We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Nearby Hotels
The Kapalua Villas, Maui(Kapalua)(Great Value!)
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$725
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$335
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aston at Papakea Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$245
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
US$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$365
Cancelon
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$629
US$309
Cancelon
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,650)
Filter reviews
3,650 results
Traveller rating
2,381
700
327
150
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,381
700
327
150
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe banyan treeclub levelresidential suiteburger shackhonolua storesushi restaurantterrace restaurantour honeymoonkapalua areadt fleming beachfour seasonspineapple grillcoastal trailplantation housegeneral storelobby barbeautiful property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 3,650 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love this hotel, wow! Top notch suite with breathtaking views. I loved the pines! Plenty of room and comfy bed. Big kitchen. I wish there was some welcome gift for kids like most places do. A shirt, stuffed animal, sand toys or something. The virgin drinks and kids drinks are over priced.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank npaskett85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just spent 5 nights there and couldn't be more disappointed. The rooms are basic hotels rooms, nothing special like resort casitas at similar places. Besides everything being grossly overpriced ($24 for a basic hamburger and $20 for a drink). The level of service sucked. Checked in and they didn't have the billing correct and wanted to be argumentative and have me fix it rather than get off their lazy rear ends. Golf package all messed up but concierge finally resolved. Wanted a basic burger one day for lunch but their burger place was closed and the pool restaurant didn't serve. It was 10:55 and by god they were going to make us wait until 11. Then pool place has no burgers. Sent us to the bar/lounge but heh they don't start serving burgers till noon. Sheesh. The worst was the arrogant jerk Sheila at checkout. There was a credit to my bill and she wasn't going to put back on my credit card or my company who set the thing up. Obnoxious and arrogant, jerk is the most pleasant word I can possibly use to describe her. Don't waste your time and money here. Find a place in Kanapali

Room Tip: Don't go here
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Ritz Carlto... K, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Mark – we are very disappointed to hear about your experience as this is certainly not typical of the level of service provided by our Ladies and Gentlemen. Your feedback is incredibly important to us, and we would appreciate an opportunity to discuss any of your concerns further if you contact us directly. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

You can actually feel when you walk into a place that embraces excellence. It’s there the second you roll up in your car, when you walk into the lobby and when you check into your room. This is one of those places. Such places are rare because it’s challenging to make this happen top to bottom, from the bell to the spa, from the restaurants to room service. Some examples...when we arrived we were warmly greeted and cared for. When we discovered our room wasn’t ready the good people at the resort made sure we felt at home. When we received our keys to the suite and found the suite, the keys didn’t work. This is where a place of excellence separates itself from a normal hotel. One of the room cleaning staff immediately saw our challenges w the keys, came over, let us in, called the front desk to make sure we were who we said we were, then once confirmed, proceeded to ask that new keys be brought down while she acquainted us with the room and its amenities. Holy smokes this lady was fantastic and she was not a manager or a concierge but it didn’t matter. It probably didn’t hurt that she was a Wisconsin native as midwestern people tend to go over and above when it comes to hospitality.

Everything is top notch here. The rooms, the spa, the restaurants and pool facilities. If you can foot the bill, you cannot go wrong. The people working make excellence their business.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank woodsstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We love Ritz Carlton and have never had a bad experience at any of their properties. The suite we had was beautiful and the resort was fabulous but if you get assigned suite 2628 - RUN! It butts right against an elevator that runs almost all night and feels like it is right next to the bed. The suite itself was beautifully appointed and since we used Ritz points to reserve the property we did not feel it would be appropriate to ask to be moved. Also, a tip is to go up the short walk to the Honolua store - breakfast at the hotel will set you back close to $100 for a couple and we went up to the store for great food and coffee. The spa is fantastic and all other amenities are terrific.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

The hotel and grounds are beautiful yet people need to realize it rather windy. My husband and I were celebrating our 10th year and we were updated to a one bedroom and treated to a bottle of Champagne to celebrate.
The walk in front of the hotel is 1.76 miles one way from the beach shack on D.T. Fleming Beach to Kapalua Bay. Most of the trail is asphalt but there is a spot with dirt/rocks. March is the end of whale season but we were treated to lots of whales. We also did another trail from the hotel that was in the mountains. Very overgrown and remote and the views were non existent outside of lush foliage.
We actually went in the ocean at D.T. Fleming and I ended up spraining my ankle in the surf. I would not reccomend going in the water, but the beach was lovely.
Kapalua Bay was wonderful for snorkeling in the calm waters but the beach itself was crowded. Bring a beach chair if you can!
Skip the breakfast at the Ritz. It was $40 for the typical buffet sans the Mimosas, however they did offer “virgin” Bloody Marys.
There is a free Kapalua Shuttle to restaurants, golf, and beaches in Kapalua. There are also 2 excellent restaurants which are walking distance. Sansei is a Sushi place that offers 25% off between 5 - 6PM. Very affordable and some of the best I’ve had. The other is Taverna, which is Italian. Get the Osso Buco - yum!
There is also a small grocery store/cafe that sells everything you may need including a good selection of wines.
After 4 wonderful days, we departed for Kaanapali Beach. Wish we had more time in Kapalua...

Room Tip: Our room was closest to the ocean and also had pool view. Pictures are posted.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews