We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to rest while walking the Barrow Way”
Review of Mullichain Cafe

Mullichain Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in St Mullins
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We run a sweet little Coffee Shop on The Banks of The River Barrow in St Mullins.There is seating both inside and out and we provide waitress service.Our Menu provides a selection of Salads Prawn and Crab,Hummis and Chicken liver Pate plus many more.Pizza,Wraps,Ciabatta with wonderful fresh fillings. Emer is our in house baker and she has a large selection home baking, Apple tarts and Chocolate Brownies to name but a few. This is a wonderful place to wile away the day walking or cycling by the river.Martin Emer and Mark would like to invite you to share our little bit of Heaven
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Three of us stopped off here for coffee/ afternoon tea while exploring the Barrow Way. We were greeted by very friendly staff, who were eager to accommodate us, and made room for us. We ordered 3 teas, (one herbal) and 2 desserts to share, lemon drizzle cake ad carrot cake. The potions were huge, and we had plenty to share. The service was efficient and friendly. Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullichain, Owner at Mullichain Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi Pat Many thanks for your review you gave us a great lift at the end of a long season
We are back in 2018 for the weekends in February and fully open from the first weekend in March Best Wishes Martin Emer and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

We actually travelled a little off route to stop in St. Mullins and visit the Mullichain Café. We grabbed coffee and scones, and opted to enjoy them on the benches by the river. The service was absolutely fantastic, we even got some bonus area facts while waiting for our coffees. The location is really beautiful by the river, and the coffee and scones were both delicious. More than worth the stop. My only regret is not getting to stay longer!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Good food - pizza so good (nothing commercial about this home cooking) and lots of local colour. Will be back.

1  Thank TheSecretMuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullichain, Owner at Mullichain Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi to the Secret Muncher, your review is very much appreciated a Big thank you from all the lads down at The Mullicháin Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Nestled between the Blackstairs Mountains and the Barrow River, the Mullichain offers a warm welcome and an intriguing menu. The soup is well crafted and perfectly seasoned, the cheese board has seven or eight different cheeses, the Italian antipasti is just delicious, and the coffee is dynamite. Friendly efficient staff patrol the many tables, and the proprietor, a giant teddy bear of a man, circulates among the customers spreading bonhomie and cheer wherever he goes. Great place,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This is my second - hopefully to be repeated! - visit to this lovely place. The setting is wonderful, such a historic location and the river just a few steps away.

Thank dedobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullichain, Owner at Mullichain Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi Dedobay Many thanks for your review best wishes Martin Emer Mark at The Mullicháin Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mullichain Cafe also viewed

 
New Ross, County Wexford
New Ross, County Wexford
 

Been to Mullichain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing