We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
540 on Great South Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otahuhu
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Unpleasant stay with a rude staff and manager. He manages to hang off from the phone twice in 3mn.
The breakfast was very light.
Be aware that the manager charges $8 per day per device. So I end up pay $16 per day for both my phone and laptop.
I don't recommend that hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ludo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thanks for your email. You did order a Continental Breakfast with cereal. Had you chosen the Cooked, it is a heavy option. We explained the extra Fee of $8 for the additional device for unlimited wifi and the fee that applies and you accepted. Your telephone manner was rude and the information that you provided was incorrect. I was disappointed in the condition you left the room in. Good Luck to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Very clean, everything from toilets to sheets, staff and owners very helpful and accommodating, plenty of parking, 3minutes to hospital if that's what you need. It was during my families very stressful time at middlemore... Thankyou

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

$350 a night definitely not worth it but city had severe shortage of accommodation. 15 minute drive to airport which what we needed before our flight out.

Clean rooms but very small.

Check in lady was wearing Track Suit. Motel or Hotel a certain level of professionalism should be presented. Especially if you going to charge a $100 room at $350 to take advantage of city gigs.

Would not stay again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ash_84nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Picked up from airport complimentary which was a nice touch, had a rear unit which was quiet, beds are comfortable and the small kitchen area is very functional for one person. All in all a great couple of nights.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ian_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Room was a bit small and pokey but was nice and clean and located in a quiet area. Short easy drive to the airport. Staff were very welcoming. Would look elsewhere to stay next time but if we ended up back here then I wouldn't complain too loudly

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thanks for your email. Please note that the room type booked determines the size allocated; We have Economy, Exec Studios, One Bedrooms, Family Rooms and Jumbo which can sleep upto six people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otahuhu
1.6 km away
Grange Motor Lodge
Grange Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Manukau
213 reviews
4.8 km away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
296 reviews
4.0 km away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#4 of 5 in Manukau
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
5.6 km away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
5.3 km away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Manukau
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 540 on Great South Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 540 on Great South Motel

Address: 540 Great South Road | (Cnr of Alexander Street), Otahuhu, Auckland 1062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Otahuhu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Otahuhu
Price Range: RM412 - RM984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 540 on Great South Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
540 on Great South Motel Located in the heart of Otahuhu only a moment’s walk from cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. We are located just off the southern motorway and very close to the Grange & Auckland Golf Courses, Kings & Otahuhu Colleges, Rainbow’s End, Middlemore Hospital, Auckland International Airport, Sylvia Park shopping centre. Close proximity to Mt Smart Stadium, Manukau Vodafone Events Centre and Elleslie Racecourse. Business or leisure 540 on Great South is your perfect accommodation choice. Our 4 star plus boutique Motel offers a range of excellent accommodation options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your 540 on Great South Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
540 On Great South Hotel Otahuhu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing