We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picked the wrong hotel... we prefer smaller friendlier hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Again, really no problem with this hotel, just not our style, it lacked character, staff were not very friendly, location is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

784 - 788 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

My self and my Husband are just back from a 3 night stay at the Trident Hotel , the hotel is lovely ,the view is fabolous. and the food is also fab . unfortunately for us there was a wedding on that weekend and at 4am that morning some drunks banged down our door and i mean banged it i got an awful fright i was afraid to move i think there should be some security system to prevent this or if there is a function we should have been put on a different level ,reported it the next morning and all i got was sorry

Room Tip: we had sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabethbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Booked a weekend stay package at the Trident which included 2 nights accommodation B&B with 1 evening meal.

We arrived and parked in the car park, went to check in and were told our room wasn't yet ready, and that we were being upgraded to a junior suite, so with that we walked into the Town. Only a 5-10 minute walk along the Quay into the heart of Kinsale. We used the opportunity to get our bearings. After stopping at Fishy Fishy for lunch, we came back to the hotel to check in.

We got one of the junior suites, which had a great view of the water and the nearby yacht club. Pros of the suite, were the size, the view, large bathroom with both shower and bath, well stocked mini bar and fridge. However we found the beds a little too firm and the pillows as well. Apart from that the room was lovely.

We made reservations for dinner in the restaurant, on our first night, we enjoyed the starters, and desert, however were a little underwhelmed by the main courses.

One of the highlights for the stay was the bar, there was a great buzz in there during the day and the staff were very friendly and giving lots of tips of places to go and see while we stayed. The bar does be a little quiet in the evening, but that is probably due to most people would walk into the town for the various pubs / restaurant options with music. Which we did ourselves. We also ate in the bar on the Second Day while watching the Rugby, there was a lot of people in eating, i'd a fantastic portion of mussels, and my wife had a great lasagne special offer which included an alcoholic drink. Very good idea guys! Again the banter with the staff was great.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Trident and would stay there again. Look forward to seeing you in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the junior suites on the 3rd floor, great views of the marina. Also furthest away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W_dunne81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed with a large family group. Were directed to the residents bar after dinner (was ok) and from 10.30 on the drunken hotel guest from hell came into the room and set out to ruin the evening for everyone else there. He succeeded. The hotel staff didn't want to know and numerous complaints about this individual's behavious got nowhere. Stay ruined for all concerned, including children and we were forced to leave. Even the next day the staff didn't want to know.

Weird hotel. If you are on the ground floor you roopm stands a chance of being between a car park and a main road. Had to park on the road as the small car park was full.

Room Tip: Much better hotels in Kinsale. Doesn't have a good reputation and best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keenerDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed one night at the Trident Hotel. We got into Kinsale late in the evening so we really couldn't see much of the town. It was a Sunday night and I suspect many things were closed.

Our room was just ok. The furnishings are somewhat dated and not at all inviting the bed was hard as a rock and the pillows were even worse. The bathroom was huge and we were surprised that there was both a shower and a gigantic tub. While it was clean, it was very blah and cold.

The front desk was friendly but not entirely helpful. We needed to get some dinner so we asked at the front desk. She suggested we eat the the hotel restaurant but since Kinsale is listed as a "gourmet" city, we wanted to give one of the restaurants a try. She recommended that we head to the White Lady just up the street. This was a restaurant at another hotel. It was the worst meal we had on the entire trip. The folks at the pub were pleasant but the food was really awful. When we returned, a gentleman had taken over the front desk. I asked how I could connect to the Internet and he had no idea. I additionally asked where we could get a few bottles of water and he instead suggested we just drink from the tap!

Breakfast was nothing spectacular but the staff at the restaurant were pleasant.

I am sure Kinsale is lovely under different circumstances but I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
985 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,655 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Old Bank House
#16 of 52 in Kinsale
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident Hotel Kinsale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident Hotel Kinsale

Address: World's End House Lower o'Connell Street, Kinsale P17 HY20, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: RM567 - RM822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trident Hotel Kinsale 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly refurbished bedrooms include an executive wing comprising 30 rooms and a penthouse floor of nine luxury suites, all with breath-taking views of the harbour and the enchanting town of Kinsale. The Pier One Restaurant, which is the only waterfront restaurant in the Gourmet Capital of Ireland, offering the freshest of seafood and locally sourced produce, and the Wharf Tavern and Terrace which has been a welcoming meeting place for golfers, sailors, locals and holidaymakers for decades. The new Foredeck bar area, where to get closer to the sea you would have to get on board a boat is, in the summer sunshine, the perfect place to unwind and take in the sea breezes while sipping a cocktail or cool beer. The Trident has a private marina, onsite parking and a wide range of state of the art facilities for conferences and unforgettable venues for family occasions, the Trident Hotel ticks every box for any occasion, from the very intimate to larger events catering for over 200 people. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident Hotel Kinsale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing