We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Easter Break”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Blubberhouses, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian H
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Easter Break”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Hookstone House for 7 nights over easter, 6 adults (3 couples) and 2 children (10 and 12). The house is very well finshed to a high standard and was very spacious for this size of party with everyone having their space. The house was very clean on arrival. The Hot was very clean and a real hit, sitting in at night looking at the stars is a real must.

The owners live next door and were very attentive but not intrusive, checking the hot tub chemicals daily for example.

The location was very rural with walks up to moors from the house and numerous National Trust properties near by. Brimham rocks was a real hit with us all, kids loved climbing the rocks.

Village shops 5 minutes up the road but main supermarkets were 20 minutes away in Harrogate.

We would thoroughly recommend this propperty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean, all the modern conveniences, well finished.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey D
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place with beautiful scenary..”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I would like to firstly point out that we all had the most amazing time at Hookstone House, we visited in February for a 30th Birthday there was 9 of us and two well behaved dogs, it was a surprise for the birthday girl who was overwhelmed with excitement after looking around this beautiful cottage, as we all were :)

The house was well equiped for everything you could need in the kitchen, rooms etc, it was very clean and tidy and modern too. The hot tub without a doubt was fantastic especially after a good old walk in the country hills. The hot tun is looked after by the landlord every monring however we have always used hot tubs in the past and we filled this up every night after use to ensure we had a full hot tub at the right temeperature every morning.. all the landlord had to do was to add the chemicals he needed :)

In the cottage there was a snug room with a log burning fire which again was lovely to sit back and relax with a glass of wine on a cold night, this place truly is perfect for large families, friends/groups who want to relax and unwind and enjoy the yorkshire hills and scenary!

We also got a welcome basket of goodies.. which was a really thought!

I think the only slight downfall was having no reception on your phone however we all found it quite nice not to be stuck to our phones so it was a blessing in disguise really. :)

I would highly reccomend this place to anyone i know, the booking was easy, payment process was easy, the landlord and his family were lovely, we were well looked after and also at the same time left to our own devices to enjoy the cottage.

Brilliant place, Lovely people and Fantastic, relaxing area. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: No reception for our phones
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your great review. We're glad to hear that the surprise party was such a success. We're not surprised that you had such a great time though! We're pleased that you appreciated your excellent surroundings, and were able to make use of the fantastic hot tub on offer! Book your next birthday weekend away with us soon! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouCass
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great House, beautiful location, friendly owners”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Stayed at Hookstone House for a week at the end of January, we were joined on different days by family and friends from different areas of the country. plenty of room for all 11 of us, snug room for the olds to disappear to while the younger ones entertained themselves with board games and the likes. Loved the big dining room adjoining the kitchen, all the utensils you could need. Everyone loved the covered hot tub didn't matter if it was raining or snowing we could still enjoy it. Hot tub was checked and cleaned if required every morning by Egil to make sure it was topped up etc. (we have stayed at other cottages with hot tubs and they don't get checked or cleaned for the full week) lovely warm cosy building, we all felt comfortable from the minute we arrived. Welcome basket of things you might forget was a blessing, our younger ones were luck to get to visit the owners horses too..

My only negative was that there is no mobile phone signal in the area so I panicked a little on arrival on how to contact everyone due to arrive after us, so thankful for the Wifi and instant messenger..

Thank you Egil & Samantha, we all had a great week and were sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2015
We are really pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with all of your family and friends. It sounds like the younger ones had a great time visiting the horses as well! Thank you for the kind review. We hope you book with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Large family holiday in beautiful Yorkshire”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

10 of us and 2 dogs spent a week at this cottage This is an annual event for our family and is generally spent in Yorkshire. This was a new cottage to us and had a hot tub which we all enjoy The owner has a joinery business which is in the next property be aware that at weekends you can hear machinery from about 7am and large vehicles pass under bedroom windows and metal gates open and close to give them access ! We had windows open as weather was very hot. The cottage is beautiful and comfortable but is policed by the owner who visits every day to check hot tub and passes comment We all felt like naught children at times, we are all professional people and have never been treated like this before. We all enjoyed the Yorkshire countryside we arrived after the Tour De France and the countryside wad decorated with flags and yellow bikes which was very colourful. There is plenty to see and do for both adults and children not to mention the dogs

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The countryside
Liked least: Owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. For the peace of mind of future guests the owner of the property would like to offer the assurance that his workshop doesn’t open until 8am, later at the weekends, as this is a farming area it is quite possible that any noise in a morning was from farming activities in the surrounding fields. The hot tub requires checking on a daily basis in order to ensure it is working properly and that the water quality is suitable for use, he usually checks this around 0800 in order not to disturb guests when they are using it. We’re pleased that you and the dogs enjoyed the area and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy B
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at the house for 5 days over New Year with extended family. The house is very clean, well-equipped, warm and comfortable. On arrival the owner made us feel very welcome and left us a welcome basket containing tea, coffee, sugar, biscuits and a bottle of wine. The owner was very helpful and was on hand if we needed anything during our stay. All the rooms were tastefully decorated. There were four seating areas so if you didn't all want to sit together all the time you could go and watch TV or read in one of the other rooms. There was a good selection of DVDs, books, games and jigsaws in the lounge which we made use of one cold wet day. We especially enjoyed using the hot tub, it was so relaxing and made New Years Eve memorable. Whilst there we visited Brimham rocks and the Coldstone cut - both well-worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house was lovely
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$185
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing