We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$193
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$98
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$135
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,822)
Filter reviews
1,822 results
Traveller rating
1,213
373
138
62
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,213
373
138
62
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrevas spatimmy macskids clubfitzgerald familythermal suitewedding receptionleisure centretop classwould highly recommend this hotelfamily breakexcellent hotelfunction roomfrom start to finishstaff were so friendlywedding guestsfood was amazingwedding venue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1,822 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I attended a conference in hotel this week. The staff were lovely and the food was lovely but the rest of the hotel is very average. wouldn't recommend booking business events here as the WiFi is incredibly poor, no WiFi a lot of the time in a conference room which was extremely frustrating? Room was only ok, there is also no lift in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneMarieGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsHouseHotel, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ms. Graham,

Many thanks for talking the time to share your feedback with us from your recent stay. We were delighted to note that you described our team members as lovely and that you enjoyed your dining experiences with us.

However, we were disappointed to note that you perceived that your bedroom was average. We will be mindful of the same as part of our continuous refurbishment programme. Had you made us aware during your stay that you would have preferred an alternate bedroom, we would gladly have assisted you. In addition, we acknowledge that your bedroom was at the top of a flight of stairs. We always offer assistance with luggage as a standard and had you made us aware of your preference for a ground floor room in advance of or during your stay, we would have endeavoured to meet your specific needs.

It is important for us to state that we are so disappointed with your advice for potential business users of our hotel and we feel that your comments are grossly unfair on the basis of your perceptions of our WiFi service. WiFi is a crucial part of any guests’ stay and an important tool in the delivery of our service to our guests. It was with this in mind that we put in our own uncontested fibre line to ensure we had uninterrupted WiFi access.

We feel that you and other potential reviewers should also note the following:
1- We host a number of smaller and larger conference events most days in our hotel and we rarely receive negative commentary around our WiFi service.

2- Last week, we hosted an AGM where an international media agency gave a presentation and there were no issues around WiFi connectivity noted despite their very specific requirements. Equally, a larger number of delegates attended this 2 day event than what was at yours.

3- In advance of the event that you attended, our IT consultant completed a survey of the set for WiFi connectivity. This is something that we do as a standard preparation for larger conferences. In this case, there were no issues reported. On the morning of the conference, the WiFi was checked and it read at 16mbs download in our main conference room. We also noted the hashtag attached to the conference you attended was the 12th most used in the country, obviously there was a lot of social media activity at this conference which would not have been possible if the WiFi wasn’t up to the standard.

4- Prior to the conference commencing on the first day, a guest made us aware of a difficulty that they were encountering in their bedroom area with their WiFi connectivity. In the light of the same, at various stages over the 2 days, in various locations, with different types of devices and using varied services such as video calls, we checked connectivity and we did not encounter issues.

5- Our WiFi provider attended the same conference as you and I would have expected had there been an issue, that he would automatically had addressed it.

6- Haven spoken to the organiser of your conference at a particular point, she said she personally did not encounter any issues with connectivity on her devices.

I trust this brings clarity to you and potential reviewers around the great care that we give when providing this complimentary service and other essential services to you and all of our guests.

Kind regards,
The Woodlands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel was lovely and the breakfast delicious. It was a great value for the price and the location is beautiful. My only complaint or improvement would be to have a dehumidifier or air conditioner for the rooms above the pool area. Our room was above the pool area and was incredibly humid and smelled like chlorine.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lisalight777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsHouseHotel, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and you felt you received you got great value and felt our scenic location was beautiful. We apologise that you were not entirely satisfied with your room, if it was brought to our attention at the time of your stay we would have endeavoured to place you in a room you were entirely satisfied with.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Woodlands Team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

A special word of thanks to the Fitzgerald family and in particular our wedding co coordinator Elaina Fitzgerald and her team. Ye were absolutely tremendous and so helpful to deal with since the first day we booked and throughout the whole weekend of our wedding.
Given #beastfromtheeast and #stormEmma had us a bit unsure as to what would happen, but our weekend will be so memorable and with yer help ye made it work and made us feel so relaxed. We thank ye so much.
Ye went above and beyond for us and we are so grateful for that. The food in the hotel and in Timmy Macs was fantastic. A really remarkable hotel that pulled together to get us through our big day. The Hospitality was top class. We really cant thank ye enough!
Edwina & Pat the new Mr & Mrs Tobin :)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank PE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsHouseHotel, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear PE14,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are absolutely thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful and memorable day. We are also delighted to know that we were able to keep the beast from the east from dampening any spirits and that your special day was made even more magical. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future as Mr & Mrs Tobin.


Kind regards,
The Woodlands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Restaurant was incredible, great meal and service. Hotel had no lift, room was not well kept up (dirty/dingy walls, furniture, bathroom) and the beds and pillows were not good quality.
Staff and overall grounds were lovely, but would not recommend staying here if you’re looking for a clean and comfortable hotel room.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsHouseHotel, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Leslie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your dining experience here with us and that you found both the food and service to be superb. We were also equally delighted that you noted the beauty of our grounds.

However, we are disappointed to learn that access to your bedroom was an issue as we offer assistance with luggage on arrival and we always accommodate guests that have issues with stairs with a ground floor bedroom. Had you shared this issue with us, in advance of check in, at check in or during your stay, we would gladly have addressed it. In addition in relation to your feedback regarding your bedroom, we usually receive such positive feedback regarding the comfort and quality of our beds as they are fitted with mattress toppers and goose down/ duck down bedding. We can only deduce that you would have preferred synthetic bedding and again, this simple request could easily have been facilitated had you made us aware of the same. We were also surprised that you found your room not to be cleaned satisfactorily as this is not feedback that we typically receive nor was it noted during your stay. However, we are mindful of your feedback and we have shared it with our housekeeping team as part of our quest for continuous improvement.

It is so disappointing that you did not share your feedback with us during your stay as many of the issues that you highlighted could have been addressed there and then as opposed to leaving and sending us your feedback post stay. We would sincerely ask you to consider making team members aware of your feedback always during your stay whethere here in our hotel or any other as it provides a much greater opportunity for a hotel team to address it and equally a more enjoyable stay for you as a guest.

We appreciate your feedback as this is always central to our continuous improvement. It goes without saying that this feedback is discussed with relevant team members.

Thanking you again. If you are visiting our Hotel in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reception@woodlands-hotel.ie where we will endeavor to cater for your needs to be best of our ability.

Kind regards,
The Woodlands Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Dear Woodlands hotel Today I attended your hotel , at table number 36 for my mothers retirement. I am compelled to write to THANK YOU on an exceptional day we had at Woodlands. My mum and dad booked in for the night. We are only sorry that we did not also book in. The entire Sunday lunch was a complete success. Your hotel was so busy today with different parties , yet we felt like we were the only party there, what with the service we received. ALL of our waiters and waitresses who attended to us were exceptional There was nothing that could not be done for us, we were made feel so important, and my mother was in her element as various staff, waiters, waitresses, managers came down to our table to check in with us, to see if we needed anything else, and to congratulate my mother on her retirement. Thank you so so much. Mum was so thrilled and was really on a high from the attention, banter and chat your staff gave. And we really appreciate it as we come from a family of working in the hotel business and we know how stressed it can be. My brother in law was feeding his 3 month old baby in the foye after dinner, and a staff member asked if he wanted a cup of tea/coffee. Thank god the celtic tiger has not washed good manners and good old customer service out the window.I observed this gesture from your staff member and was sincerely blown away!!! The food was top notch! I could not fault the extensive menu , quality of food and timely manner it came out at. The children got crayons and colouring pages to keep them occupied and the waitress had no problem getting them a box to take home their dessert they could not finish. The lovely touch of retirement balloons on the table on arrival was extremely personal and thoughtful. Thank You And even after when we retired to the foye again staff checked in on us to see if we needed anything. Exceptional Service Beautifully decorated hotel Attention to detail A home away from home Thank you SO SO much for a wonderful family day .

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsHouseHotel, Manager at Fitzgerald's Woodlands House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Fiona F,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to read that you had such an exceptional day here with us and that we were able to make your Mum's evening as special as possible. We are always proud to receive such positive feedback especially in regard to our staff, who we know will be thrilled to hear that they were a big part of making the evening so enjoyable for you all.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Woodlands Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews