We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,432 results
Traveller rating
893
356
140
24
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
893
356
140
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach dress code the main hotel cocktail bar corner bar sea view bungalow room hotel beach pine trees half board long trousers beautiful hotel beach towels buffet style evening meal for lunch waiter service changed daily
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 1,432 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Went to White Rocks for my wife’s birthday last week and having read some of the reviews lately posted I can’t believe I went to the same place.
I found all the staff very friendly and helpful the food was very good,ok not always piping hot but it never is when a buffet style.The location was great,the private beach wasn’t huge but if you like swimming or snorkelling very good not a strip of sand with a featureless bit of water in front.The air con worked ok when we got in the room after a day in the sun.thetemp lowered quickly.The only whinge I have is that the wi if was pretty hit and miss.Both of us and the rest of us who traveled all agreed that we would visit again.

Room tip: Sea view recommended
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, Guest Relations Manager at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing White Rocks Hotel to celebrate your birthday holiday and that you liked swimming and snorkelling in the hotel's private beach. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found the service and facilities to be of a good standard. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to White Rocks in the near future.

with our best wishes
the White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 2 weeks here. The hotel is clean, modern and elegantly furnished with hints of tradition (some beautiful old black and white photographs etc). You are left aline, not hassled or 'entertained', and the atmosphere is quiet and relaxed.

Dining - we were half board and really impressed with breakfast and dinner.
A couple of recommendations - some evenings there weren't many options for vegetarians as even things that at first blush seem vegetarian (rissoto, salads, stuffed mushrooms) contain bits of bacon. Perhaps bear this in mind?
Water - jugs of water should be available on the buffet rather than at table. It would also be a good idea for the hotel to have a few jugs of iced water at reception as most hotels do in hot countries (especially given it us quite a climb from the beach to main hotel.)

Bar - lovely cocktails but quite slow service

Beach - great swimming and snorkeling. Recommend some water shoes as quite pebbly to get in.
Didn't see the need for staff to insist on closing all the beach umbrellas at about 5pm when it was still very sunny even when we were sitting under them?! Odd!!

Recommend hiring a car as not a huge amount to do in immediate vicinity.

Rooms - clean, spacious, lots of storage space. Cleaning staff were really good, although occasionally it was 3/4pm before our room was cleaned.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank clemk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, Guest Relations Manager at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent holiday at White Rocks Hotel. We are pleased to read that you appreciated the elegant surroundings and understated ambiance that we offer and found the cleanliness standards to be high.
We appreciate your comments as it is only by listening to guests that we can make improvements to our services, products and overall experience. We are sorry to have not fully met with your expectations, as we are committed to delivering a high standard of service to all guests. We hope that we will get another chance to welcome you back to White Rocks in the future.

Kind regards
The White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

This is a fantastic hotel. Our room looked onto the road but this wasnt a problem as even in peak times it is very quiet. The comment about the aircon - that visitor probably made the same mistake as us and didnt switch it back on every time you come into the room or after opening the balcony doors. Yes it is limited to 20 degrees but once we had it working it was very cold.
Food - bar snacks by the pool very good and reasonably priced. Main restaurant food was extremely high standard and different every night of our stay. Breakfasts equally amazing. Make friends with Peggy to ensure a good table outside.
Bar - brilliant barman making excellent cocktails, all very friendly.
Small beach but perfect for children as very shallow and fantastic snorkelling. Water temperature warm enough for hours of swimming and loads of fish to see. Neighbouring beaches offer water sports and a much nicer sandy beach but you will have to pay for the loungers and brollies.
Location - literally 10 mins from the airport meaning we were swimming within about an hour of landing ! Yes you do get plane noise 4/5 times a day but not intrusive and great for plane spotters. Lassi and Argostoli very close by, both quite lively so not a sleepy Greek fishing village but lots of tavernas, shops, etc.
All in all defintiely recommended and we will be back.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, Guest Relations Manager at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of your recent stay at White Rocks Hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your holiday and that you found the standards of service, food and facilities to be high. We do boast a fantastic location for the airport, beaches, local resort area and capital which helps guests to make the most out of their holiday experience, so its pleasing that you were able to do so. We do appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to White Rocks again in the near future.

Warm wishes
the White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We had 10 days at the hotel and could not fault the location or the rooms/hotel. It is very convenient for Lassi and Argostoli which is great.

We stayed in a bungalow which had a wonderful view and they were immaculate - modern design and the daily maid service was brilliant.

The bar service was great and the bar staff were really friendly and attentive, particularly Joanna who was great with our little boy.

The food quality; however, leaves a lot to be desired. Ordinarily, we would not have opted for half board but thought that it might be easier with a 4 year old. Unfortunately, a lot of the meals are repeated which became quite boring. A number of the dishes lacked flavour and every time I opted for a meat dish it was dry. We did not enjoy the buffet-style either as it felt too much like a free-for-all and nothing like an enjoyable or relaxing meal that you would hope to have on holiday. We felt strongly that the food did not match the standard of the hotel.

The breakfast was mostly quite good, although again there was no variation to what was on offer. The orange/grapefruit juice was not fresh - something that you would expect.

One day we opted to swap our evening meal for lunch and this was extremely disappointing. This entailed a three course lunch which sounded more promising than the evening meal. We opted for a seafood pasta, which turned out to be a very mushy risotto. We also chose a chicken and pork dish for the main course which was last night’s leftovers and, of course, exceptionally dry. The desert choices were an unnamed cake, fruit or ice cream. The fruit was exactly the same as breakfast and we could not decide on the flavour of the ice cream. The service was slow, we left most of our food and no-one asked why we did not eat the food? All in all, it was dreadful. Perhaps they could offer an alternative dining option once a week - steak restaurant, Asian cuisine, something to mix it up a bit?

The hotel lacks a bit of a personal touch. The staff seem to do what they need to do, but there is little character. One waiter, Panagiotis, was much more friendly and took the time to have a quick chat with the diners, but we witnessed him being promptly told to get back to work. My husband felt that they were perhaps cutting costs and ensuring efficiency rather than creating a friendly atmosphere.

Finally, a few more staff on reception at peak times would be helpful - it took us 40 minutes to wait to check out!

On the whole, we loved the hotel itself and the location could not be faulted. We would be more than happy to return on a B&B basis.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank CVF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, Guest Relations Manager at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your views about your recent holiday at White Rocks Hotel. We appreciate your comments as it is only by listening to guests that we can make improvements to our services, products and overall experience.

We are pleased to read that there have been some aspects of your holiday that you enjoyed, We are committed to delivering all hotel services to highest possible standard, so we were disappointed to learn that your expectations have not been met during your stay.
Overall guest scores for the food choice and quality in the restaurant is high, but we understand that this is a subjective area and that is why we are always happy to learn from guests what their individual preferences are. All guests have the option to book a bespoke private dining dinner in the A La Carte restaurant were any requirements can be met.

As the hotel is not an All Inclusive Hotel, there are no other types of restaurant, as we focus on providing dishes with local flavors from Greece.. To offer variety there is a different theme each evening showcasing international, mediterranean and local flavors, so we are sorry that you did not enjoy the range available.

We wish you the very best and thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Kind regards
the White Rocks team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We booked this Hotel because some friends had been and recommend it, I can see why. It is very comfortable, the rooms are clean, the beds and pillows, always for us an important point, are excellent. The rooms are spacious and very well presented. The food is a buffet and these can be a bit repetitive but the quality was fantastic, Peggy, who greets everyone and makes sure the dress code is is met, has been mentioned previously, she is very efficient and polite. A lot of people have mentioned dress code, for me this is not a bad thing but a couple of issues on this, it is not advised by the Tour operators and therefore required me to buy extra trousers when I got there, this should be much better advised, there is one for the ladies, some of course do dress up, but the younger ones often look like they have just come off the beach, if there are rules for men, which are enforced, then it should also apply to the ladies.
The staff are very polite, professional and helpful and appear to be proud of where they work, this reflects the level of commitment the management have on presenting the correct high caliber environment that White Rocks clearly has.
There are a few minor things, on the patio/balcony there are no lights for reading a small but important thing in my opinion, there is no entertainment in the evening and the one that is scheduled for a Friday was cancelled and nothing else put in its place. We were booked into Bungalow 59, this is at the very end of the complex and requires a long walk from the Hotel through some beautiful scenery but hilly walkways, which for anyone with a disability would be too much, we weren’t advised about this or asked if we had any disabilities, either when we booked the holiday or when we booked in, which meant this would have been a problem had we had walking difficulties. Lastly, but not within the control of the Hotel is the noise from the Crickets, it is invasive at times until you learn to shut them out, thankfully, they appear to go to sleep at Sunset.
As I say, minor things, but with everything else being done so well, it’s a pity these few things are not sorted.
Overall, a fantastic week and we will be coming back, but probably asking for a room in the Hotel.

Room tip: Sea facing bungalows get the sun all afternoon and can be quite hot.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Garry Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteRocksHotel, Guest Relations Manager at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Guest

We are delighted that you chose to celebrate your special wedding anniversary at White Rocks Hotel and that you had a fabulous holiday with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and positive comments about the accommodation, staff, service and standards. The dress code is something that we strongly believe in as we feel that it helps to maintain standards and fits with the overall ambiance of the hotel. All of the Tour Operators that we collaborate with do feature the evening dress code in the brochures and websites, so we are sorry that this was not communicated to you at the time of booking.

White Rocks is advertised as a peaceful and tranquil hotel, therefore we do not offer an everyday entertainment program, as this takes away from the style that we wish to promote. Many guests choose White Rocks for a quiet retreat we do understand that that some guests may prefer more entertainment around the complex. In regards to the cancellation of the Greek night event which was cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We value your feedback and will always look if there are any improvements that can be made from guests suggestions.

Thank you once again for placing your trust in White Rocks for your anniversary and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews