We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house, great location and perfect for a...”

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
big room
Living room
Living Room
courtyard
Dining Room
captains bedroom
downstairs twin
downstairs double
Games Room - this room is built into the hill and so in the winter can be a little musty
Games room 2
Games room
Garden in summer
View from the Garden in winter
The unassuming view from the road
Sunday Lunch in the dining room
plan
Peveril Castle
Curber Edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
_christin...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house, great location and perfect for a group”
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This is the second time we have stayed at Maggie's house and will be back! Super well stocked, cosy and fun place to stay. Close to town and great walks. Works really well with groups/2 families. Owner great to deal with and helpful. Handy being able to park in the courtyard. Loved all the books and DVDs for a winter stay - perfect after a good walk in the Peaks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Thank you for this lovely review. It was great to welcome you and yours back and I hope that you will all return. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iamachowd...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Place to bring in the New Year”
Reviewed 13 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We all (12) had a great time at this house. The kids had loads of fun with all of the toys & films that were provided (especially the marble run game!) and loved hanging out in each others sizeable rooms. Well equipped kitchen, perfect for cooking the festive dinner and huge dining table to seat us all. Quirky house just minutes walk from town, shops, cafes, pubs and play parks. Bakewell is really pretty and was lovely for us all to wander around. Tremendous way to bring in 2018!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your review, we are really glad you had such a great time, have a wonderful new year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Family Xmas”
Reviewed 28 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

What a wonderful place to spend Xmas with family. Loads of room for everyone and I’ve never stayed anywhere so well equipped.

The support by the owners was also exceptional.

Would highly recommend to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
We are so pleased that you had such a good time at the cottage and that you found everything you needed. Thank you so much for your review. Very best wishes and Happy New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miyork
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Christmas in Bakewell”
Reviewed 27 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A first family Christmas for 12 years. We travelled from South Lakes, our daughter and family from Redbourn and sonTom and his wife flew in from Dallas.
The cottage was perfect. An extremely well well equipped kitchen five good bedrooms with fresh white bed linen. Towels for everyone clean and soft. We have had the very best time. Excellent recommendations for eating out which we did twice but were more than happy to self cater. Lots of room for everyone to,have their own space or gather together.
Maggie could not have been more helpful before our visit and whilst there. Immediate response to any queries.
Cannot recommend highly enough. We are already thinking of Xmas 2019 when it will be our turn again to organise a Christmas location convenient for all our travelling family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your review, we are so very pleased that you had such a great time and that the cottage was just right for you. We look forward to your next visit! Take care and Happy New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect wintery weekend in Bakewell”
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Even before reaching the cottage the communication with Maggie was excellent, letting me know everything I might need to know and answering every question quickly and was really friendly.

The cottage was perfect, the 12 of us had loads of room and nobody was stepping on anybody else's toes to get around. Everything was in great condition and good quality so it really felt like a home for the weekend. Comfy beds for everyone and the living room was an amazing space for everyone to sit around and relax, even with all 12 of us!

There was lots of information for getting the most out of the house and for the local area - the house is a less than 5 minute walk into the centre of Bakewell so amazingly well located fro getting around! We had cars with us but didn't need them the whole weekend (a bus to Chatsworth and its Christmas market and walks around Bakewell).

Everyone said what an amazing time they had and how much they loved the cottage - we'd definitely go back!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2017
We are so glad you had a great time at the house. Thanks so much for leaving such a helpful review. We look forward to your return! Best wishes, Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$426
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing