We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Baros Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Baros Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2008

We (two teenagers and parents) just returned from a week at Baros which we found to be excellent. We are very keen scuba divers and the whole Baros scuba set-up is very well organised. First of all, being in the center of the North Male Atoll means that there are over 30 dive sites that are less than 30 minutes (by boat) from the hotel; offering some of the best reef diving in the world. Secondly, the dive team and support was all very well done. Dispite the hotel being full, we always were able to get on the dive boat and we were never more than 5 divers per guide. The equipment was all in good condition and ready when we arrived at the boat which left on time. One final note, the "house" reef at the hotel is great and one can spends hours with a snorkel and see beautiful fish and coral within 100 yards of the beach.
We hasd two delux villas on the west side of the island. I was a bit concerned that we were too close to the dive shop and where boat deliveries were docked, but in fact we nerver noticed the boats and the sunsets were beautiful. The island is very well maintained; they seem to rake the whole thing everyday. Also the planting is such that were rarely saw anybody else when we siting on our terrace.
We used the spa a number of times, which we enjoyed and we always able to get time slots that we were seeking.
The food is pretty good and there is a wide choice. The breakfast is very well done and even arriving at the last mnute there was a full selection and it was all still well orgainsed.
The staff (and there are lots) are very firendly, surprisingly efficient and actully seem to like what they are doing. The atmosphere at the hotel is quite luxury; people tend to stay to themselves and there are very few t-shirts. There is a nice bar where we would have an evening drink, but there is no bar scene.
We travel quite a bit and try to stay in top hotels, which this is one; I would say the the main reason that this is not 5 stars is because there are no pools.
Although there is nothing planned for teenagers, if they like to dive they will love Baros as our children did.
We are planning our next trip...

Stayed: January 2008
9  Thank diver8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
There are newer reviews for Baros Maldives
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,679 - 1,683 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2008

We have just returned from a ten day trip for our belated honeymoon. What an awesome place!

I did my research and came up trumps. I wanted somewhere that was small, swish, with excellent food, no children, tatoos or lager louts. I also was not prepared to pay a premium for exclusivity (there are no paparazzi in the Maldives and most resorts are private!). Baros hits the spot.

The island is located a short speedboat ride from the airport which is great since there should be no waiting at the airport for transfers. In theory, you walk out of the terminal building, across the road and step onto the Baros speedboat and go. Emirates lost my bag for a day so I had to wait for a while to sort that out first.

The boat journey is fun since the boat is big and comfy but flies across the water at 36 knots. We shared the boat with a couple on the way there and had it to ourselves on the way back.

On landing at the jetty you have a quick glass of fizz and then get taken straight to your villa. We were on the Emirates flight that gets in at 7.30 am and was converned that check in was not until two, but we were whisked straight there.

We started off with a water villa for the first five days. A most beautiful villa over the water. VERY private since you cannot see anyone else from inside or on your private deck. The only time you ever see people is when the occasional snorkler swims past. Ours was 307 which was mid way round the crescent of villas. Perfect since it got a cooling breeze and had sun on the deck ALL DAY! I would get up at 9 am and lie on the day bed on the deck in the sun and finish off at 5 pm in the sun. This cannot be said for all villas. This was late December and it was VERY hot so the breeze was a godsend!

Water villas are well equiped with flat screen TV, DVD/CD player, sofa, loungers, day bed, huge closets, expresso machine, wine fridge, mini bar, huge bath with sea views and headrests, shower with glass door out to sea. You cannot fault them since they are very stylish. Apart from dinners, we spent five days on the deck in our villa just chilling. When you get too hot, just step off the bottom step into the water.

The only downside of this water villa is that the water is not actually that deap, even when the tide is in (maybe waist deap at highest). DO NOT attempt to jump off the deck into the water when drunk since you will break your neck!

After five glorious days we moved to a Baros Villa on the other side of the island. Ours was 214 which the staff say is the best on the island. The Baros villa is a little bigger than the water villa and has a larger deck. Other than the size and the subtle change in decor was the much larger bathroom and extra outdoor shower. Our villa was the closest to the beach and the water (step off deck onto ceach and three steps into the water). Other villas had a very short walk to the beach. The slight draw back of this side of the island is that you do not get quite as much sun as we did in our water villa - the sun being on our deck from 9 am until 12 pm. Once the sun was off the deck, you'd use your two beach loungers which can be dragged to the waters edge.

We loved the Baros villa and actually preffered it but it is not as private as the water villa - people walk on your piece of beach now and again - shock horror!

We were on a B&B rate which suited us since we wanted to take advantage of all the restaurants.

If you could be bothered getting out of bed/sun for breakfast, it is well worth it. Alot of people have a huge breakfast and skip lunch, I think. If you went at 10.15 am it was quite busy but at 9.30 very peaceful. There is everything that you would ever want for breakfast. I would tend to have pastries, fish curry and fry-up, while Mrs M-B would have omlettes and fruit and things. There is always chilled champagne for you to drink in addition to the interesting smoothies etc. You don't pay for anything, obviously. I saw a few canny people taking a whole plate of pastries away with them - I even saw one lady making baguettes for her lunch!

Lunch is in the same place as breakfast (Lime Restuarant) and it is VERY quiet all day. We were normally the only people in there which is fab. You can just admire the beautiful views while eating. The food is excellent in the Lime Restaurant. It is pretty much the same food as on the room service/in villa dining menu. We ate just about every dish on the menu during our stay. What is good is that although it looks fantastic, the portions are large too! Dim sum was a favourite and was the thai curries.

Since we were stayimg over Xmas and New Year, there was all sorts of interesting things going on in the other restuarants - we took advantage of all. The Lighthouse has two special menus that were between 6 and 8 courses which where excellent - they included a different wine with every course. The food would stand up against swanky London restuarants (in price and quality!) The portions are larger though. We feasted on Wagyu beef, lamb, duck, lobster and fish. Apart from the fish and lobsters, it is all brought in from Australia, Japan and Europe so you can kind of understand that it is not going to be cheap.

The Lighthouse has very few dining tables (their busiest evening of the year is New Year's eve when they had sixty people eating). All the tables are on the edge of the decking overlooking the water - it is lit up so you can see the sting ray and fish swimming around. There is a bar above that is very swish - great for chilling. They only serve champagne cocktails and martinis there!

To give you some idea of the price (it is in dollars so UK people are happy!) our most expensive meal there cost $600 including champagne and wine etc. A normal meal with bottle of wine, with cocktails beforehand, is about $300 - $400.

The Cayenne Grill is a little bit different since you get a buffet starter - sushi, mezzi, etc. We had a seafood grill for 2 which was large and full of lobster and fish, a giant crab feast and a Maldive food night. All very good. Expect to pay $200 - $300 including beer and a couple bottles of wine.

There is a huge bar area called Sails bar which is good to sit after dinner. They had live music most nights but I think that might be an exception. Live music got a few people up dancing one night but it is not really that kind of place!

Mrs M-B loved the spa where she had treatments every other day. She is a spa queen and rated it very highly and didn't feel it was too expensive although she kept coming back with $60 bottles of creams and lotions every time! I had one Thai extreme thrashing thing on the first day and that was quite enough for me.

You can get mask, flippers etc for the duration of your stay from the place with the table tennis table(!) not from the dive shop as suggested. It is pretty new stuff and you don't pay. The snorkling is very good - loads of brightly coloured fish and coral plus sea slugs and cucumbers which I quite liked taking videos of.

There is a gym there that Mrs M-B used which was well equipped and cool - running machine, cross trainer etc.

We didn't go diving but I do believe the dive shop has a very good reputation. We rented a two man canoe/kayak to go round the island in which was fun - $20.

There were all sorts of cruises on offer but we didn't take any of them. Why anyone would want to visit Male the capital, I do not know.

If you bring your laptop there is wireless in all the villas and two PCs in the library. It costs $6 for 15 mins.

Baros is an exceptional resort. Away from the crowds but with pretty much everything you need - food, drink, diving, boat trips, canoeing, windsurfing, sun. It is expensive, but not THAT expensive. We loved every second of it and are very pleased that we did our research and chose the best place for us. Mrs M-B just called me to let me know the cost of all our dinners, lunches, cocktails, drinks, massages etc. Total was £3400 for ten days. That was on top of B&B and flights of £6600.

The only downside was the journey home. we checked out at 12 pm, had lunch and then had our speedboat back to the airport. The Emirates flight is at 2 am the following morning so Kuoni booked us a day room at the Hlue Hlue hotel at the airport. It was very poor. We were told it had a nice pool to lounge by. Scruffy pool packed full of noisy splashing kids. Our Travel Lodge type room was just passable since it had a good movie channel to while the day away with. The restuarant is VERY basic. We discussed on plane home whether we should have had pay for another day at Baros but kind of agreed that we could just about cope with the scruff hotel for a day.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
21  Thank TheYoungLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2007

I had my one week honeymoon vacation in Baros in november and I recommend this resort to everybody who is looking for a good house reef, good food and good service.

Food: We loved the food served in Lime restaurant and never eat in other two, expensive restaurants. Everyday we tried something else and all of them was very delicious. Thanks to the Australian chief.

Service: Very good ! Stuff is very friendly and polite, always smiling. My digital cameras memory stick was full and I asked them to install the photos on a CD and they accepted and helped me without any payment.

Sea: One of the reason for me to choose Baros was its good looking house reef. I was not wrong. For snorkeling maybe it is one of the best Islands in Maldives. House reef is very big and rich of species. Around the island there are good spots for scuba diving also. If you dive you should not miss the Manta Point.

Villa: We stayed in Baros villa 220. It was very large, comfortable, clean and well equiped.

If I try hard to find any negative things I would say,

1-Ugly wave barrier, disturbs the sea view from Baros villas. But it made my wife feel safe during swimming. It also keep the currents away from the beach, making it easier to swim.

2-Too many buildings on the seafront and in the island : Lime restaurant, light house restaurant, cayenne grill, scuba house, main dock, water villas, fitness center, reception, bar, spa, operation building...it is hard to feel you are alone on a tropic island...

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Scubatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2007

It's very rare that our expectations are exceeded but the service on this island really is that good! The accommodation and restaurants are fantastic, 5* luxury. It also appears that there are more staff than guests on this island and everyone is so polite.

We stayed in a deluxe villa which was lovely HOWEVER a word of warning. IF you want to be on the side of the island which has a protected beach, choose a BAROS villa instead. The deluxe villa was tremendous but the extra money for the protected beach really is worth it, the deluxe villas face onto the open sea and it can be quite windy and choppy sea, not great for swimming unless you have totally calm sea conditions.

There are 3 restaurants on the island which all serve great food but expect to pay UK prices for food and wine. It's not cheap!

It's a very picturesque island and I would recommend it to all, pack lots of factor 50 suncream, plenty of spare cash if you want a spa treatment since they do try to sell you extra creams to make your skin look even more beautiful. The gym is basic but inside with aircon so it's fine with a gym attendant on hand at all times.

We will definately return soon, feedback from the staff suggest that this island is the same standard as the 4 seasons but much cheaper!

The island resort could not be faulted, even by our very demanding and descerning standards! However, the treatment you get when you arrive is even better when contrasted to the service (so called) you get from Monarch if you fly with Kuoni from the UK. Take my advice, do absolutly anything to upgarde to another airline. Flights are available via Dubai with BA and Emerates or direct with Sri-Lankan airlines. If you want a truley luxery experience Baros will provide it, but beware how you choose to get there.

Stayed: November 2007
17  Thank paumatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

We stayed at Baros for two weeks in early October and had an absolutely fantastic holiday.

The island is very small (it only takes 8 minutes to walk round) however I agree with the other reviewers in that it really does feel as though you are one of only a few staying on the island. Apart from meal times, we rarely saw other couples other than those staying in the surrounding villas.

We stayed in a Deluxe villa which was lovely. It was positioned to face the Banyan Tree and was delightfully secluded. I would point out that after walking around the island, a number of the other villa's were not so well positioned so many thanks to those reviewers who recommended we get a villa that faces the Banyan Tree - our email to the hotel beforehand to request this was well worth it! Upon arrival we also looked around the Baros villas and water villas - we felt that the extra money to upgrade to the Baros villa wasn't worth it however almost moved into a lovely positioned water villa for three days before deciding that we preferred the easy access of the beach from our villa.

We stayed on a half-board basis, something of which I wouldn't recommend as although the food included in the half-board at the Lime restaurant was good, I think the standard was exceeded in the Cayenne Grill and Lighthouse (although this was to be expected with the latter as it is their a la carte restaurant). With our half-board we were given a $30 supplement per head at these restaurants however did not feel that this was worth it.

The staff were lovely, always on hand to help and very attentive.
My partner often went diving and couldn't compliment the diving staff enough.

To summarise - I would thoroughly recommend Baros. It really is a stunning island in a stunning location. Although I would not re-visit this is purely because of the number of other islands out there that I look forward to the pleasure of discovering!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TomKat_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baros Island
13.7 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,763 reviews
12.1 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,622 reviews
7.3 km away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,572 reviews
23.2 km away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,302 reviews
14.6 km away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baros Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baros Maldives

Address: PO Box 2015, 20-02
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Baros Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baros Island
Price Range: RM2,382 - RM7,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baros Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lush, tropical island set in the shimmering waters of a shallow lagoon, ringed by a reef vibrant with marine life. Stay in elegance in Villas created from timber and sandstone, poised and peaceful over a translucent lagoon, or nestled discreetly among exotic blooms by the beach. Revel in romantic privacy on the perfect vacation. The essence of the Maldives, defined at Baros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Baros Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baros Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Baros Maldives Male
Baros Maldives Hotel Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing