We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm welcome in cosy cottage”

Review of Garden Cottage

View through garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View through garden
Gable end and drive Kitchen from the mezzanine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View through garden
Gable end and drive
Kitchen from the mezzanine
Open plan kitchen area with Island
Main Bedroom
Mezzanine Floor
open plan living area
Main Bathroom
Mezzanine Floor leading to ensuite bathroom
cottage from village green
Catton nestling in the dales
River Allen taken from Copola Bridge
Copola Bridge
Outlook from French Windows
The Hadrian's Wall heading east from Housesteads Fort, only 15 mins away
Hadrian's Wall heading east from Steel Rigg.
Patio Area
Lilac and Laburnum just outside the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Allendale, Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Paul L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm welcome in cosy cottage”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We chose Catton because of its proximity to Hexham where our son works. We received a very prompt reply when we enquired about the cottage on the internet.When we arrived on the first day we were warmly received by the owners, Brian and Helen. The weather was cold but the cottage was warm and cosy and there was a welcome pack waiting for us. We instantly felt at home. Throughout our stay Brian and Helen could not have been more helpful or friendly. The cottage itself is very cosy with every inch of space used very cleverly. It is very well decorated and furnished and contains all of the facilities you need. The area has many walks of varying lengths and difficulty. We tried some of the easier and shorter walks as we were not properly equipped. We saw quite a number of cyclists in the area as well. The cottage is within driving distance of Hadrian's Wall and we were impressed with our visits to Vindolanda and Housesteads fort. It is also close to the Lead Mining Museum in Killhope. Hexham Abbey is well worth a visit. The old town gaol contains a museum but unfortunately it was closing when we went to visit it. Corbridge which is a few miles from Hexham is also worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome we received and the cottage itself.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Beautiful cottage. Welcome pack much appreciated. Good location. Easily enough room for our 3 young children as youngest still in a cot.
Good location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip D
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Great Find”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Can't praise this holiday cottage highly enough - everything about it was right. It was stylish, warm and inviting. All the family loved the open plan layout - which made it friendly when you were cooking. Comfortable, full of good details and very reasonably priced. My family were delighted with my choice of holiday base, so Happy Days!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The styling
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain F
Looe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great romantic getaway in a peaceful setting.”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Would definitely rebook if back up in northumberland. Cosy country retreat. Barn/cottage was superbly finished with a home-away-from-home vibe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful Northumberland”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We recently enjoyed a one week stay in this very comfortable and well equipped cottage in the lovely little village of Catton. The owners, Helen and Brian, were very helpful and the location is perfect for exploring beautiful Northumberland. We would definitely recommend Garden Cottage as the perfect base for anyone wishing to visit this area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing