We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”
Review of Nung House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nung House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Very friendly people, nice and quiet place to stay, true value for your money! Good beds, nice food, surroundings are amazing, easy to walk around "town" and to the National Park! Stayed in the superior bungalow for 3 nights, wish we could 've stayed longer!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annikatmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017

We arrived in Khao Sok without booking accommodation and a lady from Nung guesthouse was at the bus stop waiting with some pictures and offered us to look at a room. We quickly checked Agoda and decided the reviews were good so we jumped in pick up truck and they took us to the guesthouse.
We picked a nice room with two queen beds and an ensuite bathroom for 600 baht for the 4 of us. The room was part of a building with three other rooms. It had it own veranda and everything looked very nice.
The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was fine. The provided mosquito nets were way too small, they didn't fit around the beds. Luckily we brought our own.
There was a pump right outside of our room that kept pumping all night long which was pretty annoying and not what you want to hear when you are in the jungle.
They were also building a new building which meant they started to work (and make noise) early in the morning. I understand they need to work sometime, but they never told us they were doing constructions and it was definitely not relaxing listening to construction sounds instead of jungle sounds.
The food was good and the young lady that served us was very nice.
We didn't book any tours with them and I don't know if that made them poor hosts but when we wanted to check out after two nights they were rude. We wanted to catch the 8.00am bus and wanted to order breakfast. The older lady had no intention on serving us, so we decided to check out and pay and get some breakfast somewhere else.
The older lady asked us what we were told the room would cost and when we said 600 baht she angrily said that was not enough, it was too cheap. We paid and figured that we wouldn't get a ride back to the bus stop so walked.
I don't know if they were rude because we didn't book any tours or if it was because there were bed bugs that night in another room and they had to clean all that up, but it definitely made us to not recommend this guesthouse. From all the guesthouses we stayed at, this was the only one we wouldn't come back to.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mirjam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Pros:
1. Value for Money, the bungalow is lovely!!
2. Clean and nice environment (not many mosquitoes, very well maintained)
3. Food is unexpectedly good
4. Friendly Staff, you can book all tours there

Cons:
1. Not recommend the canoeing tour, abit boring

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sallyk151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed a total of three nights. One was in the basic 300thb bungalow and the other two were in the 400thb bungalow. Both were wry nice, but well worth the extra 100 baht to get a sweet bungalow with fans, netting over a large/comfy bed and a hot water shower! Can't go wrong for that price!

The ladies running the place are really nice as well and you can book any your with them for same price as everywhere else.

The restaurant has a large variety of western and Thai food that is reasonably priced. Great place in nature and very quiet.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DyerCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Needs new management - 5 stars for the bungalows and 2 for management.
This hotel could double the price of their bungalows under new management. We paid 500 baht per night (no additional tax) for a decent size bungalow with its own bathroom. The setting is great, it's got a big lawn area with trees, swings, geckos and fire flies , the location is perfect close to all the restaurants and the entrance to the national park but off the main road, the rooms are clean, bed comfy, hot water, little balconies.. everything really. Although everyone was always really nice and easy to deal with, they just don't seem to be very interested in having guests, we couldn't quite work out the problem: when we first showed up looking for a room for the following night, we were told to wait, so we did but it turns out the lady we were waiting for was the same one that had been talking to a couple in the restaurant and going back and forth very calmly passing us to serve them more beer and water. Then we couldn't look at a room because "same as pictures on our phone", it was late and we were tired and the price was good so we booked it. The next morning we showed up to check in and the booking was no where to be found. So we waited, the lady came and all was sorted. We thought it was just the Thai laid back way of doing things but this behaviour was beyond that, no one seemed to know anything and are totally disorganised. We booked the 2 day lake trip and arranged for one more night on return and again for a moment we thought they hadn't taken a note of it or forgotten, not sure but the room wasn't ready (at 4 pm) and we had to wait again for it to be cleaned. The water was cut off twice and in both occasions they already knew there were problems with the water supply and no one was bothered enough to tell guests or seemed too fussed about it. That meant no water in any sink, toilet or shower - twice in 2 days... something not quite right with this place, the management needs a good shake. We would sadly hesitate before booking this hotel again (or thinking that we might have booked it), as it was so frustrating but we wish someone else would take over it.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Isabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khlong Sok hotels
0 km away
Anurak Community Lodge
Anurak Community Lodge
#1 of 2 in Khlong Sok
47 reviews
0 km away
Khao Sok Jungle Huts Resort
0 km away
Khao Sok Green Mountain View Resort in Paradise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Khaosok Homestay Resort
Khaosok Homestay Resort
#3 of 6 in Khlong Sok
4 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Khai Jungle Experience
#4 of 6 in Khlong Sok
1 reviews
0 km away
Phunawa City Park Resort
Phunawa City Park Resort
#5 of 6 in Khlong Sok
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nung House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nung House

Address: 202 Moo 6 | Khao Sok National Park, Khlongsok, Phanom 84250, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Phanom > Khlong Sok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Khlong Sok
Price Range: RM 39 - RM 66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nung House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nung House Bungalows & Jungle Trekking is located just a 5 minute walk from the entrance to Khao Sok National Park! We have a wide variety of Bungalows to suit groups from 1 to 8 people at any budget. Our Restaurant serves up delicious home cooked Thai food that you are sure to enjoy. We offer a full range of trekking Tours in and around Khao Sok National Park. At the end of the day, come by for a drink at Nirvana Bar. If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay with delicious food, reasonable prices, and great people, then come spend your holiday at Nung House. We speak Thai, English and Deutsch ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Nung House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing