We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work meal ”
Review of The Little Castle

The Little Castle
Ranked #60 of 390 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Price range: US$9 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Little Castle is situated just off junction 29a of the M1 we are the perfect place for a bite to eat. Boasting an excellent and varied menu with Carvery at the heart of it, the Little Castle makes an 'illuminating' venue to dine with friends and family. Children will love our dedicated kids menu and indoor and outdoor play areas, allowing you to relax with a meal, or a choice from our great range of drinks. Including an excellent choice of cask ales from Marston's five breweries, a great wine selection, featuring choices from the Rothschild wineries as well as a range of soft drinks and spirits. So come along and bring the family, you won't be disappointed.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Polite staff and good service , lovely carvery and worth the money . Amazing pudding and would return again

Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomYeates, Manager at The Little Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards
The Little Castle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We have all eaten here before. And carvery has always been ok. Today 4 out of 6 had carvery. Meat was tough but edible.
However I had allotment salad. Trying to eat healthy, but this was lettuce with some cold carrots off the carvery (should have been roasted- not!) and few new potatoes. Also off the carvery, and French beans - the mint dressing tasted like mint sauce from a jar- again from the carvery- so basically few veg with lettuce covered in mint sauce, pineapple on the gammon was hard as well. the puddings were fine though,
Overall not great.
Need to
Say that the staff were really helpful though.

Thank suze9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomYeates, Manager at The Little Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi
Thank you for your response. Please contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss any issues you have mentioned

Regards
Tom
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Came today for a family lunch, we chose the carvery, only just warm, when the waitress asked if all was ok, I replied that the food was only just warm, in fairness she did ask if I would like my food to be reheated which I declined , the point being it should not require reheating when it's just been served, this seems to be a common problem here judging by the amount of similar comments on trip advisor, will be avoided in future.

Thank vulcanb2558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomYeates, Manager at The Little Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi
Thank you for your response. Please contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss any issues you have mentioned

Regards
Tom
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Have used this establishment several times as it is just off the M1 and makes for a much more pleasant meal break and better value than the nearby motorway services.

Pleasant restaurant ambience and good service provided. Standard but wide Marstons menu or carvery option.

Unfortunately the quality of the food is rather variable, ranging from excellent (think lovely creamy Camembert in Yorkshire pudding) to another occasion where roast potatoes were hard and dry as were the Yorkshire pudding starter. I think it depends how busy the pub is, we have found the food to be fresher when the pub is busy and food turnover high, therefore freshly cooked, whereas when the establishment is quieter food has been standing for longer on hot plates and dried out.

As well as a range of desserts there are the large, unusual gateau slices that can be packed up to take away along with a pot of cream

We shall continue to use this establishment on our travels as despite its shortcomings it makes for a more pleasant break on our regular long cross country journey than the hustle and bustle of the motorway services

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank earthtravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomYeates, Manager at The Little Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Hi
Thank you for your review
Please call me to discuss the issues you have mentioned

Regards
Tom
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Been eating here for the past few months but recently the carvery meat quality has deteriorated. Beef has been as tough as shoe leather and the turkey dry. Come on Marstons please sort this out, it's spoiling the pub.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomYeates, Manager at The Little Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Hi
Thank you for your review
Please call me to discuss the issues you have mentioned

Regards
Tom
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Little Castle also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Bolsover, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Little Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing