We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$175
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Farmyard Inn(Youlgreave)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue House(Bakewell)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Garden Room(Bakewell)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
226
142
49
32
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
226
142
49
32
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe publarge portionsbeer gardenchunky chipshomity piepeak alessaturday afternooncar parkchillimonday marketthai fish cakesfull englishbeefposter bedchatsworth goldlovely foodcentre of town
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Arriving at a very busy time, the staff waiting on were apologetic but the owners were very rude and a little hostile. They had overbooked and more or less blamed us for the issue. They had found alternative accommodation for us (Queens Arms next door, excellent stay, very friendly) but they only took cash there and The Peacock almost refused to take our card payment. They made us feel very uncomfortable and spoke down to us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
14  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

absolute garbage!!!

the fact that we went out of our way to find the couple alternate accommodation, and after they had been emailed a week beforehand to explain the situation, we even let them pay on their credit card, because they didn't have the cash!!!

the alternate B & B didn't take credit cards, which we are taxed and pay VAT on when they didn't even stay with us, should be testament itself that we went out of our way to help the couple....yes we were busy, i'd say the pub was to the point of bursting when they arrived at lunchtime on a saturday, but it didn't prevent me spending an hour of my valuable time making sure they would be alright on the night.....another sad example of ungrateful people who just don't know when other people are actually going out of their way to help them through there own silly mistake....read your emails!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

we just come back from a two night break in bakewell. we stayed at the peacock inn, in the four poster room (3). Lovely room, bed great and a lovely big shower.Good choice at breakfast you could have full english which was definitely to much for us. But you could pick from the large selection what you wanted. we also ate there on friday and saturday night food again was lovely, our only complaint was we could not eat it all as the portions were BIG we did our best though. Staff were lovely. Room was clean and well maintained. Would love to go back hope to book again soon.
Les and Ray Manchester

Room Tip: we chose room 3 the four poster bed room which was lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Excellent service and friendly staff. popped in for a pint of Peak Ales and made to feel welcome with a good range of quality ales. although we did not eat the meals looked good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamFlyingscotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The rooms had not been aired in a thousand years and both rooms smelled of dust and mould. The carpets probably had not been cleaned for 3 years or more!

The breakfast was really nice and tasty with local products so that was a plus.

If you're in Bakewell eat at the Peacock but chose elsewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank PSF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peacockbakewell, Owner at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

This post comes totally out of the blue and leaves me very disappointed.....I guess we must have upset the guest during their stay and thus we are left with a 'vindictive' review.....

The visit was during the very hot and clammy period we have just experienced, and I feel this was reference to the lack of 'air' in the room, even if you opened the windows this particular night, the air was very stifling.

The guest is obviously entitled to an opinion, which we respect, be it a very harsh one, but in our defence this is a complete one off, and I have to state in response the family room, in which they stayed, it is cleaned every day, and one half of a divided full room, has in fact been fitted with a new carpet only this last 12 months.

I do respect the review, but none of this was ever mentioned during the stay, because if anything doesn't meet with your approval whilst staying at the Peacock, we will always try to 'mend it' so you are not disappointed with your accommodation, please refer to other guests reviewing the Peacock on Trip Advisor.

In conclusion I can only apologise to the guests' by posting this response, but as already stated nothing was said at the time.....???

ps......it is a totally exaggerated review!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Child free for the weekend, we decided to spend time walking in the Peak District. The Peacock is ideally located in the heart of Bakewell. The staff were friendly, our room was clean, cosy and surprisingly cool considering it was so hot outside. We had a hearty breakfast each morning before we went exploring. We also ate there on Saturday evening, our only moan was that the main meal was so big we didn't have room for a dessert!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews