We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evokes the 'Darling Buds of May'”
Review of Henny Swan

Henny Swan
Ranked #7 of 90 Restaurants in Sudbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Beautiful 17th Century building in a stunning setting by the River Stour. Modern & relaxed style with 3 distinct seating areas to choose from internally,including the restaurant, as well as the terrace & garden. 16 beers on tap & extensive wine list. We open at 12 noon daily & normally serve food & drink all day. Booking for the restaurant is advised. Please check our website for details of our food service times. There flat access to the bar & toilets & a small step between the bar & restaurant (we have a ramp)
Reviewed 1 June 2021

You don't buy a house for the house - you buy it for the view as Churchill said. This is pub is not about a pile of bricks and a stunning view but the people that make it work. Hats off to the organization of how we cope in these times and I have to say the service was superb - especially Tracy and her gaffer who was keeping a sharp eye. People logistics is not easy. Great service and great cider.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 719hals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2021

We did book - its pretty popular so would definitely recommend you do so. The waiting staff bend over backwards for you! They have so many Covid rules to apply by - Drinks were at our table within a few minutes and food was delivered hot and tasty in good time - recommend the Mezze - chicken Caesar salad - and one of us had the halloumi sticks, which apparently where the best she ever had, Great location, brilliant service and very tasty food - would definitely recommend this place!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Purpletonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

Beautiful location, but food was average and the service was not good - very slow and staff didn't seem to know anything about what was on the menu. The weather was nice when we visited, but staff wouldn't let us move outside claiming the tables were fully booked. At least 3 tables were free the whole time we were there.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank 05LH05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

Great pub located next to the river Stour on a very quiet road. Not the easiest to find but worth it for the tranquil location and view. Food is good too. We had Cumberland sausage on a bed of mash onion sauce. Really good Service was polite and friendly and good adherence to all COVID rules. Shame about the weather on our visit but will be back for a drink one summers evening.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank bluehat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2021 via mobile

Glad we found this little gem today. Welcoming, friendly, staff. Delicious food & drinks in a beautiful setting. Can’t wait to come back when the weather is better & soak up the stunning views by the river.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 348francesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henny Swan also viewed

Sudbury, Babergh District
 
Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 

Been to Henny Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.