We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Oasis Maspalomas(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Seaside Palm Beach(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
IFA Faro Hotel(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maypa Appartements(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
Reviews (6,239)
Filter reviews
6,239 results
Traveller rating
4,045
1,428
493
147
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,045
1,428
493
147
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrican themewet roomrichard burtonhuge baththe wow factorstar hotelpili pilihalf boardstunning hotelfamily roomseparate toiletmoonlight cinemagran canarianews channelssand dunesbreakfast and dinnerkids club
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 6,239 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is amazing! I read a few reviews before arriving on our holiday which made me worry, I definitely shouldn’t have. This hotel is beautiful and service is first class. This is the first holiday we have taken in the school holidays, yes it was busy but we managed to get sunbeds without getting up at the crack of dawn. The hotel try hard to prevent people reserving them and if the beds are left for over half an hour the towels are removed. The hotel and grounds are huge and absolutely stunning, it definitely had the wow factor for us.

I found the beds comfy and rooms were lovely and spacious we had a family suite. The bath is huge!! Occasionally we heard people next door during the night but it’s a hotel so that is expected. You see staff constantly cleaning and the waiters are so friendly, you get the impression the hotel has extremely high standards and you are made to feel special, the staff can’t do enough for you.

The pool temperatures are fine, I was able to get in quite easily anyway!! The kids loved the mini disco and the only slight criticism would be it should go on for longer, after about 3 songs ‘panchi’ comes out (every night) and the kids que for a photo and then the mini disco is over!

Over all we have had a lovely holiday and the hotel exceeded our expectations

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Etshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
121baobab, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Etshaw,

Acting as a second home for our visitors is a great responsibility for us. Our desire is that everything should be perfect so that our guests only concern is enjoying both the hotel and this beautiful island.

Comments such as yours encourage us to continue, to keep working hard, reminding us that the work is worth it. We are happy that your time with us met your expectations and we hope that it will not be too long until we see you again.

Thank you,

Public Relation Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the most amazing hotel me and my husband has been staying. The area outside is more than magic, it`s like walking in Jurassic park, only with the birds singing around you and the sound of waterfall. The staff is professional, sweet, helpful and do all they can to make our stay a stay to remember. SIMPLY THE BEST! We`ll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Hilde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
121baobab, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hilde S,

Thank you for choosing us for your last visit to Gran Canaria. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with other holidaymakers and for your comments giving us ideas for our future. We hope that we will see you again at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Public Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have just come back from a weeks holiday at this amazing hotel to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary it’s not for the faint hearted though, on arrival we were aware of how dark it seemed, it is based on an African theme and doesn’t fail to do that, however registration was done very quickly by very happy helpful staff wearing Safari suits.
Our room was great 3rd floor, overlooking the lazy river, the site itself is hugh, 7 pools 2 of them have a beach theme with artificial sand, great for the little ones, each time you go exploring there are life size animals at various areas (not real obviously) my wife’s favourite was a couple of elephants just behind one of the pools.
The food was brilliant, loads of variety and such helpful staff, and evening entertainment was also good most nights, if you go early or late in the season you may need to wear something a bit warmer as there are lots of open areas.
Only a couple of negative points personal to us was in the evenings walking around outside could be quite perilous due to the fact is was lit with very dim lights and found it quite challenging, lots of people were saying the same and the pools are all quite deep around 1.45 meters but that’s a personal opinion.
The walks outside the hotel are great, lots of cafes, bars and great restaurants, all in all a great hotel, and got the African theme spot on, we are telling family we were on a Safari holiday for our special celebration give it a try you won’t be disappointed. G & E

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank gandeCramlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
121baobab, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Lopesan Baobab Resort for your recent holidays and for sharing your experience with other visitors.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the check in and of course our staff. Also, we are grateful to hear that you liked the room which we have choosed for you in such a special occaision.

We would like to inform you that the hotel lightening belongs to the African Theme.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your holidays, together with your wife and we would be very glad to receive you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Public Relation Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, the staff are very friendly however def not 5 star. The food is a major let down. Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. Same food everyday very little rotation. The evening buffet is like a cattle market.
Be prepared to go out most evenings, which is an easy option as there are lots of great restaurants within 5 minutes walk.
This hotel is aimed at families with children my suggestion would be to cater to children at meal times a little more.
5 star and have to pay for safety deposit box?? This is 2018 really?? Plus no free WiFi? Even McDonald’s offer this??

You def need to try harder to get the 5* rating. Doubt we would return not a patch on the Rui Palace

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Missmolly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
121baobab, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your email and for choosing the Lopesan Baobab Resort during your holidays on Gran Canaria.

We are very sorry to hear that we could not fullfill your expectations and we hope you may give us a second chance in the future.

We would like to inform you, that at our buffet restaurants there is a different theme everyday: mexican, canarian, italian, spanish, international and asiatic. Normally, the food has one of the best punctuation.

At our hotel, we do not add the price of wifi and safe to the room price as other hotels, we let every guest choose by their self if they wish this service or not.

Kind regards,

Public Relation Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to put our Spring Break for a week in Lopesan Baobab, Gran Canaria, after having stayed away from the Canary Islands for more than 20 years. With two small children, and the climate, the Canaries form the perfect backdrop.

The property is impressive in general, with a vast area spread out with different pools and facilites, however, as stated, some of it comes across as dated. Upon check-in, when asked whether I wanted a safe, and subsequently had to pay for it, i started having suspicions about what was coming.

Lopesan Baobab has everything, but comes up lacking on so many fronts on the details that would rate it a five star outfit in my view. No water bottles provided in the room, no coffee/ tea option in the room, as well as an unacceptable WIFI arrangement which prompted for password every half a day, only to offer a barely acceptable connection. When operating with a few devices across the family for work/ netflix/ social media, this just becomes poor, and so different to my experience in Mallorca, as well as other resorts across Asia and the Pacific. Rest assure I learnt the username and password by memory after only one day (it was not your room number/ name, it was a customized username and password like we were going online in Fort Knox).

I have spoken about the rooms already; they are generally ok but a bit dated. The bed are not great, but will do the job. Cleaning staff polite and friendly, except when I asked them to come back as my entire family was in the shower; that day we were put in “solitary” and received no turn over service, and forget about the small pieces of chocolate that the kids liked so much... fortunately next day I did not stand in the way when they came and everything went smooth.

For people that enjoy fitness centres the hotel offers an ok gym, however, the machines/ threadmills are probably 10+ years old and sounds like they are close to breaking down. I suspect that the hotel speculate in the Titan Gym which is in very close vicinity/ inside the hotel. €24 for a week’s pass is okay in my book for an excellent gym, although for a resort such as this I’d expect it to be included.

Of course if you prefer the outside run the area is great for that, near to the seaside promenade.

The food and beverage was good, although not five star. This is a challenging task though with so many guests and the buffet style setup. All parents have probably experienced the mayhem such buffets may represent, this one was ok. Options exist for ala carte dining as well, for an extra charge.

The staff that organized the activities for the children was very good, always positive and a lot of activities. The pool areas are good for small as well as older children.

All in all; a number of things missing in my view to make this a five star outfit, but it obviously depends on what you’re after. In my book this was just okay, with no guarantees to return.

Room Tip: Option to have sea view, but that will be a bit more noisy as it faces the road in front.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank msh060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
121baobab, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear msh060,

Thank you so much for describing your whole experience at Lopesan Baobab Resort and for sharing it with other travelers on Trip Advisor.

We are concerned about the deficiencies of quiality you have experiences during your stay regaring all the extra services as you expected they should be included in the price.

At the moment Junior Suites and Senior Suites are the rooms that have included the safe, wifi and tea making facilities in Junior Suites and a coffee nespresso machine at the Senior Suites. Unfortunately this services are not offered at the moment in all our rooms but we will of course take notes of your constructive critics in order to improve this in the future.

Regarding the gym facilities we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied at all with the quality of the machines. Titan Gym is not a Lopesan Baobab Resort property as it is an external gym so unfortunately can't be included in the price as it is a private company. It offers the possibility to charge directly the costs to the room as the hotel dispose of special agreements with them+

We are glad to see that you have also enjoyed your stay and were satsisfied with our entertainment team and pool area.

We really appreciate all your points of view and for Lopesan our guest satisfaction is one of the most important things to fulfill. Our guests opinions will always make us aimprove all our services.

We hope you will choose Lopesan Baobab Resort for your next stay in Gran Canaria.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews