We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing - Ireland@home should be ashamed of themselves”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Radharc na Mara Holiday Homes
Ranked #71 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I originally booked Ard na Mara through the Ireland@home.com website. They subsequently called me to say that there had been a double booking and that Ard na Mara was no longer available. However they told me that they had a house available in Radharc na Mara, which is run by the same people as Ard na Mara, and that the houses were similar. I wanted a detached house and they confirmed that it was. I also wanted a house in a quiet location (e.g. not overlooking a play area) and the rep from Ireland@home.com agreed that he would arrange same. When I arrived at Radhard na Mara close to 5pm on a Friday evening, I was dismayed to find that it was a semi-detached house and it overlooked a play area! I rang Ireland@home and they said they would get in contact with the people who ran the place and would then call me back. No phone call later, the guy who runs Radharc na Mara called up to the house, told me that ireland@home should not have offered a detached house as there were none available.It was too late to cancel the booking at that stage - I had travelled over two hours to get there. I found the house to be of an inferior standard to Ard na Mara having previously stayed there. The furnishings are old and it is in need of modernisation. Also, you have absolutely no privacy when it comes to next door neighbours - the houses are full of open windows and are on top of each other. Overall, highly disappojnting. Over 8 days ago, I complained to ireland@home and requested reasonable compensation to resolve my complaint. An email reminder later, they haven't even bothered to acknowledge my complaint. Shockingly poor service. I rarely make complaints but felt compelled to in this circumstance as I am disgusted at the lies I was told to seal a deal.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
14  Thank Scully1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2009

I was very suprised at the size of the house we stayed in. (No. 9) had an amazing view of the water and the bay through a big bay window. All the bedrooms were MASSIVE and all ensuite which was perfect for our 3 couples and 2 singles. Two of the rooms had double beds which looked a little lost and putting king size beds in would have been a better idea. We had to bring our own towels which was no problem as we all travelled by car. A bath mat would be advisable for getting in and out of the shower/bath as you could break your neck with wet feet.
The sitting room was massive but only had seeting for 4 (we brought chairs in from the dining room). The TV had loads of channels and there was a good stero in the corner. The kitchen had all you needed except washing up liquid (there is a dish washer and they did leave 4 dishwashing tablets but it wasn't enough). Its only a 2 minute walk to the marina and is a perfect base for exploring. I would have absoultly NO complaints about this place and we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsRKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Hi,


Just returned from a weeks break in Dingle. My party consisted of myself, my Wife and our 9Yr old Daughter.

Firstly the Cottages are a modern development of dormer buildings which can be seen grouped in clusters all around the area. Our cottage was clean, comfortable, warm and had all Mod Cons....Central Heating, TV, Cable, Washer-dryer,Dishwasher , Microwave, Fridge Freezer, iron, Ironing Board, Hi Fi system , etc etc etc ...you get the picture :-)

They are located 5-10 mins walk from the centre of Dingle where they pace of life is nice and slow and allows a person to get that chill out factor that is so hard to come across these days. There are a variety of Restaurants and Pubs with Music most evenings, although with my 9yr old I did'nt get a chance to stay too late.

Ventry beach is approx 10 mins drive away and it is great for walking and safe bathing, also a pub overlooking the bay is a good spot for to stretch out afterwards. Further along this road and past the beach you will find spectacular views as you drive along the mountain road above the Atlantic Ocean - try this at approx 1hr before Sunset to get the best possible Views.

Don't miss the drive across Connor Pass , albeit a bit narrow and hairy at times - you'll see,what I mean lol.


Heading through Dingle on the Killarney road ( another Great spot not to be missed , tried Riverdance and it was brilliant), another beach worth seeing is Inch . Stroll along the long flat Sands or take a dip in the Ocean ( Wetsuits advised) before heading over to Sams Bar/Restaurant where we sat watching the fantastic scenery as we ate out Lunch and sipped a Pint or 2 .

In short had a great Holiday and recharged the batteries .

Hope this is helpful

Michael, Mary & Tamara

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jinxleprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2006

I stayed in Radharc Na Mara, Dingle during the summer. This is an absolutely stunning location. We stayed in a 4 star self catering house. We had such a wonderful holiday and i wanted to highly recommend it to other holiday makers. I actually booked this through a company called Dream Ireland Holiday Homes, i was able to get their number from their website --. I spoke to a lovely lady there and she kindly told me she would request me a seaview but could not quarantee it to me. When we arrived much to our delight our house was looking directly out at Dingle Bay. The lovely thing about it is that we were only a 5-7 mins stroll from Dingle Town where there are stunning restaurants and craft shops. There is also a very nice playground and cinema which the kids were very impressed with. We were only 5 mins drive to the nearest sandy beach. I had the best of both worlds as we were located only 40 mins drive from Tralee where i could do lots of shopping. The houses were so spacious, absolutely amazing for families. My kids just had a ball and so did we.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LynnBlennerhassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.0 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.0 km away
Paddy's Palace  Dingle Peninsula
0.0 km away
Ardrinane House
Ardrinane House
#52 of 75 in Dingle
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
798 reviews
0.0 km away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
469 reviews
0.0 km away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radharc na Mara Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radharc na Mara Holiday Homes

Address: Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Hotel Class:3 star — Radharc na Mara Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Radharc na Mara Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing