We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
US$192
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (958)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
423
306
141
51
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
423
306
141
51
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews neptune's staircase caledonian canal ben nevis lovely hotel no lift biscuits fort william the jacobite steam train cooked breakfast a lovely stay nevis range lovely view bistro locks scotland mountains mallaig
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 958 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night to break up the journey when travelling home from a break further north.

First impressions weren't good. Reception seemed to have been temporarily moved to Bistro/bar area, and we struggled to find it.

We stayed in an executive room, with a balcony overlooking Neptune's Staircase. Room was really nice, spacious and clean.

Had an evening meal in the bistro which was excellent.

Breakfast was in the dining room which is quite dark and old fashioned, would have preferred it in the bistro to enjoy the views.

Service from the staff was very good

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havenexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a short staycation here and were pleased with our stay.
The bedroom was large with dual aspect and the views over Ben Nevis and Neptune’s Staircase were wonderful. Everything was very clean and the bed comfortable. The tables and chairs on the decking were welcome for an out door drink and must be wonderful when the weather is warmer. Covid restrictions were observed in the dining room and cleaning of the rooms. A comprehensive menu was available for dinner. The food was excellent, well cooked and presented. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. A pity that the Grab and Go breakfast was not up to the hotel’s high standard!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EdnaMinerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Mooring situated near the famous Neptune’s staircase. The staff were so welcoming and any requests i made were accommodated . We stayed in the new extension which was amazing & i cannot highly praise the level of cleanliness enough. A joy to be there. We had a fantastic meal & the serving staff were friendly, unobtrusive & cud not do enough for us. Highly recommended -

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stadecourthotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reception staff are very nice and the check in and check out procedure went on smoothly. The room was big, the bed large and very comfortable.The room and the bathroom were very clean. Good food and really friendly stuff. important thing is that workers are really friendly and kind even if you are not hotel guest. definitely good place for staying.
It was with great pleasure that I spent the night at this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Fox4588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful views of Ben Nevis, and Neptune's Staircase on our doorstep.
The room was lovely, spacious and clean, and the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable.
Social distancing measure were in place as well, which made us feel safe and secure!
Well Done

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank Ash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy Macleod, General Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello AshP

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is certainly a dream location with Neptune's staircase right on our doorstep
I'm glad the safety measures in place made you feel safe and secure and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Kind Regards
Cathy & The Moorings Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews