We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
60
27
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
27
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal alegames roomwelsh black beeflovely campsitethe snowdonia national parkrural settingtouring caravantoilets showersexcellent weekendsmall lakestayed for one nightdog friendly barenjoyed our staylittle gemsecond to nonea lovely staydining room
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

The manager was kind enough to open the restaurant for all 20 of us, despite being closed for food, for my mum's 60th birthday. The staff were very friendly and attentive throughout and the food was fantastic. Very reasonable and more than enough to go round. The views from the windows weren't too bad either! Well recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilerarms, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your 5* rating. We are happy your mum enjoyed her special day and glad we could accommodate you all. We hope to see you again if you are visiting this area of North Wales in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Harry and his staff are absolutely perfect, charming and welcoming - the real ale is second to none. The food is perfect - home cooked - just what you want.
You can enjoy long walks from the base so just leave your campervan and head off.
The pitch for the campervan is excellent - full electrics and plenty of space between pitches. The facilities are clean and bright and available as you'd expect 24 hours a day. If you are looking for a base in the Snowdonia national park then look no further than Y Giler Arms. Thank you Harry - Best Wishes, Alex, Barry and Paul

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilerarms, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your glowing comments. I will pass them onto our staff who are always pleased to hear they have provided a good service. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Tracey & Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We booked in for 2 nights in a row and both nights could not fault the food or service. A lovely dining area with friendly and helpful staff. Many thanks to all staff last weekend. 2 very enjoyable nights. Good selection on the menu at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilerarms, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments onto our staff who are always happy to receive appreciation. We hope to see you again if you visit this area of beautiful North Wales in the future. Warmest regards Tracey & Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Old hotel a long way from Betws y coed. Thought we were booking somewhere close by. Room clean,comfortable bed.
Meals in restaurant very good. Friendly welcome and service. Very quiet area. Would recommend restaurant which opens at 7.30pm

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilerarms, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments. We are glad you found your stay comfortable and that we could accommodate an early breakfast for you before your trip to Snowdon. We hope the weather held for you so you could enjoy it! Although we are only 8 miles from Betws-y-Coed, we are quite rural but are quite central to most attractions this area of North Wales has to offer. We hope you choose us again if visiting this area in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Lovely camp site, excellent facilities, hot shower block & toilets, regular cleaned several times daily. The hotel's restaurant was five star, small menu but something for everyone, the food and service was excellent, only downside the pub didn't open til 6pm each evening it would have been better if it opened about 3pm, hence the 4 stars. The camp was great for dog lovers very dog friendly place and clean. Will defiantly return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 770hoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilerarms, Owner at Y Giler Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you very much for writing such a fabulous review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You had some great weather which made the surrounding views even more stunning. Thank you for the little chats at the shower block each morning! We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews