We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
92
66
17
18
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
66
17
18
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews specials board pork belly church bells scallops rooms are beautiful mother's day wooden beams boutique hotel coaching inn roll top bath sunday morning coffee machine breakfast service high street food was lovely tempura batter bed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Great location,friendly staff and a beautiful room.
Arrived down to breakfast at 730 to be told that there was a problem in the kitchen and that nothing was working!
I was told I could have toast or a continental !
I could hear staff talking in the kitchen and it seems nothing was prepared,so that was why there was no breakfast!
Really disappointed as £95 for bed , tea and toast seems a little steep!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank LynnyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Not being a native to Welwyn Garden City I have only visited this venue twice. The first time it was a dusty old pub with mismatched furniture and dirty windows. My second visit, on the other hand, was a huge improvement I’m happy to say. It’s now a charming village pub with exquisite interior design, a mouthwatering menu and the most finely-tuned service I’ve experienced in a long while.

Unfortunately I was only able to spend an hour or so for lunch one Saturday so I just had a light snack from the clipboard menu. During my time here I noticed more and more people flocking in for a tasty bite to eat, making the most of the sunshine. I also hear it’s a popular choice for a drink whilst weddings are due to start in the church opposite – what a fantastic idea!

I’m hoping to return again the next time I’m in the area and I’m looking forward to having a more substantial meal over a longer period of time.

Can’t wait!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DJBobHoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

The the Wellingon for a 'quick' lunch with my wife before shopping at M&S at London Colney.Warm welcome which was maintained throuhghout our visit without becoming over-bearing.

My calves liver and bacon was excellent, a big helping and a nice touch of pink in the liver. I would certainly have that choice again. Note, the Rusty Gun and the Wellinton are in the same group and their liver & bacon is almost a siignature dish. My wife had an open sandwich, avocado and chicken, which was very good. The chips were ok but just routine.

Room tip: The Wellington is a restaurant and not a hotel. The website is screwed up
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank soyezbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Been a regular at this restaurant for years and today I've gotta be honest, I was very let down.

Had to ask for a drink at the bar, had to ask for a table, dinner was warm but we was starving and just ate it quickly... Not one person asked if we wanted another drink, I was desperate for a glass of red with my cold beef! not one person asked if we enjoyed our meal...

The waiting staff were too interested in banter and plumping up cushions! To top it off you had the cheek to add a service charge which I had asked to be removed.

This establishment was always buzzing and very busy and today it was dead... What a shame.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 863marissal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We are regulars at the Wellington and generally always enjoy the restaurant. The menu is very varied and comprehensive with daily specials. The waiting staff are mostly young people and very friendly and efficient. We went there recently for a late lunch at about 4pm. We had the Wellington burger and fish and chips - very good! They also have an excellent selection of wines available by the glass as well as by the bottle.
The wellington is open all day so you can pop in anytime for just a coffee or pint/glass of wine.
The only take bookings for parties of 6 or more so I suggest you arrive early to get a table a sometimes there's a wait for a table.
No parking problems as they've got a car park plus you ca park in the road free for 90 minutes.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank O941ZLbrianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews