We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Peacock Bakewell
Ranked #15 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile

So glad me and my partner stayed here Saturday night, what a lovely place, the pub it's self is very what I call pretty, the bar staff where polite and smiley, the food is to die for, the portion size is enormous, well presented and just yummy, our room was clean, comfy beds, couldn't really ask for more, will be staying here again in the future.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank graceowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, .......and who are we to argue, from your experience, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

...and we couldn't ask for more either graceowens, as you compliment our lovely little establishment with kind words!

Next time you arrive at the Peacock you will see a massive difference as we go about with a major refurbishment of all the rooms as we speak, so if you felt everything was superb this time Grace - you will be left with your mouth wide open the next time we show you through the door to your room!

......to be continued!

But thanks for a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2015 via mobile

We found the peacock in bakewell a superb venue ..Graham the landlord. .A character of the highest order. .His food was out of this world..We shall definitely be back..Thank you Graham. .see you soon...Paul and Ali baxter.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Humbled 22:19 as you gotta stay alive with the devil in a blue dress at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

Paul & Ali - what can I say as you compliment this lovely little establishment of ours, as it keeps you under it's thumb, and more good times are on the horizon, as we refurbish all our rooms to an amazing standard!

If you thought the Steak on the Stone was amazing Paul - get a grip everybody out there in Trip Advisor land, as I give you all the thumbs up to some major refurbs of all the rooms at the Peacock, which will out shine, out class, out run, as there ain't no mountain high enough to keep this man down with the plan we have for you when you stay at the Peacock in Bakewell.

Rooms - you don't need rooms where we're going at the Peacock, as it Class, Style & Good Times with Mitch Rider all the way!!!

Just don't forget to put that blue dress on as we take you for that ride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Peacock for one night last week on our way home from York and found it faultless. Our room was comfortable, warm and clean, our welcome was equally warm and efficient. Our evening meal was excellent with some nice individual touches. Breakfast was served in the conservatory and well presented. All in all a very pleasant experience which we would not hesitate to repeat.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Those changes are a coming David and Big Changes to make it more Unbeatable, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

And an unbeatable review under normal circumstances David, but things aren't the norm these days at the Peacock as we refurbish all our rooms with a budget of £60,000 that will bring all the rooms up to an amazing standard with complete refurbishment of all the bathrooms (room 3 the now superior four poster room ) is absolutely amazing, with a complete refit of everything to just an amazing standard.

All the others are also being brought up to a more fantastic standard, and have to be seen to be believed - especially as we are only a B & B in Bakewell, but I can promise you no-one will have better rooms on offer in Bakewell, when the complete over haul is complete!

It will be Five Star all the way at the Peacock come this Springtime and getting back to the Superior four poster - I could move in tomorrow.

Thanks for a great review, and if, and when you return - Wow, you will see the difference!

Show Time at the Peacock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015 via mobile

A mooch around Bakewell with my boyfriend and sister before a long journey home for her. Fancied a proper Sunday lunch. The Peacock was recommended. We've walked past it before, it never drew us in. So, we managed to get a good table in the corner, perfect. Staff not over friendly but fine and efficient at finding table. Looking around, meals looked great and people seemed happy. A varied menu and we opted for beef and turkey roast dinner. Big Yorkshire pudding, mash (was it real potato? Not sure but nice anyway) puréed carrot, roast potatoes and gravy (not sure how 'real' it was but tasty) and a big dish of perfectly cooked steaming veg to share. Bacon wrapped sausage and stuffing with turkey. All the sauces avaiable. Delicious. Only annoying thing is, why do staff in restaurants wait for guests to be served the hot meal before thinking of providing cutlery!? And they should ask "would you like", not "do you want". The ladies loo was ok but a bit of an awkward space and nowhere to hang or put a handbag. We don't want to put handbags on a toilet floor. On that note, if we go back we would not wish to sit in the back of the pub, too close to loos and kitchen smells, definitely got the best seating area. Summary, if you want a good meal in Bakewell you can't go wrong here. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Buzzard2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, Is it a Bird from Buxton, or simply a Bird of Prey, passing judgement in a trivial way, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

When the buzzard from Buxton posts a review,, I feel we should all be aware - aware of what you may ask, because in all essence, this to bring up review Number 300 on the The Peacock Bakewell, (or dare I say review 730 if you were to include the 430 reviews on The Peacock - our restaurant sister site on Trip Advisor, still in Bakewell of course - now that's some going I'd say), but still essentially, it is a very nice post, but leaves me a little bewildered in a funny sort of way.....

You are recommended a lovely eatery, as you look and mooch around Bakewell for a Proper Sunday Lunch - and fortunately for us and for you - you listened to the locals, and listened well, as I defy you to find better, but then you seem to find issues with such trivial matters - Why bother to post a review.

You question the nice potatoes, and was the gravy real - of course in answer to both points, everything is real at the Peacock!!!

You close your analysis with the comments regarding cutlery, - ( it is placed on the bar by the way ) and where to hang your hand bag - Beggars belief really, but let's give you an answer to your curt remarks.

It was busy, (now that's not a novelty) and the waitresses will have simply in the heat of the moment brought your knife & fork - sorry cutlery, in the moment, and where to hang your handbag, - let's just say, the Ladies Toilets at the Peacock, are probably the best in Bakewell, and although there wasn't a hook (there is now!!! ) there was plenty of table top space to lay down, and even request a massage, if you really fancied the experience!.

Your review is well appreciated, (note the addition of the hook now for those extra expensive handbags) and we thank you for the lovely comments re: your meals, but to be finicky at the level you state, I feel is just a tad cruel, but hey we fed and watered you well, so we can't be doing too much wrong I feel - even if you are a buzzard from Buxton!

So in conclusion, as you rightly quote - if you want a good meal in Bakewell, you can't go wrong here!

Enjoy - and don't take my comments too seriously!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We stayed for 2 nights early December. We received a very warm welcome with complimentary tea and the most enormous shortbread biscuits. Our room was delightful. Breakfasts and dinners in the dining room were very good. I love the fire in the bar area. Location excellent for Bakewell and Chatsworth. We are looking forward to another visit very soon.

    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeacockbakewell, ...a nod's as good as a wink to a blind horse, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

.....and just to say your review is also most enjoyable Brenda, and for reasons only you and I understand, but thank you all the same!

Until we meet again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.3 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
0.2 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
5.0 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
232 reviews
4.7 km away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
0.1 km away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#5 of 44 in Bakewell
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Bakewell

Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range: RM596 - RM1,247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Peacock Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Bakewell Hotel Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing