We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Ikaros

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Plaka, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Stortford...
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Looking at the pictures of this villa on the internet gives a hint that it is something special and so it proved to be. The villa is superbly located with a stunning panoramic hilltop view which we are happy to trade for the essential requirement for a car (needed anyway as this is great base from which to explore this part of Crete). The villa has patios on each side so shelter can be had if the sun or the breeze is too strong. The level of furnishing, design and equipment easily justifies the luxury designation without losing its Cretan charm. The pool is compact but attractive and the gardens are well planted and full of butterflies when we visited. The welcome basket of provisions was more generous than usual and the Bolarakis family were most welcoming and helpful. What a gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb location and accomodation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acumpreto
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning place - we had the best and most relaxing holidays #likeaboss”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Ikaros is definitely my favorite place to stay in Crete! I first visited in spring, looking to relax and do some writing work and spent 2 amazing weeks. We came back for an other week in September and had an amazing time. The place is very beautiful, very comfortable house with ALL the amenities - you feel like you're home away from home.. The view is stunning (it's undisrupted!) as the villa is situated at the top of a hill, you get to see the gulf of Souda in front and the White Mountains on your left. I personally always preferred the south of crete for it's beautiful view, but I have to admit this is so much better! The villa is full of windows and regardless of where you are you can enjoy the view..its one of my favorite features!
We really enjoyed the privacy (it's a secluded place, regardless of where you are no one can actually see you,ha!), the various places outside where we could sit (it was great to pick a different place depending on the time of day and where the sun was), the pool (we'd start the day with a coffee and finish it with a drink in the infinity pool staring at the mountains...).
AND! If you are peculiar with your sleeping you'll really appreciate the coco-mat mattresses etc they have - I'm a bit picky with mattresses, so that was great for me!
The icing on the cake was our hosts - we were very happy and felt very welcome, such a lovely family and we felt safe that they would be around if we needed anything! Actually my favorite part is that they give you a greek mobile phone to use if you need to reach them - very helpful for those from abroad to also receive calls without roaming charges! I thought that was sweet :)

We really enjoyed our stay there and are looking forward to going back - this time trying the other two seasons of the year! I highly recommend this place and I'm also looking forward to renting Villa Daedalus that is even more gorgeous, but I'll do that with a bigger group of friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and value for money
Liked least: we wanted to stay more!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible accommodation, views to die for and wonderful hosts - a real gem”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013
5
people found this review helpful

We had an incredible stay in this beautiful villa overlooking the valley/mountains on the one side and the ocean on the other. The accommodation is extremely neat, clean and has everything you could wish for. We ate all meals from the terrace and drank wine overlooking the most gorgeous sunsets. The hosts are also delightful and extremely accommodating and went out their way to make our stay as comfortable and luxurious as possible. I would absolutely recommend staying at least a week - you don't even have to leave the villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viola K
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dom83
Var
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tout était parfait
Liked least: rien de négatif
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$371
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing