We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but it delivers”
Review of Baros Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baros Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We were met at the airport, and our transfer to the island and was quick and comfortable. Our Villa Host met us, provided us with soft drinks and took us to our villa.

I strongly recommend that you spend some time on the Baros website, if you want to compare the various accommodations. It has useful info on the room facilities and the overall size of each type – I see that some people have felt that the Water Villas were a bit smaller than they expected.

We had a Pool Villa, which means you have your own sunning area and a plunge pool. There’s a pathway through the vegetation down to the beach, where you have your own sun loungers (tagged with your villa number, so no highjacking!).

The room was large, high-ceilinged and well presented, with acres of nice wood, and the bathroom had very good stone and tiles. The equipment was of top quality, and the widescreen TV enormous.

There are also a couple of Premium Pool Villas: a bit bigger than our Pool Villa, and with a Jacuzzi for two. They were closer to the beach and more exposed to passers-by. We thought they lacked privacy.

There’s no swimming pool, but they have a good gym, table-tennis, pool table, spa, library and 2 PCs for general use. (Complimentary internet access is also provided in your room.) There are stocks of CDs and DVDs to borrow.

At the dive centre, you can borrow fins and mask/snorkel free for the duration of your stay (personally, I recommend always taking your own mask/snorkel and using the hotel’s fins.)

Once a week, the Management hold a drinks reception where you can meet them and your fellow guests.

Live music of various kinds is provided about 3 times a week. We found that the tropical vegetation was very good at screening off the music, and we were not disturbed by it at all. In any case, the music was never over-amplified.

There are 2 bars: Sails Bar, and the upstairs bar at the Lighthouse. We didn’t like the Sails Bar, as we felt it was too dark. We thought the Lighthouse was more comfortable, its live music (modern jazz) was better, and of course you have views of the sunset. The senior barman at the Lighthouse (name of Laxciman, or “Lucky”) was a very good host.

We did not dine at the Lighthouse, but we did at the other two restaurants, Lime and Cayenne. We felt the Lime offered the better value. Quality of food and cooking was generally excellent at both Lime and Cayenne.

They have buffets from time to time: seafood, Asian, Maldivian etc. We thought they were poor value for money (80 or 90+ USD), unless you plan to use a wheelbarrow to take away your food! With buffets anyway there’s always the fact that the food is not freshly prepared and has been standing around for a while.

We were on a half-board basis, which gives you a daily credit of 45 USD against anything you order at any of the restaurants (including buffets). It’s perfectly possible to eat well within your daily allowance.

I heard a rumor that they are planning some changes in the meals/board area, so make sure you have the latest info.

There’s a strange quirk regarding the restaurants. Abundant bottled water is provided free in your room, the gym and the Guests’ Lounge. But if you ask for it in the restaurants you have to pay $3.42 for half a liter. I don’t mind paying, but it does seem a bit money-grubbing, and I’d rather they didn’t do it. I guess you could be cheeky and bring a bottle from your room!

The staff are excellent and very well-trained. In general, this is a very well-run hotel. The ratio of staff to guests is very high, and when you add the fact that everything you eat, drink or use is imported, with high customs taxes, you understand why prices are so high. We had an unremarkable but pleasant wine for $79.70. Back home, the same wine retails for $15.

If you are a snorkeller, the reef edge just outside the beach lagoon is pretty good. You’ll see plenty of blacktip reef sharks, a few white-tip reef sharks and the occasional barracuda. We saw a stingray and quite a few eagle rays. There’s a pretty tame hawksbill turtle that hangs around the access point used by the scuba divers. (This turtle is approachable, but don’t be tempted to touch, as he can easily remove a finger. And yes, he is a male.) The hotel has scuppered a small boat in that area, which has been colonised by a group of long-finned batfish. If you’re more adventurous and willing to explore the reef edge beyond the Water Villas, you’ll find sea anemones with their clownfish, giant clams and all the usual suspects. Snorkelling is safe at Baros, but always ask at the Dive Centre about currents and tide levels.

Baros has a loyalty scheme which, frankly, is pretty silly. Your seniority is based not on your spend, or on the number of nights, but on the number of visits. So if a client visits three times for 2 nights each and stays in the cheapest room, they have much more seniority than someone who spends a 2-week holiday in the costliest room – and actually spends 3, 4 or 5 times more. Not an attractive scheme.

Bottom line? It’s a top-grade hotel that provides everything they promise. But you have to pay for it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank sp33dbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Dear sp33dbird,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and your valuable feedback. We have paid close attention to all your comments.
I assure you that we will do all we can to improve the matters you have brought to our attention in the hope that your next stay with us will exceed all your expectations.

Once again: shukkuryia for the detailed feedback and warmest regards from Baros Maldives,

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,213)
There are newer reviews for Baros Maldives
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,345 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

After two weeks of touring magical Sri Lanka we arrived at Baros for the final week of our honeymoon.
It was one of the best weeks of my life!
You're collected by a fabulous speedboat upon arrival at Male airport. The attention to detail starts immediately as you're given drinks and cool towels for the 20 minute (and fun!) drive to the island. Your jaw drops as soon as youre there and are surrounded by pure luxury and WONDERFUL personalised service.
Everything there is just spectacular - the reefs for snorkelling in (imagine being able to spend hours with turtles, sharks, stingrays...); the rooms (will come to that shortly); the spa (heavenly); the sails bar (great cocktails, fantastic servers esp Ibrahim); the food.. oh my goodness the food! The breakfasts are exceptional - so filling that some days we went without lunch! All of the restaurants are fantastic but the Lighthouse really is something else. As good as, if not better, than some of the Michelin restaurants I've eaten at in London, NYC etc... The yellowfin tuna starter is to die for, as is the salmon stroganoff!
We stayed in a water villa which was just wonderful. There's is nothing like lazing on your veranda and being able to walk into the sea (and venture, during low-tides, to the sand banks approx 100m away from your room). If you are staying in a water villa I do suggest you ask for a villa facing the lighthouse i.e. so you can watch sunrise and sunset from the privacy of your terrace. We requested this 3 nights in and we were very kindly moved to villa 318 which was aaaamazing...
Do not be despondent if it rains too - of the 7 days we were there only half of the time was the weather perfect (i think we were unlikely) however this didnt ruin things for us as there was so much else to do! From snorkelling, to using the spa,or the gym, or simply relaxing by the bar or your opulent rooms - Baros is THE place for ultimate luxury and relaxation.
It was the honeymoon we had always dreamed of and we're starting to save up already for next time.
Thank you so much Baros - and in particular to the outstanding service of Farshaan, Andrea, Ibrahim and pretty much the rest of the wonderful staff there. We can't wait to return

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lucyfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Dear lucyfromlondon,

What a wonderful review, thank you so much! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay on our tropical island.
I have passed on your kind words to all our team members, especially to Farshaan, Andrea and Ibrahim who were thrilled by your comments.

Once again: Shukkuryia! It was a real pleasure for all of us to have you staying in our small paradise.
We greatly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

On behalf of the Baros Maldives team,

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Our plans had to change for a holiday destination after a major injury to my ankle. Rest, recuperation and exercise was now the priority. We stayed at Baros Island for 10 nights and we could not have found a more perfect place to blend what we needed. Our Luxury beach villa (no. 220) was perfect! 15 m from the water's edge.....our loungers in the shade just 5 m! We quickly fell into the routine of swimming and relaxing ..and swimming and relaxing!!! Snorkelling on the island reef looking at exotic fish was the perfect motivation to exercise! It wasn't all about swimming though The beautiful Sails bar was a lovely focal point for a relaxed lunch as well as sipping cocktails through the evening. There was live enterainment 3 of the evenings we were there and the quality was surprisingly good! We ate at the beautiful and excellent Lighthouse restaurant twice during our stay. Being vegetarian proved no problems for the chef in serving us some amazing dishes! The other two restaurants were very good and in-villa dining is a must. Service and style of everything done for us was of the highest quality. We took the advantage to snorkel with the resident marine biologist and this was very informative and enjoyable. You could also scuba dive and sail out to the nearby deserted sandbank.
We had stayed at Kurumba 4 years ago, which was very enjoyable, but Baros is the place to come for a truly relaxing, beautiful, gastronic holiday. Will we go again?..l.of course we will, but I won't wait until I am injured for the next time!

Room Tip: We took a tour of the villas...ours 220 was on a perfect part of the island/beach. You could snorkel...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Dear NinafromWindsor,

Thank you for this wonderful Tripadvisor review! We are more than happy that you spend 10 wonderful and relaxing days with us.
We can’t wait to have you back on our small tropical island – this time without any medical reason.

Once again: Shukkuryia and warm regards from the Baros Maldives team,

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Just returned from our second visit and the reality of Baros lives up to the superlatives on the Baros website. The island is stunning and the staff are genuinely friendly. I can't really say any more than has already been said on Trip Advisor but would particularly recommend the sunset boat trip to watch the dolphins - amazing. We're already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALWM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

Dear ALWM20,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and brought back home wonderful memories of the sunset dolphin cruise.

On this special day, the whole Baros Maldives team would like to wish you Season’s Greetings and that the New Year will bring you many happy moments!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our special tropical island soon.

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Baros is THE holiday of holidays! We went there as part of our honeymoon in May, and even though we have been away to other resorts since we keep comparing other places (unfavourably) to Baros.

We spent time in a beach villa (Baros villa) and a water villa, we preferred the beach villa. Both styles of villa are lovely but we preferred the beach. There is so much privacy, it feels like your own private beach- none of the other sun loungers are anywhere near yours. If you have a water villa then you get sun loungers on your decking, or there are some communal ones at one end of the beach.

The service and attention to detail at Baros is amazing. Nothing was too much for the friendly staff. If you want to be pampered on your honeymoon Baros is the place to go, they made every effort to make us feel special, and from speaking to other couples (and reading the reviews on here) I can see we were not the only ones to feel this way. Not only are the staff pleasant when everything is going well but they are also on hand when things go wrong. One night we had trouble with our air conditioning. We were immediately moved to a new villa, and the next morning when we went to reception without needing to re-tell the whole story to another member of staff the person at reception immediately apologised and arranged for all our luggage to be moved asap into the new room. That morning the manager came to our breakfast table and apologised in person and gave us a bottle of wine. This was only a standard hotel fault so we were not too concerned but it is just an example of how friendly and accommodating the staff are. When we left Baros to stay at another resort the Baros speedboat took us straight to the other resort rather than taking us back to the airport to await our second transfer which saved us a lot of time- just another example of the high level of personal service that the staff provided.

There are so many things that we loved about Baros. Aside from the amazing staff the whole of the outside of the island is covered by sand, so you can walk round in a large circle (takes about 15 mins) which we and lots of other couples did. There are two “normal” restaurants and one posher one. It was nice to have a choice of places to eat because it’s not like you can pop off the island to try another restaurant. The house reef is excellent for snorkelling with a large selection of fish.

There is no pool at Baros, which would be a lovely addition, but the sea is warm, clear and easy to swim in, and the lack of pool will certainly not stop us returning for a second trip!

Overall I think if you want a honeymoon/ holiday where you will be pampered, looked after and made to feel like a star you cannot beat Baros!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loveluxuryholidays_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Dear loveluxurholidays_9,

What a stunning review, thank you!

I have passed your great comments on to all Baros Maldives team members. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed our service and your honeymoon on our tropical island.

Once again: shukuryiaa! We greatly look forward to welcoming you back to Baros Maldives and to making you feel special once again.

Warmest regards,

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baros Island
13.7 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,763 reviews
12.1 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,625 reviews
7.3 km away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,573 reviews
23.2 km away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,303 reviews
14.6 km away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Baros Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Price Range: RM2,409 - RM7,172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing