We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food house”
Review of The Riverbank - CLOSED

The Riverbank
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Riverbank hotel, bistro and bar in Truro is a little local gem that newcomers to town will be delighted to discover. Tucked away just behind the cathedral on the riverbank in the centre of town, only ten minutes from the train station, this lively restaurant is a colourful and sunny place to enjoy a meal with colleagues, friends or family, and the personalised service and hearty British menu are impressive. The walls here are adorned with a rotation of local art exhibits, and the stylish setting coupled with the convenient location have made the Riverbank a much talked about Truro dining destination. The menu at the Riverbank restaurant offers everything from Sunday roasts and burgers to salads, pasta and delicious puddings.
Reviewed 29 August 2012

been in here many times,,great service great food,,but please clean your toilets,,,i may have came in on a busy day as they were not at there best but,i am not going to dam this place for that! good prices smiles all round to!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTruroRiverbank, Manager at The Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Riverbank.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy our food.
Since you review we have implemented checks that occur throughout the day on our toilets.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
The Riverbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

Went here on a Thursday night and the only slightly disappointing thing was how few people were in which didn't really help the atmosphere any! Other than that we were very impressed with the standard of food and service.My starter of mini fish pie was absolutely sublime and the best I've ever tasted.We had lamb with summer beans for main which was beautifully cooked although if I was being ultra picky I would say the beans lacked a little flavour. Kids ( we were celebrating A/GCSE successes!) had Duck and Steak and both said each was the bet they had ever tasted (lovely fries and triple cooked chips too!).Gorgeous puds of Choc Torte,Creme Brûlée and Sticky Toffee Pud also all excellent. Service was very friendly and welcoming and helpful without being obtrusive. Just one slight niggle might be worth looking at - we sat in the conservatory and it appeared that a door off this possibly lead to the smoking area outside as several people were in and out from the Bar during the evening - not really what you want when eating and certainly not on a cold evening (which fortunately it wasn't!). That however is a minor thing and didn't in any way detract from a lovely evening. Thanks to the Staff and Chef and very good luck to you all- No.20 in Truro is surely not your deserved position?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank slideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTruroRiverbank, Manager at The Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review The Riverbank.
We are really pleasedf you enjoyed your evening and food.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
The Riverbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Had a lunch time meal here. Very welcoming, lovely venue and atmosphere. The menu was varied, included lical produce and hard to choose from as there were some lovely sounding dishes. Food was delicious and so well presented.
Fine dining experience but at an affordable price.
Will definately be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SWOOZ186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTruroRiverbank, Manager at The Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to reviw The Riverbank.
I will pass on your compliments and we hope to see you agin soon.

Kind regards
The Riverbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I decided after long hard week working in truro I decided to trat my fiance to a evening out we heard there was a michilin stared trained head chef and team now at the riverbank we were not to be dissapointed we had chicken terrine with mini loaf and scallop blt which was fantastic and extremely clever it was nice to see waiteresses proud to serve such great food for main we had wild seabass and cornish ribeye I asked for it med rare and it was cooked to perfection then for desset cornish cheeses with fruit jellys and seeded crackers and a gourgous chocolate truffle torte with coconut ice cream which was to die for and the vanilla salt worked so well with it. I will defiently be returning to the riverbank and will be recommending it to my friends great food and good service in gourgous location nice to see a great restaurant in truro again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank soledave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTruroRiverbank, Manager at The Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review The Riverbank.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your meal here and i will make sure the staff read your compliments.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
The Riverbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Riverbank has a very modern feel to it, everything inside is 'just so' and very welcoming. I nearly fainted at the price of a round £11.10 for three pints of Amstel but the menu made up for it. Lots of choice on both the normal menu and the specials made it difficult to decide. One in our party had the mackeral which although nice was not perhaps as fresh as it could have been. The scallop BLT however was very innovative and tasted really good. The lamb main course was a little overdone and whilst very tasty the crab ravoli portion with only two parcels for the £19 price tag i thought was a bit too small. The creme brulee was described by one in our party as a wee bit special and the cheese board was fairly good despite the frozen grapes. However when we asked for expresso martini's at the end of the night first we were told there were no glassess than they hadn't got the right ingredients. The supervisor for the night had only been there for two weeks and maybe with a bit more time and support from the manager it will become an excellent place. I do however think the place has potential and i will be back on my next visit to Truro.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTruroRiverbank, Manager at The Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review The Riverbank.
We are glad you enjoyed your overall experieience. In regard to the points you raised we have taken them into consideration.
We have added an extra parcel to the crab ravoli. We have also updated our glassware stocks, and ensure that our bar is fully stocked to make everything on the menu, however predicting stock levels can be difficult at times.
We hope to see you again
Kind regards
The Riverbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Riverbank also viewed

 
Truro, Truro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing