We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
290
115
43
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
115
43
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white rocks beach carvery meal royal portrush golf course main course poster bed fantastic views window seat generous portions overlooking the sea pavlova piping hot the atlantic ocean roast beef giants causeway melon hotel is situated lovely meal
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018

A lovely welcome from Kate who we must give special mention for helping us out with our booking when I got our dates mixed up (Thank you), Kate also excelled herself again by extending our stay with a complimentary upgrade to a suite (Very Comfortable) with the most stunning sea views. Tastefully decorated reception and suite, however this is where it ends. On our return to the hotel later that evening we visited the bar which was very dark and dreary. The barman although pleasant needs training (poured whisky from bottle into glass over a sink - more whisky went down the sink that into our glass, and ingredients as he was unable to make any suggested cocktail (a staple in any decent hotel today). Needless to say we took our drinks to our suite to enjoy the views.
Breakfast sadly was a real let down, the staff however were lovely and very attentive. The food was uninspired, tasteless, cold, soggy/dried out (think Little Chef/canteen) suggest sourcing local produce, the dinning room also looked tired. The Royal Court is situated in a prime location and should offer a cooked to order breakfast which we would gladly pay extra for as this it such a huge part of the experience when staying in a hotel. Maybe the hotel is going through a makeover as we left feeling that we had stayed in two different hotels. On a positive note we will return but would hope that the breakfast offering is much improved.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KitteeeeKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We went here for evening meal as a last minute decision as our usual venue was booked up for the evening carvery ! On arrival reception staff were very pleasant And stated the dining room was fully booked but we could enjoy the same meal in the grill bar and we were happy with that ! We were told to wait to be seated and the manageress would find us a table ! When she arrived she lifted 2 menues and muttered if you want the carvery the main course is £13 or you can choose off the main menu ! Following this she found us a small table in a corner ans stumped off again returning a few mins later to take our order! My husband had chicken Maryland and I chose the carvery meal ! We ordered starters 1 prawn cocktail and 1 melon which was fine ! When we sat down to the main course we were totally disappointed ! The chichen appeared to be processed and it was very crispy almost unable to cut through and my carvery meal was cold , the creamed potatoes were full of hard lumps as were the mashed carrots and parsnips ! The chefs who was carving the meat at the carvert was very nice but the other one was very rude and unhelpful when I asked hin for cranberry for my turkey he gave me a dirty look and stated he had none !!! Following this experience I will not be back ! Needless to say and I also thought the prices were over priced considering you can get a 3 course carvery which is £15 in the Lodge Hotel just a few miles away and in my opinion much nicer food more pleasant staff and cosier surroundings ! Admittedly the views from The Royal Court are amazing so I guess thats wot you pay for !

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 318colleens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

A really good selection of meats , vegetables in the hot carvery and equally wide selection in the cold options (salads)
You can also choose to eat from the menu which provides a great selection of dishes to suit all tastes and ages of diners

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Loraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

This was our first visit for the Sunday carvery and we were not disappointed. We did book as it was holiday time. A very busy carvery and lots of choice and for a very affordable price..£20 for 4 courses and £10 for children under 12. Food was piping hot, service was good and staff friendly. We shall definitely be back and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank annemJ3653VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

3 of us had carvery lunch on 14 Aug. Having been here several times we knew to book in advance as always very busy. We were immediately shown to our window table and sat admiring the magnificent view. Lunch, as always was generous portion sizes of delicious well cooked food. Carvery never disappoints. We all thoroughly enjoyed our lunch and desserts were generous sized delights! 2 had the pavlova. Delicious and tastefully presented. 3rd person had very tasty apple crumble with custard & ice cream. A place to return to each time we stay on the North Coast for a truly enjoyable meal.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank irishgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews