by far the best vacation of any kind we have had. having been on several beach vacations, in several locations around the Americas, staying in many many rental homes, and at resorts, I can fairly say that this is an exceptional place. You can't help but walk into the house, look out at the grounds and the sea beyond an feel all the stress and worry drain away from your body. This is the perfect place to get away from EVERYTHING. and just relax.
A bunch of bananas welcomed us near the front door, and the foot bath with fresh flowers were two of the small delights to be found at the house daily. The helpfull and pleasant caretakers Isoa and Peni were perfect. Steve the dog and the propertys cat ( we called him Tom) were also a welcomed surprise.
I highly recomend taking advatage of a massage or two while there. Ann or Isoa can help with the booking. So much less expensive than in the states and a very very nice massage.
Isoa was very helpful when we were deciding how to spend our time on Taveuni. he took us where we wanted to go and guided us as needed. He is a lovely man and Peni, his wife, are excellent care takers and were responsive to our requests. Isoa arranged for us to go snorkeling on a magnificent day trip with an outfit on the island.
Being there in the heart of July, hence winter in the southern hemosphere, the windows were open all day/night and the ocean breeze was lovely. We enjoyed having the ceiling fans during the day but didn't miss them as we slept, after the power was turned off. knowing that we were not going to have power all night before we packed, we did bring along flashlights, but didn't really need them. We enjoyed the dark night sky, star gazing is the best I have ever seen. We put all our reading material on tablets, so we could read as long as we wanted.
The path down the hill is a bit steep, but we didn't have any trouble and found it in fact charming, and loved the kayaks waiting for us down on the beach to enjoy.
The pool is small but nice to take a dip in, cool off and relax around.
I will caution those considering a vacation on Taveuni to be clear about the food choices. There is not a wide range of food options and few places to eat. We did have some fantastic meals on Taveuni, we ate well and enjoyed learning about the local food, traditional meals and Peni and Isoa made us a wonderful Lovo Feast one night.
Know that the plane over from the main island to Taveuni may not be able to bring all your lugage at once, the plane is small, weight limits are the concern. so carry on the plane enough clothes/nessesary items for the first 24 hours. Your things will catch up to you and Isoa is very diligent about going to the airport to collect your lugage as it comes in.
It is also a good idea if you are considering a Taveuni vacation to stop at the duty free shop on the way thru the air port to get whatever wine or spirits you might want. Don't worry about beer, Just ask for Fiji Gold, We loved it.
We look forward/plan on returning to Taveuni and staying at Ucuilagi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: can't think of a thing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;