We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & could be excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Peacock Bakewell
Ranked #15 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed in the cottage which is remote from the pub and enjoys self catering faciliites. The location is excellent, in a quiet period courtyard, the only downside being the lack of parking, but that's available at the pub itself some 400 yards away. We enjoyed the stay, but given the above average size of the bedroom it's a shame that there's only a double bed, a king or superking would easily be at home and would provide much more comfort. There were other small things which would be helpful, such as the provision of dishcoths and tea towels to help with washing up and there are a couple of cleaning issues which could be improved, notably the mature looking cobweb in the lounge skylight (which itself could do with a clean on the outside as it's filthy). Given it is a self catering cottage it's also a shame that there is no suitable place to sit for food; there is only a very low coffee table and low sofas. Still good for a change and nice to have the independence

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DGandCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

For a couple that had the audacity to call my cottage 'Quaint & Could be Excellent' when quite frankly if you had seen the state they left it in, well to put it simply....you would cringe!

It was left in a quite shocking state, and how people actually live like this is actually quite beyond me, then have the cheek to say....given the above average size of bedroom it could do with a king size bed....yes the bedroom is larger than average and lovely.....isn't that what customers want?

Then to further go on and say other small things, such as providing a dish cloth and tea towels surpasses the previous criticism, as I for one would simply have asked, and we would without hesitation provided one, or even two, or if it was such a problem, pop down to the local Co-Op 300 yards away, and purchase one for probably less than a quid!!!

And finally the cleaning issue.....these guests were staying in a self contained cottage for four days, yes self contained, that means we don't interrupt or they more or less help themselves, and a cobweb can and does often materialise in that time span, as does a dirty sky light with the horrible torrential rain (full of sand I hasten to add) we have experienced these last few days.....and all summer really, so please don't chastise us is while you are in the 'Quaint' Cottage, and we don't see you throughout your visit.....because really the Cottage you are in is just too nice to leave really...much too nice to leave in the state our guests DGandCG left it in.........!!!

But 'still good for a change and nice to have independence in'.....I'd say Too Good, because if that is Change & Independence.....try 'RESPECT for other people's property' before you list your little quips.......

As stated in my opening remark.....believe me....you would have cringed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 335 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Arriving at a very busy time, the staff waiting on were apologetic but the owners were very rude and a little hostile. They had overbooked and more or less blamed us for the issue. They had found alternative accommodation for us (Queens Arms next door, excellent stay, very friendly) but they only took cash there and The Peacock almost refused to take our card payment. They made us feel very uncomfortable and spoke down to us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
13  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

absolute garbage!!!

the fact that we went out of our way to find the couple alternate accommodation, and after they had been emailed a week beforehand to explain the situation, we even let them pay on their credit card, because they didn't have the cash!!!

the alternate B & B didn't take credit cards, which we are taxed and pay VAT on when they didn't even stay with us, should be testament itself that we went out of our way to help the couple....yes we were busy, i'd say the pub was to the point of bursting when they arrived at lunchtime on a saturday, but it didn't prevent me spending an hour of my valuable time making sure they would be alright on the night.....another sad example of ungrateful people who just don't know when other people are actually going out of their way to help them through there own silly mistake....read your emails!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

we just come back from a two night break in bakewell. we stayed at the peacock inn, in the four poster room (3). Lovely room, bed great and a lovely big shower.Good choice at breakfast you could have full english which was definitely to much for us. But you could pick from the large selection what you wanted. we also ate there on friday and saturday night food again was lovely, our only complaint was we could not eat it all as the portions were BIG we did our best though. Staff were lovely. Room was clean and well maintained. Would love to go back hope to book again soon.
Les and Ray Manchester

Room Tip: we chose room 3 the four poster bed room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Excellent service and friendly staff. popped in for a pint of Peak Ales and made to feel welcome with a good range of quality ales. although we did not eat the meals looked good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamFlyingscotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The rooms had not been aired in a thousand years and both rooms smelled of dust and mould. The carpets probably had not been cleaned for 3 years or more!

The breakfast was really nice and tasty with local products so that was a plus.

If you're in Bakewell eat at the Peacock but chose elsewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank PSF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peacockbakewell, Owner at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

This post comes totally out of the blue and leaves me very disappointed.....I guess we must have upset the guest during their stay and thus we are left with a 'vindictive' review.....

The visit was during the very hot and clammy period we have just experienced, and I feel this was reference to the lack of 'air' in the room, even if you opened the windows this particular night, the air was very stifling.

The guest is obviously entitled to an opinion, which we respect, be it a very harsh one, but in our defence this is a complete one off, and I have to state in response the family room, in which they stayed, it is cleaned every day, and one half of a divided full room, has in fact been fitted with a new carpet only this last 12 months.

I do respect the review, but none of this was ever mentioned during the stay, because if anything doesn't meet with your approval whilst staying at the Peacock, we will always try to 'mend it' so you are not disappointed with your accommodation, please refer to other guests reviewing the Peacock on Trip Advisor.

In conclusion I can only apologise to the guests' by posting this response, but as already stated nothing was said at the time.....???

ps......it is a totally exaggerated review!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.3 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
0.2 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
5.0 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
232 reviews
4.7 km away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
0.1 km away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#5 of 44 in Bakewell
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Bakewell

Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range: RM599 - RM1,252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Peacock Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Bakewell Hotel Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing