We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not another five star review?”
other travellers have booked this property
The River Aire runs through the Village and provides a perfect place for an enjoyable walk.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The River Aire runs through the Village and provides a perfect place for an enjoyable walk.
The front of the Cottage includes a private patio overlooking the Aire Valley. Fantastic open plan Living Area to ensure the holiday cook is not excluded!  Well equipped kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
The River Aire runs through the Village and provides a perfect place for an enjoyable walk.
The front of the Cottage includes a private patio overlooking the Aire Valley.
Fantastic open plan Living Area to ensure the holiday cook is not excluded!  Well equipped kitchen.
Large flat screen TV enables you to relax and unwind indoors.
Master bedroom can be set as a Twin or Super King and overlooks Aire Valley.  Includes TV.
Bedroom 2 has a view overlooking unspoilt hillside.
Patio Area
One view from the patio
View in the distance from Bedroom 2 and the Landing Area window
View of Cononley from one of the many stunning walks surrounding the village.
The New Inn.  Our local pub serving traditional pub food every day excluding Monday
Cononley Park.  A fantastic play area for children of all ages.  Includes a sand pit and skate park.
Cononley Post Office.  The store sells a variety of goods from alcohol and toys to fresh fruit &
Cononley Train Station with High View Holiday Cottage visible in the background.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Skipton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MFZB1972
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not another five star review?”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having spent three nights at High View Holiday Cottage visiting friends in Skipton, I can only describe it as a lovely modern home from home and excellent value for money. Set in a raised village location, the views from the bedroom are fantastic and it is well situated only being a few miles from Skipton and still close to Keighley and Bradford. The cottage is well presented and built solidly with all mod cons and benefits from having an extra shower room downstairs. This was a godsend when we had a couple of extra guests on the first night. The beds were very comfy and extra pillows were available if required. The freedom and space you are given compared to a hotel room sells this to me every time and we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot and warm welcome”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed from Mon - Fri. Warm welcome and everything we needed. The cottage was spotless and great for the 4 of us. Location was just right providing a village feel but local attractions being relatively close.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayday515
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“disappointed”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage was very clean, but sadly the view from the front of the cottage was from the bedroom, downstairs you are looking at roofs and chimney pots. The patio overlooks the houses below and you feel you are looking into their living room. The cottage could do with a few homely touches it seems soulless, when downstairs you are looking at a wall with a television on over the dining table from the other settee you are facing kitchen units the window is at the back of you, we would say a car is necessary as the cottage is up a rather steep hill, and the walk to the village and railway station is rather a long walk

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. I would urge any potential guests to look at the pictures in our listing as these clearly show what the Cottage is like. I feel confident that there are sufficient furnishings to provide a homely touch as our aim is to look clean and modern, as opposed to chintzy. If you prefer old fashioned this is definitely not the place for you!

As to whether a car is necessary this depends entirely on the guests. We’ve had lots of guests stay who arrived by train. A large proportion of our guests also choose to leave their car at the Cottage and utilise the train. My daughter has walked to school and back since she was 3 and this is further from the Cottage than either of the pubs or the park. I can walk to the pub and train station in 5 minutes, though I walk fast, so I always advise guests it’s a 10 to 15 minute walk. I agree though that the Cottage is up a steep hill so may not always be suitable for all guests. The parking space is however directly outside the Cottage porch on a flat area. Also, I pushed a double buggy up the hill when I was heavily pregnant so if you have a good level of fitness you’ll find it a doddle!

I’m really proud that out of the 53 Reviews we’ve received 51 are 5 out of 5, 1 is 4 out of 5 and this is our lowest at 2 out of 5. Unfortunately I think you had unrealistic expectations. I received £230 for a four night booking for four people. I believe that less than £15 per person per night is fantastic value for the standard of accommodation we offer.

I would advise you examine a property listing in more detail in future and wish you all the best in finding somewhere you enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a h
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at High View Cottage”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great 3 nights stay at High View Cottage, the cottage is of a very high standard, very clean and very well equipped for a self catering stay. Gemma the owner was very helpful with information before we arrived and when we were there. We strongly recommend at stay here.
David & Andrea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDHasting...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location - quiet but close to everything we wanted to do”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I sought a quiet cottage in North Yorkshire, with easy access to Skipton, York, and cycling in the Dales. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, and a shor walk to the Cononley Train Station gave us a break from driving and got us wherever we wanted to go. There is only one pub serving meals in the village, but it is a friendly place with good food. The guest book provides recommendations for other excellent pubs nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Outdoor seating was nice, but on a paved surface - a spot in the garden would have been even nicer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$79
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing