We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, beautiful Baros”
Review of Baros Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Baros Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed for our honeymoon for 10 nights in December in a pool villa. This was our second trip as we got engaged at Baros and were originally going to go somewhere else for our honeymoon but in the end decided no where would be as nice as Baros. And we didn't regret our decision. We love snorkelling and the house reef is really lovely. We saw turtles, sharks (harmless), trigger fish, parrot fish, rays, a manta ray(I saw a quick flash of one on a dive on the house reef), starfish and some pretty coral. We spent most of the time in the water. I have some food things I can't eat and they were really accommodating - making me gorgeous sushi nearly every night. I still miss my papaya lunchtime juices! A special thanks to Shuhan for being so kind to us and making sure everything, like last time, was perfect. I am a swimming addict so loved having my little pool with the villa but we looked at the water villas and they are nice too. The room is cleaned twice a day and is just lovely to spend time in. I know from looking there are lots of Maldives choices and it's so confusing, but if you want amazing snorkelling off the beach, friendly staff, yummy food and juices, a beautiful small island (its very quiet which we liked) and no mossie bites (they spray the island with a harmless spray) then Baros is for you. The only problem is we don't think anywhere else will ever measure up.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Julie P,

What a wonderful feedback! Thank you so much.
We all are happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us again and greatly look forward welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
There are newer reviews for Baros Maldives
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,365 - 1,369 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

We arrived in Baros on the second week of our 2 week honeymoon, and as our first trip to Maldives we can only compare the 2 islands we stayed, and whilst I won't knock the first Island as it was very different, the first and last impression we experienced from Baros was exceptional and of the highest standard.

We had a fantastic transfer and on arriving you are greated with cold towels and fresh drinks, and a few nice touches thoughout your stay, I won't list them all as they come as nice suprises.

Our preference as it had been throughout our stay was to opt for a beech villa, (Baros Villa in this case) and it was exceptional. Room 206 was situated on the calm side of the island and had nice choice of full sun or shade, which is much needed in the mid day heat. The rooms are lovely and you get a generous 3 litres per room of complimentaty water each day, along with tea and coffee making facilities and a nespresso machine. Room boy kept us well stocked! The baros room which is larger than the pool villa's didn't come with plunge pool or spa, we had one in our previous island but rarely used it and with the sea just a few steps from your door............do you need one?

The house reef was in front of our villa and this was excellent and easy to access. A resident turtle and regular reef sharks made the daily snorkel enjoyable with the easiest of access.

The attention to detail and quality of service was far superior than we experienced on our first island, but like I say, I won't knock them as allot of it will be down to price and management style. The management team on Baros are very visable, approachable and all the staff continually smile and make you feel welcome. We like to find out about how the staff are treated and we were pleased to hear they are well looked after and they all enjoy their jobs.

Free DVD's were available for use in your room, we relaxed one night in front of the tv and that was a real treat for us as we rearely do this at home. Free internet in room and throughout the resort bars was also very useful if you have to check-in on emails for work or wanted to email family a cheeky photo from your phone.....our first island charged $10 for an hours access, so this free use was welcome.

We were half board and the food in the Lime Restuarant (which is still a la carte) was excellent, with a good choice to cator for varying tastes. The Australin sirloin steaks and Tuna steaks were some of the best we have ever had. For a treat we did go to the Lighthouse restaurant on our last night, leaving us with the very best of memories. As half board you are allowed to transfer a credit over to any of the other 2 restaurants which is a great idea. Again, not to spoil it for you I won't give the details away, but lets just say it was worth every dollar and with wine at $40 for a good bottle is affordable to all. Book it at least once!!

The island provides a lovely relaxing area in shade or mottled sun under palm trees, lots of day beds with towels provided, we often sat reading sipping cocktails there in late afternoon. Some good music provided throughout the week, so do give the sails bar a visit after dinner.

I can't fault the service, staff or the island and lunches are very affordable with a good choice of panni's, wraps and pizz's etc from only $14. If I was to be critical of anything, as like with the frist island we visited the water and soft drinks are a little expensive in comparison to other things, the pricing doesn't seem to be consistent across different goods. Beers at $7 for half pint seem epxensive but the cocktails were good value starting around $11 and the beech cool box offering 6 bottles of beer, 2 spring waters and nibbles came in very cheap in comparison. All in all we appreciate everything is imported so didn't worry about the cost.

Highly recommend you give this island a visit, we will be back!

Room Tip: 206 Baros Villa was excellent with access to house reef and full sun or shade. This is situated on...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CotswoldCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear Mr CotswoldCraig,

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback. I have passed on your kind words to all our team members.

It was a real pleasure for all of us to have you staying on Baros Maldives.
We greatly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

On behalf of the Baros Maldives team,

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We were very happy with our stay at Baros despite the fact that we there during the rainy season in June. I really do not think that half an hour warm rain can spoil anyone' s vacation.
The staff were very friendly and the food was great. Everyone in the hotel made our stay there a very special experience.
The only advice I would give the hotel is to maybe make a list with the dangerous sea life that swims around the island. The first day my husband got stung by a very small jelly fish that is a cousin of the Portuguese man of war jelly fish and was swollen for 2 days. They are so small that you would hardly suspect that they are so venomous and would wrap themselves around you. The house marine biologist told us they appear only after a storm from the deep sea and I have to say they really were there only the first day and after a storm on the last day. They are though very unpleasant and the guest should be made aware of their presence.
Apart from this the sea life around the island is great. It is a non-stop show of color and shape.
If you feel brave I would recommend taking the night snorkeling trip organized by the house biologist. You will experience a whole new world than the one you see during the day. I have to warn you though the the resident sharks will come much closer then usually as they are attracted by the torches. They did not do anything but we did get a wave of adrenalin.
I would recommend Baros to anyone, however if you are scared from sea life in particular sharks then the island is not for you. They are harmless but they are just there all day long... there was hardly an hour in the water without spotting one. While this one of the great points of interest for some it is a huge drawback for people who do not feel very comfortable around sharks

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank velasquezLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear velasquezLondon,

Shukkuriya for this kind TripAdvisor review! We are happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your time with us.
Thank you also for mentioning the great sea life surrounding Baros Maldives. As you said, “our” sharks are totally harmless and beautiful to watch.

We really hope to welcome you back soon on our small paradise!

Warmest regards,

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We have been to the Maldives a few times now and stayed at some fantastic resorts including Angsana Ihuru and Velavaru, Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru and Madivaru, Island Hideaway and Cocoa Island. As you can imagine we have got used to being spoilt and expecting top service! Baros did not fail, it is very convenient for Male, the Island is beautifully cared for and has some of the most amazing Palms I have seen.

The reef is good, it runs on the outer edge of the barrier wall, and it is easy to access. You will not fail to see reef sharks, maybe some rays and for sure the resident turtle ( look don't touch!!) We didn't dive this time but spoke to some that did and they saw Manta's, which is pretty special. We watched a dolphin make it's way along the edge of the reef one afternoon, from the comfort of our table at the restaurant!! The lucky dolphin cruise guests saw a large whale one evening, so you should always keep your eyes on the water there is so much to see.

There are lots of activities daily, and you can do as much or as little as you please, there is no hard sell. There were a lot of Europeans staying and only a handful of Asian guests and everyone during our stay was friendly and respectful of other guests enjoyment, (not always the case sadly).

The accommodation is fantastic, stylish and immaculate, if you can stretch to it, the pool villa's are divine and offer more privacy generally, both have stunning bathrooms and shady decks. The beds are huge and very comfortable, great touches like books, dvd's, fruit and high end toiletries add to the enjoyment. We didn't stay in an over water villa, we like the sand beneath our feet too much! But the guests we spoke to staying there loved them, although they are more exposed to wind and choppy water of course.

The bars and restaurants are the best we have had the pleasure of visiting, I loved the Lighthouse for sundowners, I would go back just to sit here again. The chef's are award winning and it shows, The Maldivian night is a must, the most delicious food I have tasted -fresh and made using lots of local produce ( fish and coconut ) add to that a great wine list, what more do you need? Just perfect.

The staff here are all wonderful. Thank you to Mr Blitz and his team for such a warm welcome, we particularly enjoyed the Manager's cocktail evening. Two highlights for us were the live music nights, totally under-appreciated by most guests, but beautiful talented singers and chilled music under the stars...heavenly.

If you go to the Maldives you will have a fabulous time simply because of the natural beauty and the amazing marine life. Choosing a wonderful resort for a stress free, relaxing slice of luxury will simply enhance your time and make your memories extra special.

Happy to answer any questions from other TA users

Jayne & Mick Wainwright

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kyera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Mr & Mrs Wainwright,

We, at Baros Maldives would like to take in opportunity in Thanking you for sharing your experiance at Baros Maldives on Tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure for all us having you at Baros Maldives and we all very much look forward to being at your service again in the near future.

Once again "Shukuriyaa" for staying with us here at Baros Maldives.

Warmest Regards,

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Im wrinting this review during the last night of my honeymoon in Baros. And im doing that because I feel I must give something in return, specially for the Baros team, for the days of dream I have passed here.

The first positive thing to talk about Baros, is the people who works here! They make the difference! I've been here for just 4 nights and lots of the employees could call my wife and I by our names! They are all very attentive and make all the efforts to exceed our expectations! And they dis exceed mines! I have to talk about this one situation and you are gong to understand: During a sunset cruise (highly recommended, thanks Shifag for the great time!) there were maldivian songs playing as a baclgroung music for the sunset... I really liked the musics and asked if there was a CD with them in the hotel boutique. They said no, but told me that I could find some CDs in Male during the sightseeing tour I would have the next day. Katharina (Another great person since the mail exchanges for the reservations before arriving at Baros) even instruct the guide to take me to some stores where I could find CDs with the musics I liked. But I couldnt find it in Male and I told this to Katharina when we returned from there. She said she was so sorry, and probably that woul be all in other resorts, but not in Baros, not for Katharina. At night I have received in my room a CD with all the musics I have listened in the sunset cruise and great handwrited card with a beautiful message! I couldnt believe that she got really worried about that! That was fantastic! Thank you Khatarina!

Lets talk about the restaurants now.
I've been to The Lighthouse in the frist night. Incredible place! Great ambiance (I had luck to have a pleasant night with a sky full of stars!), delicious food! Not so delicious bill.. ehehehe.. USD 300 with a sparkling wine. But come on, Its a honeymoon!
The Cayenne Grill was a "OK" experience. I had a black Angus Sirloin and my wife had a chicken plate that was nothing special. The buffet you can enjoy when ordering those kind of plates is good to start.Bil: USD 130 (no alcohol).
A great experience was the private BBQ on the beach. That was a dining included in aur honeymoon package, so I would not know the price, but probably is worth it! Imagine a table, candlelight, teh sound of the waves, and a Chef just for you cooking in front of you on the beach! All the starters were great and the main course which included a lobster was delicious!

Excursions:
Sunset cruise: Even if you can enjoy the sunset from the beach or your water villa, its is more pleasant to see it from a boat, with some maldivian music on, and being served champagne and canapés.
Male sightseeing tour: This was a little disappointing. Not for the city that is very interesting and the guide that did well, but for the final part that was the shopping! I expected to come back with some interesting souvenirs and authentical maldivian artcrafts, but that woud be impossible once we were taken to those classic "stupid tourist souvenir" stores. A tip for the whole Male trip is to get a private guide, so you will have more freedom to discover the island in a more authentic way.
Snorkeling Safari: We were not lucky with the sharks, turtles, stingrays and other big fishs, but it was nice. At least we have seen some of those big fishes in the corals of the resort while walking in and out the water villa.

At the end, in general, everything was great and we had a perfect honeymoon! We highly recommend Baros and expect to be back in the future!
Thanks again to the whole Baros team... Mode, Yassen, Shifag, Katharina and everyone that I unfortunately dont remember the name but was always with a smile on the face and ready to halp us! Thank you guys!

A final comment for the budget makers: 4 day and nights and I have spent USD 4,600 for the package (2 dinners and 1 massage included) and expect to spent more USD 1,300 for all the extras (excursions, dining, lunch etc...). Its is expensive, but the moments I lived here worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RafaelSanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Guest Experiance Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear Fabiola & Rafael,

I wanted to personally thank you for your lovely review of Baros Maldives on Tripadvisor!
I’m thrilled to hear, that you enjoyed your honeymoon here with us so much and I will most certainly thank Mode, Shifaq and Yaasin for their great work.

Thank you again and we all hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Best regards,

Katharina
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baros Island
13.7 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,763 reviews
12.1 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,625 reviews
7.3 km away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,572 reviews
23.2 km away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,302 reviews
14.6 km away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Baros Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Price Range: RM2,422 - RM7,150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing