We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baros Maldives
Nearby Hotels
Angsana Ihuru(Ihuru Island)
US$281
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$374/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$480
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Park Kodhipparu, Maldives(Kodhipparu Island)
US$525
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$484
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Huvafen Fushi Maldives(Huvafen Fushi Island)
US$660
US$640
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kurumba Maldives(Vihamanafushi)
US$454
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$316/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$249
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Paradise Island Resort & Spa(Lankanfinolhu Island)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (2,399)
Filter reviews
2,399 results
Traveller rating
2,217
140
31
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,217
140
31
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslighthouse restaurantvilla hostlime restaurantwater villaour honeymoonfishdeluxe villalobster bisquedive centrereef sharkssmall islandhalf boardwatch the sunsetindian oceanoutdoor showerthe resort managermale airport
Filter
Updating list...
1,474 - 1,479 of 2,399 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2011

After two weeks of touring magical Sri Lanka we arrived at Baros for the final week of our honeymoon.
It was one of the best weeks of my life!
You're collected by a fabulous speedboat upon arrival at Male airport. The attention to detail starts immediately as you're given drinks and cool towels for the 20 minute (and fun!) drive to the island. Your jaw drops as soon as youre there and are surrounded by pure luxury and WONDERFUL personalised service.
Everything there is just spectacular - the reefs for snorkelling in (imagine being able to spend hours with turtles, sharks, stingrays...); the rooms (will come to that shortly); the spa (heavenly); the sails bar (great cocktails, fantastic servers esp Ibrahim); the food.. oh my goodness the food! The breakfasts are exceptional - so filling that some days we went without lunch! All of the restaurants are fantastic but the Lighthouse really is something else. As good as, if not better, than some of the Michelin restaurants I've eaten at in London, NYC etc... The yellowfin tuna starter is to die for, as is the salmon stroganoff!
We stayed in a water villa which was just wonderful. There's is nothing like lazing on your veranda and being able to walk into the sea (and venture, during low-tides, to the sand banks approx 100m away from your room). If you are staying in a water villa I do suggest you ask for a villa facing the lighthouse i.e. so you can watch sunrise and sunset from the privacy of your terrace. We requested this 3 nights in and we were very kindly moved to villa 318 which was aaaamazing...
Do not be despondent if it rains too - of the 7 days we were there only half of the time was the weather perfect (i think we were unlikely) however this didnt ruin things for us as there was so much else to do! From snorkelling, to using the spa,or the gym, or simply relaxing by the bar or your opulent rooms - Baros is THE place for ultimate luxury and relaxation.
It was the honeymoon we had always dreamed of and we're starting to save up already for next time.
Thank you so much Baros - and in particular to the outstanding service of Farshaan, Andrea, Ibrahim and pretty much the rest of the wonderful staff there. We can't wait to return

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lucyfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Dear lucyfromlondon,

What a wonderful review, thank you so much! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay on our tropical island.
I have passed on your kind words to all our team members, especially to Farshaan, Andrea and Ibrahim who were thrilled by your comments.

Once again: Shukkuryia! It was a real pleasure for all of us to have you staying in our small paradise.
We greatly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

On behalf of the Baros Maldives team,

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Our plans had to change for a holiday destination after a major injury to my ankle. Rest, recuperation and exercise was now the priority. We stayed at Baros Island for 10 nights and we could not have found a more perfect place to blend what we needed. Our Luxury beach villa (no. 220) was perfect! 15 m from the water's edge.....our loungers in the shade just 5 m! We quickly fell into the routine of swimming and relaxing ..and swimming and relaxing!!! Snorkelling on the island reef looking at exotic fish was the perfect motivation to exercise! It wasn't all about swimming though The beautiful Sails bar was a lovely focal point for a relaxed lunch as well as sipping cocktails through the evening. There was live enterainment 3 of the evenings we were there and the quality was surprisingly good! We ate at the beautiful and excellent Lighthouse restaurant twice during our stay. Being vegetarian proved no problems for the chef in serving us some amazing dishes! The other two restaurants were very good and in-villa dining is a must. Service and style of everything done for us was of the highest quality. We took the advantage to snorkel with the resident marine biologist and this was very informative and enjoyable. You could also scuba dive and sail out to the nearby deserted sandbank.
We had stayed at Kurumba 4 years ago, which was very enjoyable, but Baros is the place to come for a truly relaxing, beautiful, gastronic holiday. Will we go again?..l.of course we will, but I won't wait until I am injured for the next time!

Room Tip: We took a tour of the villas...ours 220 was on a perfect part of the island/beach. You could snorkel all the time ..some other areas of beach shore was too shallow and you needed to walk round ( only 5 mins.) to the house reef beach.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Dear NinafromWindsor,

Thank you for this wonderful Tripadvisor review! We are more than happy that you spend 10 wonderful and relaxing days with us.
We can’t wait to have you back on our small tropical island – this time without any medical reason.

Once again: Shukkuryia and warm regards from the Baros Maldives team,

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Just returned from our second visit and the reality of Baros lives up to the superlatives on the Baros website. The island is stunning and the staff are genuinely friendly. I can't really say any more than has already been said on Trip Advisor but would particularly recommend the sunset boat trip to watch the dolphins - amazing. We're already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALWM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

Dear ALWM20,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and brought back home wonderful memories of the sunset dolphin cruise.

On this special day, the whole Baros Maldives team would like to wish you Season’s Greetings and that the New Year will bring you many happy moments!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our special tropical island soon.

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Baros is THE holiday of holidays! We went there as part of our honeymoon in May, and even though we have been away to other resorts since we keep comparing other places (unfavourably) to Baros.

We spent time in a beach villa (Baros villa) and a water villa, we preferred the beach villa. Both styles of villa are lovely but we preferred the beach. There is so much privacy, it feels like your own private beach- none of the other sun loungers are anywhere near yours. If you have a water villa then you get sun loungers on your decking, or there are some communal ones at one end of the beach.

The service and attention to detail at Baros is amazing. Nothing was too much for the friendly staff. If you want to be pampered on your honeymoon Baros is the place to go, they made every effort to make us feel special, and from speaking to other couples (and reading the reviews on here) I can see we were not the only ones to feel this way. Not only are the staff pleasant when everything is going well but they are also on hand when things go wrong. One night we had trouble with our air conditioning. We were immediately moved to a new villa, and the next morning when we went to reception without needing to re-tell the whole story to another member of staff the person at reception immediately apologised and arranged for all our luggage to be moved asap into the new room. That morning the manager came to our breakfast table and apologised in person and gave us a bottle of wine. This was only a standard hotel fault so we were not too concerned but it is just an example of how friendly and accommodating the staff are. When we left Baros to stay at another resort the Baros speedboat took us straight to the other resort rather than taking us back to the airport to await our second transfer which saved us a lot of time- just another example of the high level of personal service that the staff provided.

There are so many things that we loved about Baros. Aside from the amazing staff the whole of the outside of the island is covered by sand, so you can walk round in a large circle (takes about 15 mins) which we and lots of other couples did. There are two “normal” restaurants and one posher one. It was nice to have a choice of places to eat because it’s not like you can pop off the island to try another restaurant. The house reef is excellent for snorkelling with a large selection of fish.

There is no pool at Baros, which would be a lovely addition, but the sea is warm, clear and easy to swim in, and the lack of pool will certainly not stop us returning for a second trip!

Overall I think if you want a honeymoon/ holiday where you will be pampered, looked after and made to feel like a star you cannot beat Baros!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loveluxuryholidays_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Dear loveluxurholidays_9,

What a stunning review, thank you!

I have passed your great comments on to all Baros Maldives team members. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed our service and your honeymoon on our tropical island.

Once again: shukuryiaa! We greatly look forward to welcoming you back to Baros Maldives and to making you feel special once again.

Warmest regards,

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We were here in summer 2011 and it was just wow.We stayed in a water villa and the rooms were very luxurious including a comfy bed.The resort is very peaceful and spotlessly clean.Fantastic staff and excellent service.

I have to say that every aspect of our stay was perfect.

Will definitely recommend any one planning a holiday in Maldives

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reenacorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baros_Management, Executive Assistant Manager at Baros Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Dear reenacorda,

Thank you for this great review. We are delighted to read that you have spent your best holiday ever on our small island and can’t wait to have you back!

Warmest regards,

Shuhan
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews