We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing cottage with breathtaking views!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
karen k
derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage with breathtaking views!”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This was our second visit to Imladris and we loved it just as much as the first! The views are amazing, High Tor is opposite and it's extremely atmospheric.The cottage itself is beautifully renovated and contains quirky antique finds which sit well alongside the clean, rustic finish of the rooms. We loved the wood burner , with dragon motif and the second bathroom with a view of the stars! Imladris is the perfect place to spend a restful holiday , with gorgeous bedding and interesting antique items, combined with stunning views...sunset and High Tor is not to be missed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuntyHeat...
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice walks but cottage not to our taste”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed for 3 nights in December. The cottage is in a good location for local walks from the door. The cottage was peaceful in the evening because the road below was not busy.

There was a known issue with the heating which was frustrating but the owner drove over to attend to once we contacted him. Other than this the house was hot and we had constant hot water.

We dislike clutter and were not impressed that every surface and wall is filled with 'stuff', some of it broken or worn out, most of it seemingly from the surplus of 2nd hand shops in the local area. The cottage is small and would benefit hugely from all of this junk being removed to feel more spacious and clean.

As the daughter of a fireman I'm keen on fire safety. We noted there was no smoke alarm, fire extinguisher or fire blanket provided - smoke alarms are mandatory for cottage rentals. The front door does not open meaning the only means of exit is via the back door.

The kitchen utensils left a lot to be desired. The pans were all very worn out and some had big rust marks on them. We ate out in the evening rather than use them. The glasses and utensils I did use all needed a wash before I was happy to work with them. I suspect they are given a cursory wash by occupants and the cleaning staff do not check that they are properly clean.

The steps closest to the cottage are absolutely lethal. They are green with slime from being permanently damp and then this froze overnight. They need jet washing to make them safer.

This cottage will appeal to some people more than others. It's not to my taste and I would not recommend it to my friends but the reviews would suggest that some people do love it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2017
We do have wired in smoke alarm.( top of the stairs )
The boiler is fixed ( boiler part broke . These things happen )
There are photographs of the cottage on line to see what it's like.
We don't understand why you made the choice , perhaps it was a surprise.
Kind regards

Paul and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shan H
1 review
“Beautiful views and fabulous home from home accommodation”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely short break in beautiful surroundings. Fabulous cottage a short stroll from Matlock Bath. Steep steps and stairs but highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thank you Shan we really appreciate your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Imladris. The cottage is beautiful, so comfortable and in a great location. It was a lovely idea to have the photobook about the refurbishment of the cottage. We couldn't believe how the owners got the bath up all those steps and into the top bathroom! Imladris is perfectly located, a short walk into Matlock Bath for dinner. A good idea to take a torch with you for the return trip up the steps. We had a little difficulty finding it on our arrival - it was already dark and the ivy had grown over the house number on the wall. The steps seemed daunting that first night in the dark, but it was fine after that. The kitchen is well equipped, has pretty much anything you could want. Very pretty too. It's such a beautiful little place, would definitely consider staying there again. Bed very comfortable, slept to well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views, so clean, beautifully furnished and equipped.
Liked least: Nowhere to put anything in bedroom and bathroom. Lovely items on all the shelves but I'm more of a minimalist but that's personal taste - my friend was totally charmed by all the knick-knacks
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living room and bathroom on top floor; central heating
Liked least: Kitchen; stairs (inside);parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing