We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and Rejuvenation at Longueville House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Longueville House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxation and Rejuvenation at Longueville House”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I had the distinct pleasure of staying at this magnificent Home last month. I term Longueville House as Home as this is how the proprietors, Aisling and Bill O'Callaghan made us feel. The accomodations are fantastic and the food is magnificent. I spent the 3 days exploring the grounds and photographed to my heart's content. The property goes down to the Blackwater River which in combination with the moody Irish skies are a photographers dream. I would encourage anyone traveling to Cork to spend at least one noght here to acclimate and rejuvenate. Michael and Cheryl Malone

Room Tip: View over the front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelm508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    35
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
63
95
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Recently dined with my wife at this wonderful hotel and decided to stay overnight. January is obviously a quiet time of the year for this hotel but the peace and quiet and having this wonderful 18th Century country house all to ourselves made only to enhance the experience. The food was first class and truly 5****. The accommodation was also good but more 4****. The open fire in the sitting room and the atmosphere was fantastic but what truly impressed us were the staff, especially Gabor - this man is an asset to any hotel and at the top of his game. My wife and I love older type houses and would recommend this place for a night out with fine dining or a romantic weekend but not really suitable for children because the peace and quiet of the place is one of its pleasures - no TV! The walks around the grounds were a little disappointing and need a little more maintenance and signing, good job we brought our wellington boots with us. If you like the countryside, fine foods and want to dream a little, this may well be for you. It not cheap but at the same time its not silly prices. It up to you whether you want to try the finer wines and champaign but you will get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOOCONN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Excellent hotel
Excellent staff, best customer service experence in Ireland
Food was just amazing so fresh and full of natural flavour and very well presented.
Service was amazing we felt like we were the only customers in the room, such attention to detail.
The breakfast was the best we had in any hotel - it was amazing

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

excellent house and grounds - loved the walk around. Maybe November'itis but no-one available to advise of walking route.

The Hotel room is best booked via blue rooms with dinner booked seperately as our combined 'offer' of 1 Night BB + dinner was more expensive than seperate bookings.....very frustrating.

Also watch the bill and tally as cusory maths are missing from the staff - perhaps they are too used to taking several 100's of euros and dont bother learning their own prices. We needed to correct then twice. The only staff available on checkout was a very junior waitress and lacked in confidence - despite asking for 370 euro for a one night stay.

Drawing room and Dining room service was excellent and food very good - a nice meal with very good ingredients indeed. Scones are a pleasure, as is the cider.

We would stay again but with no recent awards this house-hotel may be trading on better days and are taking their eye off the ball & detail.

Room Tip: The House is old and our room was very draughty - We expect that from a period house but we opted fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My wife and I have driven by Longueville House many times. We finally found an opportunity to spend a night. We attended there mushroom hunting weekend. And it was magic.

The house and grounds are all you could expect and more. Large, gracious and comfortable drawing rooms and dining rooms. Afternoon tea mad us feel like we had returned to a bygone era. The food and service were excellent.

Our room was magnificent, Twice as large as most hotel rooms with a wonderful view of the Black Water Valley. Rolling green fields with horses and mountains. It could have been a movie set. A lovely bathroom with an oversized tub for my wife and a great shower for me. Adult level sink and a table to set our gear on...something sadly lacking in many other hotels.

Dinner and breakfast were perfect. The food is really exceptional. Aisling O'Callaghan, the owner took the time to welcome us to her home and we were impressed with her warmth and that of of all the staff.

If you can find a way to visit Longueville House, do it.



We are already thinking abou

Room Tip: Request a room facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandTourist123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charleville Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charleville
689 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longueville House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longueville House Hotel

Property: Longueville House Hotel
Address: Killarney road N72, Mallow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Price range (per night): RM905 - RM1,244
Hotel Class:4 star — Longueville House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Longueville House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longueville Hotel Mallow
Longueville Mallow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing