We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
O'Donovan's Hotel(Clonakilty)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Emmet Hotel(Clonakilty)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballard House(Clonakilty)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
SeaBreeze(Clonakilty)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
86
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesirish breakfastworking farmone nightfountain of knowledgedrombeg stone circlewealth of informationpot of teaporridgebreakfast was amazingon arrivalnext morningwonderful hostswarm welcometop classnormahostess
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Stayed here one night after bad experience at another B&B sent us hunting for a replacement. Most fortunate that Norma had an opening, and we had a wonderful time. She welcomed us with tea and fresh scones, warm surroundings, and the setting on the hill was breathtaking. Had to have the bad to appreciate the good. A stormy night, but we were warm and dry, and sent on our way the next day with a good breakfast and care package of scones. She has been at this for over 40 years, and knows how to take excellent care of her guests. WiFi is spotty-but that was the storm's fault.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank knittermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Marvelous room, marvelous hosts, marvelous b & b and beautiful scenery, would recommend it 100%. Best breakfast of my life. Very very clean. Norma was lovely.
Brilliant! Nothing was too much trouble for Norma.

Room Tip: Front rooms, beautiful screnery
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Great time was had at Ard Na Griene Farmhouse. Norma Walsh is a great host we felt as we were one of the family, her welcome is just great and so were the tea and scones. We had B & B for 5 nights, Rooms were en suite very clean &comfortable. Norma's cooking was excellent breakfast was very good and plentiful !!!! and always with home made bread and scones. The farmhouse was central for us to tour the surrounding areas of West Cork. Clonakilty was close by for us to choose restaurants for evening meals, although we did have one eve. meal at the farmhouse which was excellent. Would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travers V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

A warm friendly and professionalism B&B..
Host Norma provides delicious award
winning dining along with excellent
accommodations. Norma and her family
go the extra distance so you can truly
enjoy your stay in the Irish countryside
Thank you to the Walsh Family

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank RAKAZZZZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015

This was the highlight B&B experience of our two week trip to the Irish West with my sister and brother-in-law. Originally we planned to stay only one night in the Clonakilty area, but the setting was so incredible that we asked Norma Walsh, our hostess, if we could stay a second night. She is so accommodating that I wish we had stayed longer.

It will be hard to keep this short, but I'll try to summarize:

Ard Na Greine is a working dairy farm. The farmhouse overlooks an idyllic valley. The view is worth the stay by itself. We were travelling over Mother's Day and my son emailed and asked where were going to be staying so he could arrange for delivery flowers. Since I had just booked rooms, I gave him contact information and he emailed Norma with his request. She had arranged for the flowers as well as an unexpected excursion into Clonakilty after dinner for a traditional music visit to a pub. Her sister-in-law carried us in and Norma picked us up so we would not have to worry about having a pint at the pub. Extraordinary! I had seen on her website that dinner could be arranged. Since we were a little way from town, that seemed like a good option, and she said she could do it with a choice entrees. The two dinners we had from her kitchen were by far the best meals we had on this trip. I'm going to try to duplicate her leeks in white sauce. Everything was exceptional, from starter to dessert. She does some amazing things with rhubarb.

This is hands down the best place to stay in Ireland. Even if you have to make a detour to get there. You will be rewarded by a visit you will never forget.

Room Tip: The views from rooms overlooking the valley are superb
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews