We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Robertswood House

Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Entrance hall. Leading of to the Lounge/Bar, Kitcken and Dining Room. Stairs up to the first floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Entrance hall. Leading of to the Lounge/Bar, Kitcken and Dining Room. Stairs up to the first floor.
Large Lounge with lots of comfortable seating plus a 42in 3D Flat screen TV, Freesat & Blu ray DVD.
Bar Area. Run your own pub for a while. We can supply Kegs of Beer or Lager as well.
South facing Dining Room. Set here for 12 but will comfortably seat 18 Adults.
Robertswood House Spa Garden.Our wonderful Spa Garden is now finished and ready to use. It's GR
The Sauna steam room with Plunge Shower beside it, Which is Not for the faint hearted......
Kitchen. There's everything you will ever need in here.
Kitchen. Loads of space for prep and cooking and people.
Room 1 West facing Twin En-suite
Room 2 South facing Superking En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 2 South facing as a Twin En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 2 En-suite.
Room 3 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 3 En-suite.
Room 4 Double En-suite. East facing overlooking the side garden & water feature.
First floor landing.
Room 5 Double En-suite. West facing with stunning views over Stanton Moor.
Room 6 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 7 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 8 East facing as a Super King En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 8 East facing as a Twin En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 9 Double En-suite. Our only room without a bath, just a walk in shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bladeanda...
stockport
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My family booked Robertswood for my special birthday, with people coming from all parts of the country. The house certainly has the "wow" factor, particularly the hot-tub which was very well used by adults and children alike. The views are fantastic from the front rooms and front garden which we used to eat following a barbeque.

Every bedroom was beautifully furnished - maybe some of the top-floor rooms could be cool in winter judging by the condensation in the mornings. The kitchen is really well equipped and was more than fitting for the 18 of us. My grandchildren loved the place, and the owners were more than accommodating with high chairs etc., and loved playing "barmaids" in the bar area.

All in all, it's the perfect place for a family or friends' celebration / re-union.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milsos
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, lovely house!”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Robertswood house last weekend and what an amazing time we had!
There were 15 of us, mixture of couples and singles. all in our 30s

It was a real WOW moment when we drove up the hill to the house, it really is stunning and so are the views. We spent the first few hours just sitting in the garden relaxing with some wine enjoying the late sunshine and enjoying the view. Then it was inside for home made cocktails at Robertwood's very own bar! we all took it in turns to do our best Bet Lynch impression!

The cottage is clean, nicely decorated and furnished throughout, the kitchen especially is well equipped as are the beautiful bathrooms.

Close enough to Matlock to walk, or there are plenty of local taxi numbers behind the bar!

We will definetly return, David, (the owner) was excellent and so friendly and helpful when we were booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds were so comfortable
Liked least: there was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A perfect country house location for a socials celebration.”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I stayed at this property with eight girlfriends to celebrate mine and a friends birthday and it was fabulous and in a great location within easy reach of everywhere we wanted to go. The rooms were clean and tidy, each with their own bathroom and individual decor. The dining room and kitchen were immaculate and the lounge area, including a bar which can be used to stock your own drinks was plenty big enough for us all. There's a tv with free view in the lounge and also in each of the bedrooms. All in all I can't fault the property or the location and would definitely recommend it to a large group looking to get away. The only downside is if you're less mobile and don't have a car as it's a very steep drive up to the house.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ally's r
1 review
“Great house for a gathering with fantastic views”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a great weekend. Very spacious house with excellent kitchen facilities to cater for a large group.
Made full use of the spa garden.
The only observations would be the house would benefit from a larger fridge and a freezer, more rubbish/recycling facilities and a touch up with the decor in two bedrooms.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely house”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We visited the house in may half term as a family get together plenty of room for the 16 of us the house was great with every thing you needed the only fault was the lack of cleaning of the house on arrival kitchen is in need of a deep clean but all had a great time

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$669
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing