We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely place to stay for a family get together!!”

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
105 reviews
big room
Living room
Living Room
courtyard
Dining Room
captains bedroom
downstairs twin
downstairs double
Games Room - this room is built into the hill and so in the winter can be a little musty
Games room 2
Games room
Garden in summer
View from the Garden in winter
The unassuming view from the road
Sunday Lunch in the dining room
plan
Peveril Castle
Curber Edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 105 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EveClarke
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely place to stay for a family get together!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We booked to stay at Victoria Cottage for my Mums Surprise 60th Birthday, there were three generations staying under one roof and it worked out perfectly.
The layout of the cottage was quirky, living/relaxing areas all on different levels, upstairs/downstairs bedrooms and bathrooms. This suited us well as my Father had recently had a heart operation so wasn't great with too many stairs.
The cottage was clean and tidy (maybe in need of a lick of paint soon) and had everything there we needed for our stay. The garden was ready for a tidy up but was well informed by the owner before hand. Bakewell offers so much that the garden really was only used in the eveing for a BBQ!
Considering the area which cottage is situated i was suprised how parking was no problem. Between us we had 4 large cars, 3 of which we managed to park on the drive, and the other we parked in town and split the costs for parking.
It is very hard to find such a wonderful place to stay for a large family where you don't end up invading each others space, my three year old boy cried when it was time to leave, that to me says it all.
I would highly recommend this cottage and would like to say a big thanks to the owner Maggie for everything!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpp45
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for family groups”
Reviewed 17 June 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Had a great short stay with friends (two families with young kids). There's enough room for big get-togethers over dinner and also a big family room when kids or adults want to hang out. Close to the amenities of central Bakewell but with a great view of the surrounding countryside from the raised garden. A very good base for exploring the area and enjoying time away with friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luketeacu...
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“spacious living in a great location”
Reviewed 17 June 2011 for a stay in July 2010

Not even a wet weekend could dampen our stay here, in a house which is deceptively large. The town has great places to buy food, and the kitchen is perfectly equipped to cook big meals in (we have kids so didn't go out).
The bedrooms are really big, and you could fit quite a few people in here without ever feeling you were tripping over one another.
Good location - walk one direction and you're in the town in about 5 minutes, and walk the other, you're walking alongside beautiful streams full of trout.
Really magical weekend, loved it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fidz72
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Big Modern House in Centre of Bakewell”
Reviewed 7 June 2011 for a stay in November 2010

We had a great weekend at this property which has plenty of room for 3 families and their children - Walking distance from historic centre of Bakewell - home of puddings NOT tarts the locals will tell you and within striking distance of the Peak District and local attractions such as the Devils, er.. giant cave. Charming pubs walks and relaxation a plenty this is a beautifully fitted modern house with open kitchen / diner and separate building living area across from the main house - Recommended a great country bolthole and weekend away from whatever big smoke you're from North or South and a great introduction to the Peak District.

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HulmeandF...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Bakewell”
Reviewed 6 June 2011 for a stay in November 2010

3 families comfortably stayed in this house. It has a clean, chic interior with a layout that meant there was plenty of space to socialize, but also allowed for each family to have their own space.

The kitchen, set in the centre of house, was very well equipped and was the perfect setting to share a Bakewell pudding or 3!

Off road parking was an added bonus and being able to close the gate meant that it was safe for the kids to run around outside without worrying about them. The garden, set back almost at the level of the roof had the most fantastic views over Bakewell.

We had a fabulous weekend in Bakewell and highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$448
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing